We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverboat Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We came to Madison for our anniversary and decided to try the Riverboat Inn. It was much better than we anticipated. The staff was more than friendly. We especially enjoyed, Kathy, the owner. She was soo nice. The room was great. The best part was the beautiful grounds with the large decks, with plenty of seating and lots of firepits. We loved sitting out on the couch, next to the firepit, watching the Ohio River, listening to the guitar player, and drinking a cold Bud Light from the bar. It was so relaxing, and perfect. We will be back. Thanks!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank enna77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverboatmadison, Front Office Manager at Riverboat Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thanks for celebrating your anniversary with us at the Riverboat. We do always enjoy people joining us for their important celebrations. We are also glad that you enjoyed the entertainment while you were here. When you return, be sure to let us know how we can improve your time as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    61
    20
    16
    15
See reviews for
28
109
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed in August and found our room although small very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The back of the building faces the Ohio River which is nice except the main view is the bridge. If I were ever going to return to Madison I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry21651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverboatmadison, Front Office Manager at Riverboat Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you for your comments as well as for staying with us at the Riverboat. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the view of the Ohio River from the deck. Though the main view will still be of the bridge, the view will change as all of the remnants of the old bridge and the construction are taken away and replaced with the new bridge. If you come back this way we would love to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocono'Mtn, Pa.
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

If you would like some modern conviences try another place. The rooms our group were in were so far from front desk you had to drive to get there. Our room was very small and had no clock, no phone and a television that was so small you had to sit on end of bed to see picture. I think it was a 12" screen. Our towels were all mismatched with different colors and patterns on the bath, hand and washcloths (when we got them). Their was no bars of soap so when you wanted to wash your hands you had to go in a walk in shower and dispense liquid soap from a dispenser on the far wall. There was a refrigerator that shut off everytime you turned the lights off and a microwave that never did work. If you wanted ice you walked outside the rooms down a walkway and if you were lucky there would be a bag of ice in an old chest type ice box. Of course everyone would stick their hands in the bag of ice so it was definitely not very sanitary. To get to front desk you drove down the street ,past a very good shrimp house restaurant, up a windy hill and there was the front desk, with a bar and I think a small restaurant inside although I never saw anyone eating there. The bar service was very slow as the bartender was also the front desk clerk checking in/ out guests, answering the Phone and also the waitress/waiter serving customers who were out side the building in the patio. I think I will look for another place next time I'm in the area.

Room Tip: I can not think of any tips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank countryy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverboatmadison, Front Office Manager at Riverboat Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
We greatly apologize that our service and the facilities that you had were not up to your or our standards. Your comments do provide with several things to insure that we double check before our guests arrive. We do strive to provide a better experience for our guests so if you do come back to Madison we would welcome a chance to better serve you in the future and recover our reputation with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

A great place to stay in downtown Madison, relax in the evening with a coke, beer or glass of wine while you sit outside around the fireside with your friends. Watch the river boats or new bridge construction in preparation for the incredible slide of the new bridge. The rooms are very clean and the beds comfortable. The Inn is within walking distance to the awesome Key West Shrimp House.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed for 12 days, easy walking distance to town bars and restaurants, fantastic shrimp restaurant just down the drive, room was basic, not cleaned very well in shower room. Had room 115 avoid at all costs, staff outside talking loudly from 01-00 hours to 03-00 hours and between 03-00 hours to 05-00 hours, bangs on ceiling through the night from people above, very little sleep throughout the stay.
Katie and staff were very helpful. If anyone wishes to stay here long term opt for the upstairs suites,

Room Tip: Upstairs suites, all with river views and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We found this place on trip advisor during a road trip north, needed a place to stay in Madison as it was too hot to camp. From the minute we arrived, we were treated like family, a rare treat in a hotel today. They have a nice porch with a view of the river, a small bar, and cookies in the evening. We wished we could have stayed longer, as we truly enjoyed our one night here. Rooms are small, but clean and taken care of. A great value in our opinion. Our room had a Harley Davidson bedside lamp complete with sound effects. High kitch value, if that makes you laugh. Thanks for a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tallybiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokomo, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Went with a large group of friends for a weekend of riding our bikes. We rented room 105 in the Pilot House. I was told on the phone it was large with an eat in kitchen. It was large and cutely decorated like country. I was surprised to find there is NO silverware or pots & pans or dishes in the kitchen. What good is it if you cant use the kitchen? Had a coffee pot with no coffee, no paper towels...cabinets were empty except for a few plastic cups and coffee cups. Also, no hand soap in the bathroom and in order to call the front desk I had to use my cell phone to get a hair dryer. I must say the view from the main hotel on the patio is amazing with the new bridge. I really enjoyed hanging out there with friends but the single guitar entertainment was fine if you like to hear "If I had a hammer"...and that was one of the good songs.Breakfast was cold and you had to stand in line to microwave it. No ashtrays to be found so we had to use a beer can. I must say the rooms was clean but had a musty smell Pool was dirty and never saw anyone cleaning it. I would stay here again with a group but never just a getaway with my husband and I. I think with just a few changes this place could be number one.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen&roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
0.2 mi away
Hillside Inn
Hillside Inn
#3 of 7 in Madison
170 reviews
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#4 of 7 in Madison
110 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Way Inn
Best Way Inn
#7 of 7 in Madison
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Madison/Hanover Area
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Carrollton
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Carrollton
Hampton Inn Carrollton
#1 of 7 in Carrollton
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverboat Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverboat Inn and Suites

Property: Riverboat Inn and Suites
Address: 906 E 1st St, Madison, IN 47250-3623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an American-owned hotel. We try hard to be the best we can be. All our rooms are individually decorated with the cutest amenities. Flat screen TVs, pillow top beds, fireplaces, hardwood floors, mini refrigerators, microwaves, free breakfast on weekends, free wi-fi, live music on Sat.evening, full lounge, and much more. Our riverfront patios are enclosed and heated in the winter so you can enjoy the view even if it is cold! We are Madison's only riverfront hotel and just minutes walking distance to historic downtown Madison. Lets us know ahead of time and we will pick you up at the Madison airport or marina.We can also take you downtown or pick you up if you let us know.We also have 2/3/and 4 bedroom condos on the property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverboat Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing