We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Reliable and Super Clean...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in LaPorte
LaPorte, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very Reliable and Super Clean...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Consistent clean rooms and a very well-run hotel. And no bugs of any kind (very important to me on business as I don't want to bring any home with me!) In LaPorte, Indiana, I stay here about 80% of the time and I would bring my family to stay here as well...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Mark,
We definitely take pride in keeping our property very clean and welcoming. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well. We look forward to having you and your family at our hotel in the future.
Thank you so much for your feedback,
Crystal S.
Assistant GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    76
    62
    46
    31
See reviews for
162
68
15
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CHESTERTON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Have stayed at this hotel a few times now and am impressed how nice the hotel is and the service. The food at Timbers inside the hotel is the best in town. Rothers Bar is a extra benefit on the premises.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Robert,
We are thrilled that you were able to utilize multiple areas of our full service hotel by experiencing not only your hotel room, but also the Timbers Restaurant and Rother's Pub. We strive to meet all guest's needs when they come to stay with us. I will pass along your compliments to our staff. We hope to see you here again soon.
Thank you,
Crystal S.
Assistant GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This loacation was near everything the wedding ceremony as well as the reception downtown South Bend,and breakfast from in house restaurant very good as well. Stayed over the weekend for a wedding of close friends and this was close the most of our activities.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Alethia4400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Alethea,
It is always a pleasure to be a part of a wedding party's joyous day. We were so glad that you chose us to be a part of that memorable occasion. If you are ever in the area again we would love to assist you again.
Thank you for your kind words,
Crystal S.
Assistant GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

A wonderful experience with ample amenities and kind, attentive staff. Our stay was meant to be just one night, but it turned into a 3 day mini-vacation - (with the last 2 days at the Best Western in LaPorte, Indiana). Not only were the hotel rooms comfortable and the breakfast tasty, but the most important thing missing from most hotels and motels today was present at their facility - a staff that truly cared about the comfort and satisfaction of their customers. We were not merely "room numbers" for our stay at this hotel, but truly guests whose comfort, cares and concerns were considered as worthy of hearing and satisfying. It was truly one of the most pleasant hotel stays in our 33 years that my wife and I have been married.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Herman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Herman,
It warms our hearts when we get an opportunity to brighten someone's day such as yours. It was our extreme pleasure to give you the warmest welcome and the most enjoyable stay possible. We greatly appreciate your kind words and hope to see you and your wife again in the future.
Sincerely,
Crystal S.
Assistant GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokomo, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

LaPorte's Best Western is one of the top values in the Great Lakes area. Convenient to area attractions, it is modestly priced and offers a variety of amenities. The staff is always pleasant, yet professional. The rooms are clean and nicely appointed. The unique Santa Fe motif was really appreciated by family members visiting from New Mexico.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Richard,
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay! We thank you for your kind review and I want you to know that I will pass along your compliments to the rest of our Best Western Team.
With Gratitude,
Crystal S.
Assistant GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubbard Lake, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

This Best Western is operated on the CHEAP and AWFUL!
The only improvement that this place has had in God knows how many years is they did a paint job. that was literally putting lipstick on a pig.
Our experience started with an exceptionally rude clerk at the front desk. She was more interested in talking to her coworkers than to me the customer. When she did speak to me she spoke as fast as lips can move and I could not understand a word.
This entire facility is filthy, dated/old and all furnishings look as though they were purchased at a second hand store. Our bed was extremely worn, carpets filthy, bathroom was beat up and dirty and the TV must've been hooked up to a roof top antennae because there was interference on every one of the 4 channels they service. The hallways are nasty, dirty and the a/c units vent into the hallways making it difficult to beathe and real HOT and un comfortable. i think that whomever owns and operates this dump should be forced to spend a night there to make them realize how awful this place really is.
If you are tired and need a room... sleep in your car rather than spending good money on the DUMP.

Room Tip: Travel farten than you really have to in order to get a good hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dan,
We participate in the Ultra Clean Program through Best Western that has a very detailed cleaning routine on top of our every day deep cleaning. We also have a regular preventative maintenance program in place to keep up with the demands of our facility. We are very sorry to hear that your experience was not up to your standards. The experiece that you reported is very unusual and not a normal occurance. Your feedback will be looked at by all levels of our staff to see what items need to be improved upon furthur. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future. I would love to assist you personally.
Thank you for your feedback,
Crystal S.
Assistant GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel is the pits and you should avoid at all costs. We were attending a wedding and this is where rooms were blocked. It seems as though a renovation was done to enclose the outside balconies. This meant that all the room air conditioners vented into enclosed hallways spewing hot air. It was awful and everyone was astonished that this was even possible! The sliding glass doors looked out onto the hot hallways but were locked and marked with room numbers. Get my drift? A confusing hot mess. Stay away...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Debra,
The rooms that you mentioned are our Atrium View rooms. Many people enjoy having direct access to the central area of the hotel for convenience through the sliding glass doors that those rooms offer. We are currently in the process of converting all A/C & Heating units in the guest rooms to Digital Units. This will improve on maintaining a level temperature in our public areas of the hotel as well as becoming more Environmentally Friendly. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Thank you for your review.
Sincerely,
Crystal S.
Assistant GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaPorte
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn La Porte
Hampton Inn La Porte
#1 of 7 in LaPorte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
8.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
8.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
8.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 16 in Michigan City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 444 Pine Lake Avenue, LaPorte, IN 46350 (Formerly Best Value Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > LaPorte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in LaPorte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus La Porte Hotel Hotel Laporte
Best Western Plus La Porte Hotel And Conference Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing