We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great buffet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Argosy Casino and Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Argosy Casino and Hotel
Reserve with OpenTable
Argosy Casino and Hotel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 61 Restaurants in Lawrenceburg
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
353 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Anything and everything you wanted to eat; wonderful salad bar and deserts.....

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank DLewis_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

Seafood buffet excellent. Breakfast buffet very good. Reasonable prices, excellent service.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank Wolfe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not So Good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

I have gone to this buffet in years past because I live in the community. To my surprise, I found the food and service had greatly declined. The salad bar was half the size it use to be. The meat was terrible. The desserts use to be great. Now you would do better by going to the freezer section of your grocery store and picking up something at random. This buffet is not a place you want to go for good food, good value or good atmosphere. Go somewhere else.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SaraKent1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“The important fact about The Hollywood Casino aka Argosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

On Friday, 8/27/2010, I went there without staying at the hotel. My comments only apply to the casino and restaurant itself. The casino is an old one. The slot machine wheels are either falling apart or are taped together with scotch tape.The table games are okay. My favorite is Roulette, but until 7:30 PM, there are only two roulette tables open and its very crowded. The table limits were raised at 7:30 PM as well. While they do allow smoking inside most of the casino. as a non-smoker, I was not offended or overcome by smokers in the least. You can smell the smoke but not be overwhelmed by it. If you sign up for a Hollywood club card and get the buy one and get one free on the buffet, please keep in mind that there are a few things to take into consideration, (1) There are a few different restaurants that accept the buy one, get one free voucher (2) The buffet restaurant on the lower level is mediocre with the same things you would find at a Hometown Buffet or Golden Corral but on a smaller scale. That buffet (per person) cost $24.95 + tax.. While this casino does not compare to a Las Vegas casino, it makes for a great one day trip for locals. If you are on budget, I would recommend that you eat in one of the fast food places away from the casino. Parking is free, so you can come and go as you like.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AEA43215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati ohio
1 review
“Come Along and Ride this Train...Hotel Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2008

I stay at the Argosy Hotel every once in awhile and I find the train going by to be quite comforting. It reminds me of the train that I used to hear at my grandmother's house as a child. The staff is aware of the side of the hotel closest to the train and they are always polite enough to let me know that "at short notice" I may have to settle for a room close to the railroad tracks. So, the sooner you book a reservation, the less likely you will get that side of the building. Those rooms are just fine for people that like the sound of a rumbling train coming down the tracks. Me and Johnny Cash I guess.

Helpful?
Thank MyLuckyStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Argosy Casino and Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Argosy Casino and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing