We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in LaPorte
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great Hotel, but WIFI sucked so bad in my room I literally had to hold my ipad against the wall to barely access the WIFI, indoor pool was great but due to cold outside pool wasn't available, hot tub need a bit of work though as the bench doesn't seem to be the correct height.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Brendan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

The staff at this location were the most unfriendly and indifferent individuals I have ever met at a hotel chain, both the AM and PM staff. During our check in/ check out, both were talking with other employees or friends, we're not sure which it was. Then, while I was unloading my vehicle, the front desk worker came outside and was smoking while cursing and conversing with two other gentleman. She never offered to help unload any luggage. The hotel room was littered with dust and grime in crevices, such as the light switches, outlets, edges of furniture, etc. The carpet appears to be from the early 1970's and is in desperate need of repair. The sliding door track was filthy, covered in more dust, dirt, and grime. Also, there were no windows to the outside world in the room we were in. Literally, we had a front door and a sliding glass door that opened up to a pueblo-like indoor courtyard. Check out was an equally poor experience as check-in, sans smoking employee during unloading. There was one gentleman who appeared to be a chef or cook of some sort that helped open the door while I was departing with a luggage dolly. He was the only helpful person during the whole stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Joshua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

For the money, hands down the Best Western in La Porte, Indiana is the place to stay, friendly staff & awesome atmosphere!! The bar at night was very friendly and energetic, the restaurant had a nice variety of meals and the were very tasty. The breakfast was as expected, a buffet breakfast, but still not a let down, better than McDonalds!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Albert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

very nice place to stay. 1 mile from down town laporte and about 14 mile's from Michigan city beach .the rooms are clean. the pool and hot tub are nice. the bar lounge is a great place to go and unwind.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norm r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This hotel is in a nice location - little town on the water. The hotel itself needs updates and some serious cleaning. The noise from the open area for the kids was loud even after the lights went out. Hard to sleep with various loud voices echoing in the centre area.
Restaurant was very good. Kudos to the chef!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2trvl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Had a business event in the conference room for a couple of days, also was spring break for my kids. Brought the family to enjoy all the amenities while I worked. Kids were in heaven. Visited Bass Pro Shops in Portage Friday evening and had dinner there...was a good experience. The Best Western Staff was very professional and always accommodating to our requests. Overall, the 2.5 days we spent there was enjoyable and at the same time I accomplished my work responsibilities.

Room Tip: Rooms with walkout patio doors to pool, mini golf, etc....were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here for a volleyball tournament. This hotel totally exceeded my expectations. Every staff that we came in contact with was helpful and friendly. The room was nice and clean with micro and fridge and nice decor.The pool and hot tub were great, water was not too cold. They have an arcade, shuffle board, mini golf, and a little playground all right before you get to the pool in this open, adobe style area. I loved the set up there. They had rooms where you could just walk right out in to this area. Breakfast good, also another nice set up. They had eggs, biscuits, gravy, waffles, potatoes, and little cartons of milk. The only problem we had was that the internet did not work that night. This hotel is one of the best I have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: We booked a regular room, but I bet their suites are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WONDERFULLaPorte, Manager at Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Jennie,
We are thrilled that you had a wonderful time! We always strive to make each guest's stay memorable. It brings joy to our staff when we hear kind words of praise to our facility. We look forward to seeing you and your family if you are ever in the area again. Have a wonderful summer.

Crystal S.
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaPorte
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn La Porte
Hampton Inn La Porte
#1 of 7 in LaPorte
349 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Blue Heron Inn
The Blue Heron Inn
#6 of 7 in LaPorte
99 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
15.7 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
439 reviews
18.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 444 Pine Lake Ave, LaPorte, IN 46350-2315 (Formerly Best Value Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > LaPorte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in LaPorte
Price Range: £83 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Laporte Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus La Porte Hotel And Conference Center
Best Western Plus La Porte Hotel Hotel Laporte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing