We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, fine accommodations, but smoking rooms odors were bothersome.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hillside Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great view, fine accommodations, but smoking rooms odors were bothersome.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

I was there in January 2011; the Hillside provided a nice place to stay over a weekend and enjoy the beautiful town of Madison, IN. Bedding was wonderful, breakfast was adequate and the view was marvelous looking out over the entire city and river. My only real complaint was that on my floor were several smoking rooms and I had to deal with the constant odor of smoking which was frustrating. They should make the hotel smoke free!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank press0384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    54
    31
    14
    7
See reviews for
32
81
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Penney Farms, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

Our stay in the Hilltop Inn, (Nov. 2010), was delightful! The accomadations were extremely comfortable and the cleanliness of the Inn far exceded all expectations. Each of the staff members were friendly and helpful. It was nice to have a smiling face to greet you upon entrance. The housekeeping; well, I'd like to have her at my house. She did a wonderful job and was very courteous. Of course there's the view. Even though it was gloomy weather, the view was absolutely gorgeous.
Transportation to downtown Madison would be a wonderful addition for the Inn or town to add for guest during the winter months.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ftsbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

We have been staying at the Hillside Inn since 2003. We have always found the rooms to be very clean and quiet. The staff has also been very friendly and accommodating.
The rooms have a nice closet to hang clothes, a large TV with HBO and a nice sized bath with large, fluffy clean towels and wash cloths.
Each rooms (except for the annex) has a balcony with table and chairs with the most beautiful view of Madison and the Ohio River.
Each morning they serve a deluxe continental breakfast that includes cereal, eggs, rolls, bagels, pancakes, oatmeal and juices which is very filling.
The Hillside Inn is an excellent place to spend a get-a-way night or weekend.
We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce-Chas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

The staff at the Hillside Inn was very accommodating and pleasant. The room was well appointed and clean. I recommend the balcony rooms, the view of the river valley were breath taking. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliVisitor2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greencastle, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

We didn't plan on spending the night in Madison, but on the spur of the moment decided we would try to find a room. My husband picked out the Hillside Inn, went inside and they only had two rooms available, a suite and a standard room. He chose the suite, and we are both so glad he did, it was beautiful, sweeping view of the Ohio river, a beautiful bridge, all of Madison, all were in our sights on the balcony of a 3rd floor suite. Our room was very clean, the whirlpool and bath were spotless, I felt so very special! I have never stayed in a more beautiful room, push a button, a gigantic fireplace comes to life, push another button, the whirlpool jets whirl around, the bathroom was huge and tiled, there were tile around the whirlpool which made the carpet more sanitary to walk on, the bed was so comfortable, I slept all night, which I never do in a strange bed, the staff was excellent, and if you wanted to sleep until almost time to leave, just put a card in the card slot on the outside and no one will bother you. It isn't a huge hotel, just 3 floors, but the quality and one on one feeling was fantastic. The one thing that was missing, if you use the internet alot, there is no reception in the rooms, but there is a complimentary computer in the lobby for anyone's use. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, all kinds, steak houses, italian, french, coffee bistros, homemade candy shops, beautiful homes, but nothing impressed me like the room at the Hillside Inn. We will definately go back and stay in the suite again, plus, through the week, the rates are cheaper, so we will got then!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judcallend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Sun, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

We stayed in the jacuzzi suite with the balcony. What a great view! Views from the balcony were amazing especially during the evening and early morning hours. Our room was extremely clean and quiet. Others have mentioned the noise but we didn't have a problem at all. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful recommending a local restaurant that was fabulous. We would definately stay there again. The only thing that could be improved would be the landscaping around the hotel but the interior changes were great! A great find!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

Our balcony room did have a nice view, however it was so damp, and smelled so musty we asked for a dehumidifier, which they did not have, but provided a fan that made little difference. The air onditioner was clearly ready to give up the ghost. We were offered to move, but were busy and since it was only next door, we figured it wouldn't be much better anyway. The view is really nice, however that road below is busy, lot of traffic to and from the bridge. The breakfast is continental, a little something to get you going, nothing fancy. The room was clean, the king bed comfy, linens nice, except for the towels, which a few were threadbare and should be tossed. For the same $$$ we would probably stay at the Clifty Inn next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cruzr4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#3 of 7 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
3.0 mi away
Super 8 Madison/Hanover Area
3.2 mi away
Best Way Inn
Best Way Inn
#7 of 7 in Madison
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
#2 of 7 in Carrollton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Carrollton
Hampton Inn Carrollton
#1 of 7 in Carrollton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
14.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Carrollton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Inn

Property: Hillside Inn
Address: 831 E Main St, Madison, IN 47250-3652
Region: United States > Indiana > Madison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hillside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hillside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing