We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time B&B... awesome!”
Review of Thyme for Bed

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thyme for Bed
Ranked #1 of 1 Lowell B&B and Inns
Danville, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First time B&B... awesome!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I accidentally happened upon this B&B when looking for a unique place to spend my first anniversary. I booked the room, not really knowing what to expect. I thought it was cool simply because the boyfriend and I are hooked on the TV show "Under the Dome." The look on his face was priceless when we pulled up! Sherryl gave us the tour and made us immediately feel at home. Pictures didn't do the place justice... it was electic and quite the find in the middle of farm country! Sherryl checked with us the night before to let us know what was on the breakfast menu as she showed us the rooms... we weren't aware of the time discrepancy! After feeding us a delicious breakfast on Sunday morning and her taking a few pictures for the BF and me, we all hugged goodbye. It was like we were part of the family. We have told everyone about the place... should've kept it to ourselves because we won't be able to get a reservation for all the new business. Can't wait to go back again! P.S. The place was cleaner than my own home!!

Room Tip: Any of the three rooms would be an excellent choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My Wife and I were up that area for a wedding and the task given to me was to find a place to stay for the night. I went through Hotels.com to find local hotels and came across this gem, from the first photo it caught my eye and seen it has availability for the weekend we needed.

I booked it right away! We get up there and Cheryl was very helpful and curteous. Showing us all of the rooms and showing us around the entire place. Our room was not ready when we got there, cause everywhere I go I get there entirely tooooo early. But she accomodated us by allowing us to put our luggage in the room. That was fine cause we left briefly after the tour to go to a wedding and the reception and got back around 9:30pm. My pregnant wife was having tummy issues which is fine we got back and got to enjoy the room more.

Everything was setup nice, the air conditioner in the room my wife wants now cause it kept her from being kept away from my snoring. We didn't use the fire place but we did turn it on to try it out, as well the same goes for the jacuzzi tub.

The next morning we sat down and had breakfast with the rest of the couples there in the other rooms and Cheryl made us a wonderful breakfast based off of what we requested.

The next time we are in the area and are looking for a place to stay, this place will be my first choice!

Room Tip: The Room: "In Your Dreams" may be the most expensive, but there is a reason. It was the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bradley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
440 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

This was a great adventure! Cheryl couldn't have been warmer. After settling the confusion of this part of Indiana being in the wrong time zone, we settled down in our room. Very comfortable. The house is very open and Cheryl not only rents the room but her home. After doing Smores on a bon fire we settled in and watched the debates with her. Not just the house was great! Breakfast both mornings were wonderful. She likes people to have an experience and she gives it - her choice of dinner places were also spot on. Highly recommend this eclectic country home - beautiful setting. Thanks Cheryl!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tasmandevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

This place was so unique. My wife and I stayed here for one night and it was not long enough. The hospitality we received was amazing. We stayed in the "In your dreams" room and it was awesome. Last but not least the breakfast was phenomenal.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The owners make sure this BnB is in tip top shape. The bed in the Victorian Room was very comfortable and they have separate air conditioners in each room, which act like a soother for me since I am a light sleeper. There are seven swings on the property: two in the loft, two on the deck, two in the yard and one under the willow tree. The breakfast was very delicious! I could go on and on, but we will definitiely be returning, since we have many friends that live in the area.

Room Tip: Only three rooms. The Pheasant and Victorian rooms are upstairs so you won't hear any footsteps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed at Thyme for Bed from June 23 to June 24. Exceptional experience....wished I lived a little closer in order to visit there more often. Sheryl is a most gracious hostess and goes out of her way to make you feel at home. The bedrooms are exquisite in decor, breakfast deserves great praise. Trip was with my daughter, granddaughter and her friend to celebrate my granddaughter's 16th birthday. After visiting Fair Oaks Farm (another fantastic adventure), the stay at Thme for Bed was the icing on the cake!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong booking this bed and breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAPA64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We live in central Ohio but were traveling to Chicago for a workshop. We chose Thyme for Bed for 2 reasons: the unusual design of the building and the fact that it was only an hour's drive from Chicago. The hosts, Sherryl and and Don were friendly, gracious, and made us feel right at home the moment we walked in the door. We stayed in the Pheasant Room, which was decorated with many little extra touches--even the closets were luxurious!--and a little dish of M & M's awaited us on the bed, and chocolate will win me over every time. The accommodations from top to bottom were immaculately clean and cozy-feeling, and Don gave us a lot of background information about how the home was built, which I found absolutely fascinating. The piece de resistance, however, were the breakfasts (we stayed 2 nights), which are now in a tie of "the best breakfast I've ever had." Sherryl previously owned a restaurant, and it clearly showed in the absolute FEASTS she served, exquisitely presented.

We will DEFINITELY return to experience this little piece of heaven again!

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeLisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowell
10.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Hebron
Comfort Inn Hebron
#1 of 2 in Hebron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
15.9 mi away
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
#5 of 21 in Merrillville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
22.5 mi away
Inn at Aberdeen
Inn at Aberdeen
#2 of 2 in Valparaiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Songbird Prairie Bed & Breakfast
9.9 mi away
Super 8 Hebron Lowell Area
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thyme for Bed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thyme for Bed

Property: Thyme for Bed
Address: 12567 W. 185th Ave., Lowell, IN 46356-9455
Region: United States > Indiana > Lowell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lowell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thyme for Bed 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thyme for Bed reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing