We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter 2-for-1 rates makes your stay even better!”
Review of Clifty Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clifty Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Clifty Inn is nicely situated on a bluff overlooking the Ohio River and the town of Madison, Indiana. It's a great place to stay if you're wanting to explore either Clifty Falls State Park or the sights of Madison. I've always stayed in the Parkside wing (even back when the pool was outdoors and between the two Parkside wings!) - if you want a river view, there are plenty of rocking chairs inside and plastic chairs outside by the dining and conference rooms that will provide you a great view for no extra charge. The suites are nice, complete with walk-in shower, jacuzzi, and kitchenette. The kitchenette area has seating for two, a mid-sized under-the-counter refrigerator, microwave, and sink. Plates, bowls, silverware, can opener, and dish washing soap are provided. If you're wanting to cut expenses by doing your own cooking, among other items you should bring a cutting board, a sharp knife, a microwaveable bowl with lid, and perhaps a crockpot. Only problem with the room was the lack of drawer space, which is limited to a drawer under the TV and a funky bedside table that looks like a travel trunk where the Gideon's bible takes up most of the space in one of the 4 provided drawers. Indoor pool is pretty nice; while only 4 foot deep, there is sufficient space for doing short laps - plus, there's a hot tub. Staff is friendly. Restaurant is OK, but I feel more comfortable ordering off the menu than grazing from the buffet. Definitely a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTravelingProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

Absolutely beautiful inside and out--make sure you allow enough time to check out all this gem has to offer...We'll be coming back and looking for other state parks with this type of facility---there's something for everyone here.

Room Tip: the rooms with a river view are a little more but worth it,chairs and table on a patio..and a stunni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here, and couldn't be happier. Great rooms, excellent staff. You cannot beat the surroundings, and the have an excellent on site restaurant. You need to request riverside rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madnol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Clean comfy room, great staff, great breakfast. Balcony rooms available for an upcharge.

Room Tip: Balcony Rooms, pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I have stayed here a number of times. The inn has a series of rooms that face the Ohio River and a number that are located on the "park view" side. The latter would be more accurately designated the "parking lot view" side since that is what you actually see. If you do choose the less expensive rooms on the parking lot view side, you still get a very clean, comfortable modern room with the now expected amenities (mini fridge, microwave oven, flat screen tv). The rooms are large enough for a cot or sleeping bags to be added, a convenience for parents traveling with children. The folks at the front desk are friendly and helpful. The inn itself is spacious. All areas connect to all others internally. If it is raining or snowing outside, it is easy to get to the dining room, indoor swimming pool, lounges, etc. without going outside. If you lack a river view from your room, no problem. There are many rocking chairs along a glassed in corridor that face the river. There is also seating outside. The food in the dining room is just average but there is plenty of it. Caveat- Not all doors that permit you to exit to the parking lot, allow you to return by the same way. So you might want to make note of that when you want to pick up something from your car or when you are loading up to go home.

The inn is located inside the Clifty Falls State Park, so you have available the outdoor activities of a park. After heavy rains, the falls are fun to watch. The hiking is great if you like a lot of up and down. Unlike much of Indiana, it is not flat here.

Madison, one of the early settlements in Indiana, is just outside of the park on the southside. It is worth a visit fo a lovely stroll along the river, interesting little shops, additional restaurant options, an historic mansion and other sights.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
5  Thank TravelingProf47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We loved staying at the inn. Our room looked out over the Ohio River. Beautiful. And we kept our curtain open at night to enjoy the lights at night. The rooms were outstanding. Was very clean, as was the entire place. The food was yummy, and presented well. I had never been there before, but my husband had. He loved it before, and loved it again.

Room Tip: Get one that looks out over the Ohio River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IrisSpring_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Very pleased with this Inn. The pictures on the website don't do it justice. We stayed in the Parkside suite and there are very upscale elements to the room. The shower is a two-person with multiple showerheads, the bath tub is separate and jetted, with a beautiful faucet. The floors are slate and hardwood. Very comfortable seating area wtih a full size couch and chair, and flat screen tv's in both rooms. The bed could use some upgrading, but it was comfortable none the less. The dining room offers many choices, and the food is good. No fit room, but there's a pool and a hot tub, and lots of cozy seating areas with gas fireplaces. Plenty of places to walk, lots of trails. The town of Madison is below you, with a great old downtown shopping area. Very beautiful old homes, and very well preserved. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the river, stay in the Riverside part of the Inn. Beware there are three very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chiefjacknut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#3 of 7 in Madison
116 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hillside Inn
Hillside Inn
#4 of 7 in Madison
174 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Way Inn
Best Way Inn
#6 of 7 in Madison
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
#3 of 7 in Carrollton
116 reviews
3.1 mi away
Super 8 Madison/Hanover Area
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Carrollton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifty Inn

Address: Clifty Falls State Park, Rte. 56, 1650 Clifty Hollow Rd, Madison, IN 47250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Madison
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Price Range: £60 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
Clifty Hotel Madison
Clifty Falls State Park Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing