We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quaint getaway.”
Review of Arbor Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arbor Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 LaPorte B&B and Inns
Merrillville, Indiana
1 review
“A quaint getaway.”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed in the Northwoods Room in the Guest House. It had a soft bed and spacious bathroom. It was quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed our room and the staff was very nice. The breakfast good. I usually do not like French Toast, but this was stuffed and quite good. I even got to see a hawk from about 20 feet away. Overall, my wife and I enjoyed our stay for your anniversary.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunstrmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris D, Manager at Arbor Hill Inn, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Yes, the hawk visits the back yard frequently and we enjoy seeing it and the magnificent wingspan. They are such beautiful creatures! Thanks again for your kind words. Hope to see you back sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
87
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the WA Jones room. We also had our Wedding here. Let me tell you, Look no further if you want a smaller wedding without any hitches. They staff are great! Everything was setup perfect. We had other family staying at Arbor Hill Inn with us and they also loved their rooms. We could not have asked for more. The breakfasts were wonderful and even with several family members being Gluten Free and Vegans they are more than willing to accommodate for that. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris D, Owner at Arbor Hill Inn, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you so much for letting us be a part of your special day! We truly enjoy families enjoying time together and are honored to have been chosen to host your intimate wedding. The laughter, fun and sharing is such an important part of the experience of Arbor Hill Inn. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to seeing you again. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Verne, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Friendly, full of good advice as to referrals on doing business in the town! So restful, lovely meadow noises in the evening. Delicious food and very accommodating as to schedule. Absolutely gorgeous furnishings, even gifts available to buy for oneself or others

Room Tip: I like being on the top floor with a view of the big red barn and horses in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris D, Owner at Arbor Hill Inn, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and were happy you were able to make some connections with the local businesses that you were needing. Hope to see you back on your next trip to La Porte! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We recently stayed for 3 nights at the Arbor Hill Inn while on a bicycle trip. Our room, W.A. Jones Retreat, was like staying in a luxury apartment. We hosted friends who were with us to evening glasses of wine in our sitting room and found it just a marvelous facility. The morning breakfast was well prepared and the owners and staff were friendly and helpful. This is a beautiful place and we found the nearby country roads great for cycling.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kent f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris D, Owner at Arbor Hill Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thanks so much! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that your bicycling was great - the scenery for rides in the area is always so nice! An evening glass of wine with friends makes for the perfect evening as well. We are so glad you chose Arbor Hill Inn for your weekend stay and hope to see you back! Bicycling in the fall is beautiful as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Arbor Hill twice: once as part of the first leg of our honeymoon seven years ago, and the second time this summer as a short anniversary stay. We had the same experience both times; namely, that Arbor Hill is an absolutely outstanding B&B. The rooms are beautiful and spacious, with a very nice whirlpool tub and a comfortable bed. (We stayed out in the guest house.) The breakfast (we had the french toast and sausage) was just about perfect, and the proprietors strike just the right touch in making people feel like they are welcome. We even were able to learn about the history of the place, which, we discovered, had connections to the likes of Teddy Roosevelt, Henry Ford, and Marshall Field.

Overall, it was a picture-perfect stay, and we hope to be back at some future point. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The guest room has its own kitchenette with a fridge, ice maker, microwave, dishes and utensils.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris D, Owner at Arbor Hill Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to return for your special anniversary stay! We so enjoy our wedding couples returning and hearing how blessed their lives have been with additions to their family, new homes, and many "firsts" as newly married couples. We thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and can't wait to see you return for another anniversary stay. Happy Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

All I can say it was a nice stay. Staff was friendly and responsive. The hotel was maintained well.
We spent some good time there. Breakfast was delicious. I will definitely consider this hotel for all my trips.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris D, Owner at Arbor Hill Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Roman,
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay on the way back to Chicago! It was nice to chat a little on Sunday morning over breakfast. If you are over in this area anytime in the future, we would love to see you again! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed at Arbor Hill as we started our driving trip around Lake Michigan. The home is wonderful. Beautifully furnished and folks who run the B&B are very welcoming and friendly. It was such a relaxed way to start our trip.
Breakfast was truly wonderful and the front porch or upper porch are a great place to sit, have a glass of wine and catch a view of the nearby lake through the trees.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris D, Owner at Arbor Hill Inn, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We agree, the porches are the best place to be - cup of coffee in the morning and glass of wine in the evening - doesn't get much better than that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaPorte
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn La Porte
Hampton Inn La Porte
#1 of 7 in LaPorte
325 reviews
9.1 mi away
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
#4 of 16 in Michigan City
614 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
7.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
8.2 mi away
Blue Jay Manor
Blue Jay Manor
#5 of 8 in Michigan City
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbor Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbor Hill Inn

Property: Arbor Hill Inn
Address: 263 W Johnson Rd, LaPorte, IN 46350-2026
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > LaPorte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in LaPorte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arbor Hill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Winner! For those seeking romantic getaways in Northwest Indiana, Arbor Hill Inn is an excellent choice. We are a luxurious yet comfortable Inn steeped in romance. Arbor Hill Inn is a place of celebration and laughter. A place to reconnect, relax and be as social or as private as you wish. Our twelve guest rooms have a timeless style. Each room of our La Porte Indiana bed and breakfast is a sanctuary of quiet ease. Each is an authentic experience with unique designer décor, private bath and amazing attention to detail. Located just 10 Minutes from Lake Michigan, Dunes and Lighthouse Place Premium Outlets. 35 Minutes from Notre Dame. 1 1/2 Hours from Chicago. Enjoy Orchards, Festivals, Farmer's Markets, Museums, 3 Public Golf Courses, Specialty Shopping, Fine dining, Antiquing, Nature at its best at our numerous local parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Arbor Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing