We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in LaPorte
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

This was the perfect family getaway..I loved our stay here, The hotel was very beautiful, the staff was amazing, everyone was very helpful and polite. The restaurant was very nice, I loved the fireplace, the good was outstanding, and the service was incredible. Our room was very spacious, and clean, beds were comfortable. The pool and workout room was a plus! The breakfast that was included was very good. I would recommend this hotel. Very nice, I will definitely be staying here again when I'm in town!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Hollie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

The place is pretty run-down and grimey and the pool area and restaurant reek of the sour smell of mildew. The southwestern Pueblo-style décor is badly done and somewhat harrowing.

The breakfast food was almost inedible-- old and stale and I cannot imagine what the cleanliness of the kitchen must be like. Silverware and plates looked like someone smeared an old wet rag on them and called them clean. The Starbuck's brand coffee was decidedly NOT Starbuck's as it was weak and tasted like it had a dollop of chemicals thrown in. Maybe that's where the cleaning agent went. Each room gets two breakfast coupons, but kids eat free. If you have teenagers, you'll be paying. I'd be furious if I paid additional for that food.

The rooms are not very soundproof and the big open common area carries sound. It was hard to get to sleep with all the racket.

The good news: the place is big with lots of places for kids to run around and things to do, like putt-putt and shuffleboard. Good fitness facility. The room itself was not too bad -- good size, relatively clean with fridge, microwave, ironing board, and in-room coffee. Wifi was slow, however.

I wouldn't stay here again.

Hope this helps.

.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HonkHonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Indianapolis Guest,
Our housekeeping and maintenance staff take pride in doing preventative maintenance and deep cleaning of our hotel property on a daily basis. I am sorry to hear of your dislike for the food, however many people do enjoy the array of breakfast items that we offer. Our kitchen maintain a very professional and clean atmosphere. I will definitely pass along all of your detail review to our staff to see what we can do to improve to our best capacity. We thank you for your candid feedback and hope that you provide us with another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Crystal S.
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We checked into this hotel with not a clue of the noisy experience we were getting in to. Children running unattended in the hallways, horrible noise in the play area in the open court below. And at about 10 p.m. the bar music started rattling the walls.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank janrowenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Janrowenm,
We enforce quiet hours in our hotel from 11pm -9am. We apologize that the noise from other guests disrupted your stay. The music your heard that evening was from a banquet event in our ballroom that ended at 11pm per their contract. We always make sure that banquet functions follow along with hotel policies to ensure there is no additional disruption to guests. We unfortunately cannot control each individuals actions, however we can do our best to hold them accountable for their actions whenever possible. We would love the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Crystal S.
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This hotel is by far the most accommodating when it comes to family and family idiosyncrasies! Our family of 50+ has been descending on this location in late winter for the last 29 years. Although slightly dated, the hotel is clean and the dome amenities are great for family fun. A pool, game room, workout center, miniature golf and shuffleboard are available in the spacious dome. Rooms open up to the atrium style gathering space. The food in the restaurant for lunch and dinner is great, and the breakfast buffet is decent with the regular fare offering of eggs, breakfast meat, fruits, waffles, potatoes, cereals and breads. Something for everyone. There is a lounge on site and offers weekend live entertainment. So check in, and plan to stay. No reason to venture out during a cold winter's getaway! Many family memories have been born at this hotel and I'd suspect many more will follow, as our children and then theirs behind them, carry on this much anticipated weekend tradition. If you are looking for a place for a weekend of family fun, look no more. The staff at this hotel make it their business to see that your stay is enjoyable and memorable! Year #30 is just around the corner! Thanks Staff at BW LaPorte, Indiana!

Room Tip: The dome rooms are noisy but great for family gatherings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinDad78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

As always, we enjoyed your visit once again! All of our long term staff members enjoy seeing your friendly faces every year. It warms our hearts that we are able to be a part of your family's memories and to see your family grow. We will continue to be here for you in years to come and very much appreciate your loyalty to our facility! Have a wonderful year until we meet again!

Crystal S.
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I received top notch service all the way around at this location and would recommend it to all my friends and family. If anyone is looking for a stay near this location look no further than the Best Western.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed a couple of nights for my daughters volleyball tournament. This hotel is slightly dated but very clean. The hotel staff are very helpful and polite. The breakfast buffet was good with hot and cold choices. The hotel restaurant was decent as well. Overall I would say it was a decent place to stay for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Tarmor,
We strive for 5/5 on our reviews! Next time your are in the area we would love to know what we could do to improve your stay in detail. Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to another opportunity to serve you in the future. We hope that your daughter's volleyball tournament went well!

Crystal S.
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The staff were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast is a bit pricey, especially considering that many hotels offer free continental breakfast, but it was good. Overall, my family of 5 was very comfortable in our room. I will be staying here in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 319stevenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaPorte
3 mi away
Hampton Inn La Porte
Hampton Inn La Porte
#1 of 7 in LaPorte
351 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Blue Heron Inn
The Blue Heron Inn
#6 of 7 in LaPorte
99 reviews
8.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
15.7 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
440 reviews
8.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 444 Pine Lake Ave, LaPorte, IN 46350-2315 (Formerly Best Value Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > LaPorte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in LaPorte
Price Range: £79 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus La Porte Hotel And Conference Center
Best Western Plus La Porte Hotel Hotel Laporte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing