We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but suites are overpriced.”
Review of Clifty Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clifty Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice, but suites are overpriced.”
Reviewed 2 February 2010

The suites at Clifty Inn are very nice. There is a kitchenette, dining table, sitting area and separate bedroom. The decor for a state park is a high notch above average. There is also a whirlpool tub and a multi-jet shower. The restaurant is average. There are many other great eating choices a short drive away.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    93
    30
    17
    8
See reviews for
84
101
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We have been coming to Clifty Falls Inn for about five years now and have never had a complaint. It's our Valentine Get-away and we always look forward to it after a long winter. We stay in the corner suite which is large and well appointed with everything we need for a wonderful, relaxing stay.
The buffet is loaded with good, down home comfort food. I always try to lose a few pounds before we go so that I can really enjoy it! *Ü* The Inn is laid out so that you can take a long walk easily if the weather is bad. There is so much to see inside! The two gift shops are very nice, well priced and with a good variety for all ages. The staff are helpful and friendly. Nearby Madison offers all types of shopping adventures, with the antique shops being our favorites. All in all, one of our favorite close-to-home destinations.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doretta67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2009

We had a wonder time! Our Family visits Madison every year on Labor Day weekend this year was a shock,We can't stay in the Inn because now you have to purchase two days! We have a family of five we cant do that! However I have told everyone I know about this State park I was so happy that it was fixed up!! I have been coming to the Cliffty Inn since I was a young child!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devore3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Beautiful setting and the river view rooms have stunning views, as long as you look east. Western views are unfortunately dominated by large power station which also makes a constant hum,
Don't arrive hungry between 2 and 5pm because the restaurant is closed and there is nowhere to buy food in the Park
We dined once in the restaurant and were not impressed. Breakfast is not included in the room price however rooms do have fridges and microwaves and coffee makers.so you can make your own.
It was nice to have a balcony but we hardly used it as you have to be prepared to share with your neighbours as there is only minimal or no screening

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HEDGEAPPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

I checked into the hotel because I was worried about an approaching thunderstorm and was currently camping with a leaky tent. The rate was about $99 per night for a basic room, which didnt seem too bad for a State Park, though it was mid week and the hotel was almost empty. They put us in the older section, and gave me the wrong directions to the room and when I entered the room is smelled musty and damp. I requested a new room and they put be in a riverview room. It was newer and very nice. I would recommend that anyone who stays here pay the extra $10 or $20 for a newer riverview room.

My son wanted to swim. The pool is fairly nice. The hot tub is warm, but not hot. The pool was a nice temperature for swimming and had a basketball net set up which my son enjoyed. I was mildly annoyed that they didnt enforce any of the pool rules. The kids next to me were eating McDonalds cheeseburgers in the pool and they would drop them in the water and make a real mess. They have cameras in the pool area so it should be simple to keep an eye on things from the front desk which is only 30 feet away.

While at the hotel we had one dinner and one breakfast. The food was ok. Perhaps a bit overpriced, but not too bad. I just find it boring. My dinner was mostly cold and was mostly bread.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnGreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

My husband, 11 yr old daughter, and I stated at Clifty Falls Inn during a weekday and this place was much nicer than I anticipated! The rooms were very clean and spacious... enjoyed having the option of a patio or balcony off of the room to sit outside at night.
The restaurant food was pretty good, although slightly overpriced, but I suppose you are paying more for convenience.
There was a very large lounge area with plenty of board games to choose from and staff was very accommodating to let you borrow any of them for your room. The complimentary tea and coffee bar was a nice touch as well!
The pool/spa area was very clean and well maintained, though a little crowded when we were there, possibly due to the outdoor pool in the park being closed that day. The game room had a couple of arcade games which were in good working order.
The grounds of the inn and the park itself were very nice as well. Enjoyed walking the trails...
Great stay! Would definately go back again!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahanthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2009

We stayed here 3 nights and had a pretty nice time. The staff there were helpful and friendly.

We got a river view room, and it was clean with up to date furnishings and a nice little patio. There wasn't much privacy on the patio, but to the left, there was a river view and view of the town of Madison. Unfortunately, looking to the right, huge smokestacks loom from the nearby Clifty Creek Power Plant. The constant hum of the power plant is noticeable but not really too bad. I just didn't enjoy the sight of those smokestacks in an otherwise beautiful place. Fortunately, you can do some hiking elsewhere in the park and get away from that.

We ate at the restaurant multiple times. I wasn't overly impressed - it was decent - but my husband was liking the food. Then again, he got fried chicken every time! I believe that's a specialty there and probably the best thing, in my opinion. There are also a lot of nice little spots in Madison to eat, though.

Overall, I would go back again, although probably not for an extended trip, and probably more to hike than anything else. If you don't mind the power plant, it's really quite beautiful otherwise, and between shopping in Madison and hiking in the park, there's plenty to do.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deaconjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
2.6 mi away
Hillside Inn
Hillside Inn
#3 of 7 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#4 of 7 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Way Inn
Best Way Inn
#6 of 7 in Madison
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Super 8 Madison/Hanover Area
17.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
#2 of 7 in Carrollton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Carrollton
Hampton Inn Carrollton
#1 of 7 in Carrollton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifty Inn

Property: Clifty Inn
Address: Clifty Falls State Park, Rte. 56, 1650 Clifty Hollow Rd, Madison, IN 47250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Madison
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
Clifty Hotel Madison
Clifty Falls State Park Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing