We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Possibly the most bizarre hotel I have ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in LaPorte
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Possibly the most bizarre hotel I have ever stayed in!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here during a road trip across the northern states, it was a Saturday night and the only place with rooms avaliable and half decent reviews. On the outside this hotel is your average small town Best Western, on the inside it is a bizarre hacienda style courtyard with rooms around it!

On a positive note the staff were very welcoming and check-in was very smooth. The room was clean and the on-site restaurant served surprisingly good food considering it's rather dated decor.

However, the room had a large window facing on to the interior corridor so you had to have your curtains closed all the time to prevent all and sundry seeing into your room. There were no opening windows to let in fresh air and the air conditioning unit was incredibly loud (although this did go some way to blocking out the noise from the communal courtyard outside our room). When the neigbours opened or closed their door the door/wall/windows rattled and you could hear people's conversations due to the total lack of sound proofing.

This was by no means a cheap option and I would definitely not stay here again.

Room Tip: As far away from the courtyard as possible and definitely not on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    76
    62
    46
    31
See reviews for
162
68
15
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ludington, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Not only were the rates reasonable, but there were also plenty of guest accommodations. They had a pool, a game room, a fitness room and a jungle gym for the kids. A nice place for the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phoenixphlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Anytime I check into a hotel that was once a Holidome back in the day and has lost the Holiday Inn brand, I am skeptical. It had most recently been a Best Value, which made me all the more wary.
However, this place turned out to be much better than I expected! I was in La Porte for a wedding, and after the reception, we stopped at the lounge for a drink. Nice, fun place!
The rooms were clean, the shower pressure was perfect (that matters to me), and the staff members were very friendly! The climate control was wonderful. There are places in which you can't get the temperature below 68, but this was not one of them.
The price was a tad higher than I should have paid in La Porte, but it turned out to be worth it.
Overall, a great stay!

Room Tip: This hotel is far enough off the beaten path such that I would think most of the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicksburg, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our room was ok, nothing special but the noise from the kids parties that were being held was crazy, I don't think the kids slept all night then running running all morning. The night stff was more concerned with flirting with the cop in the lobby.

Room Tip: ASk to be away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vandalia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

It was a very pleasant stay. Restaurant and lounge were very nice. Beds very comfortable. after driving 600 miles, it is very nice to have everything right there. A little way from the highway, but worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, Indiana
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Over all the hotel is fine but the beds are way over due to be replaced.... A pool table needs to be in the Lounge and and the shuffle board and putt putt golf needs to be enhanced, but its a good place to get off the road and enjoy good friends and good meal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

we stayed at this location for one night. The beds were very comfortable, clean rooms and quiet too. But WIFI was so bad in my room I literally had to use my laptop in the lobby to access the WIFI. I would recommend this hotel if you do not use the WIFI.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaPorte
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn La Porte
Hampton Inn La Porte
#1 of 7 in LaPorte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
8.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
8.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
8.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 16 in Michigan City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 444 Pine Lake Avenue, LaPorte, IN 46350 (Formerly Best Value Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > LaPorte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in LaPorte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS La Porte Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus La Porte Hotel Hotel Laporte
Best Western Plus La Porte Hotel And Conference Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing