We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hillside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillside Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Bloomington, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Overlooking the Ohio River and the town of Madison while sitting on our private balcony was great. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Quite relaxing! We will be back.

Room Tip: most rooms have balconies. a few do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    55
    31
    15
    7
See reviews for
33
82
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Second time to stay here in recent months. The Suite on the 3rd floor is a great place to enjoy the riverfront of Madison. Whirlpool, fireplace, huge balcony, what's not to like. We hope to get back soon. Will be there for next years Derby, enjoy

Room Tip: Room 302 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roger g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel is in a great location overlooking historic Madison. It is very clean, older but updated very well with excellent furnishings and comforts. At every turn there were nice touches that made us feel welcome and valued, the least of which were real glasses (not plastic) and coffee mugs. The beds are great and the staff is awesome. We missed the complimentary breakfast and so can't comment on that. We would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony on the top floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creed3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellefontaine, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I love the location high on a hill overlooking the town below. Having a private balcony overlooking the town and the river was awesome, especially at night. Even though the weather was chilly, it was so relaxing to sit at the table on the balcony and enjoy the lights below. We also enjoyed watching 3 deer graze on the lawn below us that evening. It is very conveniently located for walking to the river-walk area and also to all the cute and unique shops on Main Street. The hotel itself appears old-style and quaint, is somewhat cramped as far as lobby and hallway spaces, and looks like it could be "refreshed", but the room itself was very neat, welcoming and spacious. All was very clean throughout the hotel, and the staff was very pleasant. The breakfast area is very large, spacious and clean, and the breakfast was adequate. We would stay here again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank making6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
281 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay here. The beds are very comfortable. The soaps,Qtips, and cotton balls are a nice touch. The breakfast was good. The view nice. And the service was great.I really like the fact that they are American owned. This place needs a little updating, but it is not at all dumpy. Mainly the TVs, (they are older) The air in my room wasn't working so they brought me a fan which worked well. All in all I would stay here again for sure, and I recommended to a couple I met in town.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NateB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
194 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

This lovely older hotel on a hill in Madison gives a beautiful view of the river. The rooms are clean and spacious with balconies to sit on and enjoy the view. While I was staying some deer came to feed on the grass beside the hotel in peace and safety, it was delightful to watch them. It is an easy walk from the Inn to the city below which has shoppes, restaurants and scenic buildings. The staff are friendly and a nice continental breakfast is provided. I highly recommend it and will stay there again next time I'm in Madison IN.

Room Tip: I personally stayed on the 3rd floor and always prefer to be on the top floor of any place I'm s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We spent Christmas Eve at Hillside Inn. (And were the only ones at the motel.) As has been noted before the views of Madison and the Ohio are extraordinary. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable however could use some updating.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mperlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#4 of 7 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
3.0 mi away
Super 8 Madison/Hanover Area
3.2 mi away
Best Way Inn
Best Way Inn
#6 of 7 in Madison
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Carrollton
Hampton Inn Carrollton
#1 of 7 in Carrollton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
14.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
#3 of 7 in Carrollton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Carrollton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Inn

Property: Hillside Inn
Address: 831 E Main St, Madison, IN 47250-3652
Region: United States > Indiana > Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hillside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hillside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing