We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Retreat!!”
Review of Hillside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hillside Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Retreat!!”
Reviewed 7 October 2010

The staff at the Hillside Inn was very accommodating and pleasant. The room was well appointed and clean. I recommend the balcony rooms, the view of the river valley were breath taking. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliVisitor2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    57
    33
    16
    7
See reviews for
34
86
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greencastle, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We didn't plan on spending the night in Madison, but on the spur of the moment decided we would try to find a room. My husband picked out the Hillside Inn, went inside and they only had two rooms available, a suite and a standard room. He chose the suite, and we are both so glad he did, it was beautiful, sweeping view of the Ohio river, a beautiful bridge, all of Madison, all were in our sights on the balcony of a 3rd floor suite. Our room was very clean, the whirlpool and bath were spotless, I felt so very special! I have never stayed in a more beautiful room, push a button, a gigantic fireplace comes to life, push another button, the whirlpool jets whirl around, the bathroom was huge and tiled, there were tile around the whirlpool which made the carpet more sanitary to walk on, the bed was so comfortable, I slept all night, which I never do in a strange bed, the staff was excellent, and if you wanted to sleep until almost time to leave, just put a card in the card slot on the outside and no one will bother you. It isn't a huge hotel, just 3 floors, but the quality and one on one feeling was fantastic. The one thing that was missing, if you use the internet alot, there is no reception in the rooms, but there is a complimentary computer in the lobby for anyone's use. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, all kinds, steak houses, italian, french, coffee bistros, homemade candy shops, beautiful homes, but nothing impressed me like the room at the Hillside Inn. We will definately go back and stay in the suite again, plus, through the week, the rates are cheaper, so we will got then!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judcallend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Sun, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We stayed in the jacuzzi suite with the balcony. What a great view! Views from the balcony were amazing especially during the evening and early morning hours. Our room was extremely clean and quiet. Others have mentioned the noise but we didn't have a problem at all. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful recommending a local restaurant that was fabulous. We would definately stay there again. The only thing that could be improved would be the landscaping around the hotel but the interior changes were great! A great find!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Our balcony room did have a nice view, however it was so damp, and smelled so musty we asked for a dehumidifier, which they did not have, but provided a fan that made little difference. The air onditioner was clearly ready to give up the ghost. We were offered to move, but were busy and since it was only next door, we figured it wouldn't be much better anyway. The view is really nice, however that road below is busy, lot of traffic to and from the bridge. The breakfast is continental, a little something to get you going, nothing fancy. The room was clean, the king bed comfy, linens nice, except for the towels, which a few were threadbare and should be tossed. For the same $$$ we would probably stay at the Clifty Inn next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruzr4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

I felt well rested after sleeping in our bed and enjoyed the quiet location

We stayed in the bungalow versus the hotel which was nice. Some of the water damage needs to be fixed, but it was clean with a nice touch of cotton balls and quality hygiene items provided. But, they do not provide hair dryers in the rooms although they did have a refrigerator. The rooms were very spacious!

The breakfast is fair with hard eggs, coffee, juices, cereal choices, oatmeal, bagels, English muffins, muffins, yogurt, apples, and waffles which you put in a toaster.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseyJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishers, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We stayed here one night while on a weekend getaway. Our king room was quite spacious, very clean, and the bed was great - a very comfortable bed with triple sheeting and a comforter. Balcony with lovely view of historic Madison, Indiana and the Ohio River. Front desk staff was friendly and welcoming, and manager graciously allowed us to check out one hour late. Breakfast was cereal, breads, coffee, and juice - which is just right for us - and breakfast room also has that lovely view. Other reviewers have mentioned noise, and as I walked down the hallway I could hear conversations from the rooms - so if your neighbors are rowdy you'll definitely hear it - however our stay was very peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herestoadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Large, clean rooms. Great staff. This place is a treasure at the top of a hill that overlooks the Ohio river and scenic Madison. Each room has a private balcony with table and chairs. We'll definitely book again.

Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cathy3938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#4 of 7 in Madison
108 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Way Inn
Best Way Inn
#7 of 7 in Madison
62 reviews
3.0 mi away
Super 8 Madison/Hanover Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
#2 of 7 in Carrollton
113 reviews
14.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Carrollton
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Carrollton
Hampton Inn Carrollton
#1 of 7 in Carrollton
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Inn

Property: Hillside Inn
Address: 831 E Main St, Madison, IN 47250-3652
Region: United States > Indiana > Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hillside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hillside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing