We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Americas Best Value Inn Lebanon
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites(Brownsburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
0
0
2
3
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
0
2
3
14
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 19 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The TV did not have any regular channels so you could not watch NBC, CBS, ABC, Fox, etc. The internet did not work at all. The smoke detector had been taken apart and was missing the battery. The exhaust fan cover in the bathroom was about to fall out and exhaust was extremely loud. The microwave didn't work. The room smelled musty and old and of heaven knows what. This is truly a case of getting what you paid for. Will never stay in another Americas Best anywhere. I would have left and gone elsewhere but had booked on line and paid in advance with a no refund option. Won't do that again, either.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Lebanon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

We are so sorry that you had a bad experience here at our hotel. We would like you to know that we try very hard to provide a quality experience for every guest and apologize for not doing that for you. We did have issues with a storm that passed through that caused our TV and internet to go out and we were unable to prevent this. We are in the process of updating our TV system to include over 100 channels including all local stations. We have also shared your comments with our staff and have made the needed corrections so these issues can be avoided in the future. Thank you for sharing you comments and helping us to improve our business and we really hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Solo de pasada.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews