We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem in Madison IN”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Clifty Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clifty Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Medinah
Level Contributor
155 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Madison IN”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

This place is a special find. High on a hill overlooking the Ohio River. Scenic views if you overlook the power plant on the river below the hotel. We have stayed in many state parks and this is one of the best. Rooms are modern, clean and quiet. The restaurant has nice views and the food is good. If you are in the area don't miss the opportunity to stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the River View Wing have the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    93
    30
    17
    7
See reviews for
84
100
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Nice hiking trails for all ages and levels, good view when you aren't near the nuclear plant, and really nice state park hotel. Pretty good food and they will pack you a to-go lunch. Nice clean pool with ramp. Lots of little nooks for games and tv in the many different lobbies.

Room Tip: some of the rooms are very far away from the lobby and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank homebodyIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beech Grove, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

This was a surprise Valentine's trip from my husband. The view was amazing, room was spotless with comfy beds and beautiful decor. The breakfast buffet was excellent, your waitress can get you as many eggs as you want, cooked any way you want so that was a great surprise. The waitress was so nice and sweet. Beautiful inn and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet W, Office Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Second time visiting the Inn and enjoyed the ground level room with an outdoor patio overlooking the Ohio River and historic Madison. The staff are pleasant and quick to respond any concerns.

A special thank you to Melissa for the friendly service and coffee!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank IndyGuyontheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet W, Office Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thanks so much for allowing us the opportunity to serve you. Guest like you makes everyday special. I have shared your comment with our team and highlighted Melissa. Please visit us again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gers, France
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Anyone travelling in the US and staying all too often in corporate hotels will find the Clifty Inn a splendid antidote. The whole place is old-fashioned yet roomy and comfortable. There's a generous scattering of stuffed wild animals (locally sourced) in the public spaces, excellent views, pleasant outside seating, balconies in the rooms, and a great deal of wood everywhere, giving a hunting-lodge flavour, mercifully without any guns on display. The dining-room is vast and as quaint as the hotel website. The cooking is homely and generous. Indeed with its senior discounts and its situation inside the Clifty Falls State Park, the dining-room often gives the impression of being part of a rather charming old folks home. The downside? Nothing much: naturally none of the photos show the enormous power-plant chimney that looms so near the hotel, belching white smoke high into the sky, and yes, if you're on a budget then it is a bit of a downer to have to pay $7 at the park entrance when you're booked in to the hotel. But on the other hand, the drive through the park to and from the hotel is a deeply rural delight, and if you do it at night you'll catch deer in your headlights - yet at the same time from the park entrance you're only five minutes' drive from the attractive downtown of Madison IN.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

After reading the negative comments that people have written, I had to laugh. The complaints that some people have are simply ridiculous. You cannot blame Clifty Inn for the power plant being in the way of your view of the river, or for having to pay a park entrance fee (FYI if you travel during the off season you don't have to pay for the entrance fee!). I don't know what it is about travelers feeling entitled to everything under the sun, but you need to join the rest of us in the real world and realize that Clifty Inn is in a great location and is reasonably priced.

The beds were comfortable, the tv worked, there were ample towels in the bathroom, and the room itself was very spacious. We could all be nit-picky and point out minor flaws that really don't matter but let's be adults about this and understand that not everything is always going to be perfect. I've stayed here a couple of times before with family (I'm a former student of Hanover College) and I have loved it every time. First visit was in late 2008 or early 2009 but I loved it then too. The only difference is I have worked in the tourism industry for three years now and I understand the dedication that goes into maintaining a hotel and providing superb guest service. It's not easy. The service at Clifty Inn was excellent, and as always the brunch buffet is definitely worth mentioning.

Try to get a room with a view of the river if you can because it's magical. If not, no worries- you can always sit in the public areas and see the river from there. There are lots of areas to relax, both indoors and outdoors. There is also a room adjacent to the dining room that has probably around 20 board games for guests to play. I have loved staying at Clifty Inn and next time we're in Southern Indiana, that is definitely where my family and I will go. Side note- the entire park is great for those who enjoy photography (any time of year, but especially when the foliage is red and orange!)

If I have to list any complaints at all, the only thing that was frustrating was that the wifi connection was weak so it took awhile for web pages to load. But unless you're staying here for business purposes, you really shouldn't be on your laptop anyway! Go outside! Enjoy the view and the overall beauty that the park and the hotel have to offer! State and national parks exist so that we can connect with nature...not twitter followers.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the river if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

My daughter & myself have gone to Clifty Inn now for 3 years. We love to go 3 to 4 days before Thanksgiving-as with Christmas coming. The town so lovely, And the Lodge is wonderful with the Christmas trees & decorations thu out. Love the people that work there also-so Nice. The last 2 years - I have been alittle disappointed that the Hot tub has been closed. I understand it has alot of issues : (. The pool is very nice - but more for the children as it is not heated, I used to love meeeting older people my own age at the hot tub & So relaxing before bedtime. Please Clifty-if you could just Add a cheaper hot tub (maybe on the wood cover:over the original on ? ) it would be so Nice for us older guys. As we love to relax & look out at 'Ol Man Winter also. We always stay on the river side, rooms are always nice & clean ! (not to crazy about the bedspreads-out dated) But, we hope to come back every year : D.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
2.6 mi away
Hillside Inn
Hillside Inn
#3 of 7 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#4 of 7 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Way Inn
Best Way Inn
#6 of 7 in Madison
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Super 8 Madison/Hanover Area
17.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
#3 of 7 in Carrollton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Carrollton
Hampton Inn Carrollton
#1 of 7 in Carrollton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifty Inn

Property: Clifty Inn
Address: Clifty Falls State Park, Rte. 56, 1650 Clifty Hollow Rd, Madison, IN 47250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Madison
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
Clifty Hotel Madison
Clifty Falls State Park Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing