We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & quiet hotel”
Review of Hillside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillside Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We stayed in the jacuzzi suite with the balcony. What a great view! Views from the balcony were amazing especially during the evening and early morning hours. Our room was extremely clean and quiet. Others have mentioned the noise but we didn't have a problem at all. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful recommending a local restaurant that was fabulous. We would definately stay there again. The only thing that could be improved would be the landscaping around the hotel but the interior changes were great! A great find!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Hillside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2010

Our balcony room did have a nice view, however it was so damp, and smelled so musty we asked for a dehumidifier, which they did not have, but provided a fan that made little difference. The air onditioner was clearly ready to give up the ghost. We were offered to move, but were busy and since it was only next door, we figured it wouldn't be much better anyway. The view is really nice, however that road below is busy, lot of traffic to and from the bridge. The breakfast is continental, a little something to get you going, nothing fancy. The room was clean, the king bed comfy, linens nice, except for the towels, which a few were threadbare and should be tossed. For the same $$$ we would probably stay at the Clifty Inn next time.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruzr4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

I felt well rested after sleeping in our bed and enjoyed the quiet location

We stayed in the bungalow versus the hotel which was nice. Some of the water damage needs to be fixed, but it was clean with a nice touch of cotton balls and quality hygiene items provided. But, they do not provide hair dryers in the rooms although they did have a refrigerator. The rooms were very spacious!

The breakfast is fair with hard eggs, coffee, juices, cereal choices, oatmeal, bagels, English muffins, muffins, yogurt, apples, and waffles which you put in a toaster.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseyJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We stayed here one night while on a weekend getaway. Our king room was quite spacious, very clean, and the bed was great - a very comfortable bed with triple sheeting and a comforter. Balcony with lovely view of historic Madison, Indiana and the Ohio River. Front desk staff was friendly and welcoming, and manager graciously allowed us to check out one hour late. Breakfast was cereal, breads, coffee, and juice - which is just right for us - and breakfast room also has that lovely view. Other reviewers have mentioned noise, and as I walked down the hallway I could hear conversations from the rooms - so if your neighbors are rowdy you'll definitely hear it - however our stay was very peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herestoadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Large, clean rooms. Great staff. This place is a treasure at the top of a hill that overlooks the Ohio river and scenic Madison. Each room has a private balcony with table and chairs. We'll definitely book again.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
Thank cathy3938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

The hotel staff are friendly and accomodating. The rooms are clean and roomy. The views of the river and the city from the private balconies are serene and relaxing. We have enjoyed the Hillside Inn on many occasions, including our honeymoon 38 years ago. The part we like the least is leaving. We are already planning our next visit.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank melshof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

This Inn is nestled into the hillside of Madison, Indiana. My husband another couple and myself drove up the twisting driveway and the view from the parking lot will amaze you. We were greeted so warmly by the desk clerk and she checked us in so quickly. Took the elevator to the 3rd floor, opened our door and my husband pulled back the drapes and the view literally took our breath away. The rooms facing the Ohio river all have private balconies/patios with a table and chairs. The room itself had two queensize beds, table and chairs, the bathroom, and especially the shower was wonderful. The beds were so comfortable. The room was very clean and just charming. When you opened the sliding glass door to go out on the balcony you could see into town, the Ohio River, the bridge, and mountains/hills. I would imagaine in the fall it would be spectacular! You could hear all the sounds of the night. But when you went inside and shut the doors you felt like you were alone-it was that quiet.
There is not a restaurant or bar but they do have a very nice continental breakfast-that is just enough. There are plenty of restaurants, taverns, and lounges. There is shopping within walking distance and many specialty shops, from animal boutique, antiques, chocolatiers, to a mercantile. Every time we came back to our room we were again taken back by how lovely it all was. One of there claims to fame is that when filming of 'Some Came Running' was done - Dean Martin, Frank Sinatra and Shirley Maclaine stayed at the Hiilside Inn. There is a very sweet cottage adjacent to the Inn and the owner told us that the cottage is where they all actually stayed. Would give this Inn a 10 out of a scale from 1-10. If you are ever in the southern Indiana area look it up or better yet call and get a room. Ask for one on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peglaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#4 of 7 in Madison
112 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Way Inn
Best Way Inn
#6 of 7 in Madison
62 reviews
3.0 mi away
Super 8 Madison/Hanover Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
#2 of 7 in Carrollton
114 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Carrollton
Hampton Inn Carrollton
#1 of 7 in Carrollton
238 reviews
14.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Carrollton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Inn

Address: 831 E Main St, Madison, IN 47250-3652
Region: United States > Indiana > Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Price Range: £56 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hillside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hillside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing