We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!”
Review of The Blue Heron Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in LaPorte
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Blue Heron Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in LaPorte
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
1 review
“Never again!”
Reviewed 29 September 2009

On the possitive side......The staff was excellent. Katie (front desk) could not have been more accomodating. She was the only part of the Blue Haron experience that was worth the trip. Regarding the Blue Haron Inn....The rooms were filthy. No screens in the windows (just spiders and cobwebs), Blanket on the bed had to be removed, and replaced...(no clue what was on it....afraid to ask). Crumbs on the bathroom floor. Shower...no thanks...grundgy. No ventalation...ceiling fan just moved the smell around the room. Due to the unbearable odor, we literally set our luggage on the dresser (afraid to put suitcases on the discusting floor) and immediately left to purchase air freshner. We were told our room had a refridgerator...had none. We had a dvd player...no cables...not hooked up to t.v.....carpet was extremely nasty....don't dare walk on it in your barefeet....No radio...just a small cheap clock....had to go buy one....Way too pricey! Very high priced....very low quality! Never Again, will I (nor my family) stay at the Blue Haron, ever again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    25
    4
    5
    12
See reviews for
23
44
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
valparaiso, IN
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Heron Inn. We were so looking forward to our getaway for our 26th wedding anniversary. We had a lakeside view with a balcony that was full of spider webs. The patio chairs were filthy. The carpet was filthy and worn, the sliding glass door did not lock (the lock was broke), alot of dead bugs on the sliding door track inside the room, lots of dust bunnies under the bed, mold growing around the shower stall. The air conditioner kicked off at least a dozen times thru the night, the room become warm and uncomfortable. I told the manager my complaints and she didn't seem to really care. She said "the cob webs on the balcony are normal because it's right on the lake and the a/c is suppose to kick off". This inn needs some serious renovating. The food at T-Bones, was excellent.! It's too bad that they are attached to the inn. We won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valpoIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2009

If you want peace and quiet, this hotel is not for you. My room was directly next to a bar area with a patio. The staff had absolutely no regard for the fact that I was staying there with a 10 month old baby. They put me in a room where less than 6 ft. away, people were outside of my patio drinking and smoking. When I complained to the manager, she told me that If I had a problem with people celebrating, I should take my baby and go to the Holiday Inn. I could not sit on the patio and relax because of the party going on right next door. They had no security and again, no regard for my safety.

The hot tub handle broke the first night and they had no one available to fix it, so I had to listen to water running for most of the night.

The manager of this hotel was rude when I complained and out of line with the way she spoke to me. I will never stay here again and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corak11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOHNNYD62, owner at The Blue Heron Inn, responded to this review, 24 October 2009
Hello,
I'm the owner of the Blue Heron Inn in LaPorte Indiana. I was not here the night this lady complained about the noise on the lakeside patio, but I heard about it the next day. It was the evening of the fourth of July . We were sold out. We are on a large lake and every year our neighbors shoot alot of fireworks. Many guest come year after year to celebrate. We know we can't please everyone but we do our best. Our policey on the entire property even in the bar & pool area is to close down at 10 pm because we know some guest have differant reasons for staying with us. I think it was unreasonable for this guest to complain about the 4th celebrations when all the other guest were having a good time and were not out of line. As for reguards for safty we have security cameras covering ALL of our common areas. There were no problems that night. We were never told about the hot tub handle being broken that night or any other night. It must have fixed its self.
Thank you for talking time to read my response.
John C Diedrich ( Owner of The Blue Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2008

We arrived at this hotel in the evening with two kids and we thought it would be nice for them to experience the ambiance of a lake resort. We had a lakeside view in front of the pool where my children were not allowed to swim - adults only after 7pm.

The room was filthy, well worn and musty. The pull-out sofa bed was gross, the mattress sagged, and from the looks of the mess under it, there was more than one party there. The carpet looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. The outdoor deck furniture was full of spider webs and bugs. The air conditioning was loud, but we needed it to drown out the adult guests who were up well into the night. The TV had no kids channels. The only good part was the breakfast.

If you are traveling with kids - stick to the national chains where there are standards for quality and cleanliness. There was a Holiday Inn Express across the street that looked nice and we should have stayed there. Lesson learned.

  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dmc3257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPorte
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2008

I absolutely adorded this hotel. My honey and I stayed here for our honeymoon. The room service from the hotel's restaurant, T-Bones, was top of line. Thanks Nancy!! I enjoyed the spatub with a window overlooking the lake. This place is layed back with employee's that treat you like family. When your here you're family!

  • Liked — homelike
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank crum1one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaPorte
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn La Porte
Hampton Inn La Porte
#1 of 7 in LaPorte
327 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
10.1 mi away
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
#4 of 16 in Michigan City
615 reviews
8.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Heron Inn

Property: The Blue Heron Inn
Address: 1110 Lakeside St, East Shore of Pine Lake, LaPorte, IN 46350-2216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > LaPorte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in LaPorte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Heron Inn location on the east shore of Pine Lake in LaPorte, Indiana is dedicated to the tradition of making your vacation a pleasurable and relaxing experience. We feature several accommodation options from a basic no-frills guest room to a two bedroom suite with a fireplace and whirlpool tub. All rooms, regardless of type are decorated with elaborate crown molding, tasteful colors, and fine linens. If you are one of our frequent corporate guests, the refrigerator, coffee pots, and video entertainment options will surely make your extended stay convenient and pleasant. Our complimentary wireless internet access makes staying connected easy and convenient.While staying with us enjoy the intimate and elegant atmosphere of T-Bones Pier 11. This classic steakhouse features steaks, chops, and seafood. We have a magnificent fine wine selection as well.If you have a business function, celebration, or rehearsal dinner, give your guests the best treatment by selecting from several options available to entertain. The Le'Cabernet, which seats up to 50 people offers the elegance for those "special occasions". Pompeii's Pub greets you with a more casual setting ideal for up to 25 guests. Catering of food by T-Bones will wow your guests, and is available to fit many budgets.The Blue Heron Inn is open year round. This charming turn of the century retreat offers something for everyone. Whether you enjoy boating, visiting area orchards, golfing or simply relaxing Blue Heron has it all! Call today to learn about our special packages we offer. Gift certificates are available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Blue Heron Hotel Laporte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing