We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Atrium style setup = NOISY.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in LaPorte
Vicksburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Atrium style setup = NOISY.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

There's better options in La Porte, though this one does have its own restaurant and bar. Unfortunately, due to the atrium style setup we found that we could hear nearly everything from the main floor and pool area upstairs in our room. We've stayed at Embassy Suites hotels before (similar design) and it wasn't that loud. Plus, the next morning at 7am some kids were screaming up and down the hallway. Nice parenting. This did not make for a good experience. Lastly, the front desk clerk (blonde female) was rude to my wife for no apparent reason as we were courteous to her.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pentwater07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
On behalf of our property, I would like to thank you for your review. It is feedback like this that helps us become a better hotel. We are taking your feedback and using that to determine what steps should be taken to prevent this issue from continuing. We would love for you to give us another chance if you are ever in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    75
    62
    45
    31
See reviews for
161
67
15
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Using the Best Western website, I reserved a king jr suite. Upon arrival they put me in a king business room explaining they gave my room to a wedding party. The room was noisy all night due to the strange layout of the rooms. They all face inward toward a 3 story open, indoor court yard with indoor pool and game room. The rooms have large windows facing the courtyard so all that activity noise comes right into your room.

Room Tip: Due to the design, there are no good rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kainay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. We apologize for the situation. Of course, this should not happen. Your feedback enabled us to handle the situation so that hopefully it won’t happen again. We would like to encourage your stay again in the future and would be please to offer an upgrade for you inconvenience. Thank you again for your candor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsford Heights, IN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

I stayed here because of a buddy's wedding this past weekend. The had our group all put together in the same area which was nice. The wedding reception was great with great food from their kitchen and banquet people. I wasn't going to stay since I didn't live very far away but it turned out to be good since we were drinking at the reception it turned out to be a little safer. After the reception we went into the bar they have and watched a pretty good band to end our evening. Housekeeping was quick to get us extra towels that night after the reception since we had used ours in the pool, so thanks! The staff were all great and accommodating to our wedding party and we all really appreciated it! Great wedding!

Room Tip: if you stay with multiple rooms the balcony rooms with tables outside are perfect to gather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
On behalf of our staff we would like to thank you for your review. We are very pleased that your group had a wonderful stay and we also hope to serve you in the future as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan City, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband got some time off for vacation so we decided to get out of the house with our 2 year old son. The room was very cozy and clean, we loved that there was a fridge in the room for our son's food, and the pillows were great! We took our son in the pool and he had a blast. We went on a weekday which was nice so the pool wasn't too busy. They also had a little play area outside of the pool that is great for younger kids. We ate dinner in the restaurant that was in the building called timbers. The food was great! Everyone was very nice and made us feel like we were on a real vacation! Thanks! We will definately come back again!

Room Tip: the first floor rooms are convenient if you have children using the pool and play area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabatha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

The rooms are nicely decorated but the beds are awful. I could feel the springs through the fabric. I'm never staying again, worst night of sleep in hotel ever.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a new mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Hello Sabrina R.,
First of all, thank your for your feedback. Secondly, we would like to apologize for the situation that you experienced with your mattress. We normally receive a lot of positive feedback from our guests regarding the beds. It would be very helpful to us if you would notify us with which room number that you stayed in so that we may prevent another guest from having the same unsatisfactory experience that you had. We would very much like to offer you an upgrade in the future if you would wish to visit our property again to make up for the situation that you faced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

My husband and I were celebrating our 1st wedding anniversary this weekend. We went to Lansing, IL and stayed at Comfort Suites for the first night and planned on staying there for the duration of the weekend. However, due to the POOR customer service and FILTHY room amenities, we had to check out early. We were heading home after our events we attended, though we wanted to spend another night alone together and not go home just yet, we decided to call hotels in the area to get a reservation. Everywhere was booked. So our last resort was Best Western in LaPorte, Indiana. Both my husband and I spoke to Patrica the general manager of the property and explained the terrible service we received from Comfort Suites. She was sooooo kind and caring on the phone and set us up nicely. She gave us a free upgrade to a Jacuzzi suite room and we did not know until we checked in that she did, we received 20 % off our dinner at Timbers and a free appetizer. And to put the whole stay over the top, she had a free bottle of wine placed in the room before we got there. And to tell you how amazing Patrica was we only had called her 30 minutes before we arrived to check in and she flew like superwoman to make our stay amazing for our anniversary. I literally cried when I saw the bottle of wine. Talk about OUTSTANDING SERVICE! The cook, our waitress Kyla, Karen, and Mark knew about our situation and made sure everything was perfect. I would like to thank Patrica once again and Karen, Mark, Kyla, and kitchen staff for making our anniversary weekend so much better and memorable. Below I have included some pictures of the room to show the awesome quality and cleanliness of the room and services.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCRANE0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

I am in a wheelchair and they ere renovating all rooms. The room I had was not very handicap accessible. I had to back in the bathroom with my wheelchair. There was no bars by toilet for me to hold on to. The toilet papaer holder I couldnt reach. It just wasnt very comfortable.

Room Tip: Just if your handicap make sure u ask all questions before booking..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaPorte
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn La Porte
Hampton Inn La Porte
#1 of 6 in LaPorte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
8.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
10.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
22.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Portage Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 444 Pine Lake Avenue, LaPorte, IN 46350 (Formerly Best Value Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > LaPorte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in LaPorte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus La Porte Hotel Hotel Laporte
Best Western Plus La Porte Hotel And Conference Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing