We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Martinsville
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Martinsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed here the second week in October 2013. The advice that was give to us by various contributors was very helpful:
1. Top floor to avoid "one man's ceiling is another man's floor" noise.
2. Windows facing toward the back of the building to avoid noises from the road.
3. Non-smoking.
The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the rooms were clean. Parking is close to the entryways. The rear of the building faces on a beautiful woodland and field area.
Cons:
Even though we were in a non-smoking area, the odor of stale cigarette smoke was noticeable.
Good Value. I would recommend HIE in Martinsville, IN.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 147 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

This hotel has been recently sold and is under new management, (So I was told when complaining) and policies have changed. the front desk supervisor, Wendy went above and beyond I felt but her hands were tied for with new GM the front desk supervisor is not able to make any kind of adjustments to bills that would make the guests happy. There were a few of us complaining and unlike with old management the front desk supervisor was not able to accommodate us (3 different rooms) for the issues we had with a/c /heating not working, noise, non smoking rooms (as I specifically asked for in my profile). I was told that she (supervisor) was not able to make any adjustments to my bill that she would notify the GM and have her give me a call on Monday. This is totally unacceptable. In the past when I had issues with the cooling/heating I was moved to another room but on a sold out hotel I was at least given a discount. I don't think that the GM should be the only one to do this. The front desk supervisor and clerks are the ones that have to deal with guest happiness/unpleasantness (as in my case). I didn't even bother waiting on a phone call or calling the GM. The new GM is making this hotel go down hill. I will NEVER stay at this one again. I will pay the higher prices at Bloomington for a much much better stay.

Room Tip: Pay the higher prices at Bloomington it is well worth the service and not the lack of Front desk cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel. My last stay was in 2012 and you got to spin a wheel for a treat upon check in. Now they hand you a goody bag of treats. The room was neat and clean and may have been recently remodeled. Unfortunately a girls rugby team was there and it was hard to get any sleep...although that's not the hotel's fault.

Room Tip: If you want a view, do not get #315, it looks at the back of the drive up canopy. Adjacent KFC and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoosierhobbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Rainy night in the low 40's and no heat. We called the front desk who tried to walk us through turning it on (we were doing it correctly, the unit just didn't work). So, we decide to leave earlier than originally planned because it was too cold to even stay in the room. When checking out I told the front desk clerk about the heat. Without looking up from her computer she said "We are aware of it and are sending maintenance up". Well great, that did a lot to help us! So, I asked for a manager. That's when I was told that the manager lives out of town and is only there through the week and I could take a card and call her next week. The desk clerk was rude and obviously didn't care that we had no heat in a room that we just spend $144/night for (we paid for 2 rooms because of other family members we had with us). I am a business owner and I try to make every effort I can to make sure my customers are happy. And my employees don't say "take a card and call the manager". They give me the customers # and I contact them directly. Terrible customer service all around at this hotel. 3rd floor smells awful as soon as you step off the elevator. Walls are thin and you sound like your going through the floor just walking across it. If you need a hotel in Martinsville, stay anywhere but here or drive to Bloomington. I'm not even going to call the manager, not worth it. I don't want a "canned" apology. Will never stay at Holiday Inn Express again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here but if you HAVE to, don't stay on the 3rd floor. Smells like a bingo hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catdog71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Martinsville, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Catdog71,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We highly value opinions from guests like you as it assists us in our never ending task to better ourselves.

We sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with the room condition particularly with the thermostat. Further, we are truly sorry for the poor service our staff has provided you. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed and actions will be made where possible.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We value you as a guest and we hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity in the future. We value your custom and as always we remain at your disposal.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here one night of IU football weekend. Paid $169 which was way too much to pay for this hotel. Hotel is ok but not great. Carpet was stained in our room 226. Shower drain plug was also broken. Beds were comfortable. There r 4 smoking rooms on 3rd floor. Breakfast was lacking. No fruit or meat options. We were also kicked out of breakfast room at 10:30am by breakfast hosts so they could "clean the room".This was rude I thought. We had finished eating and were just talking. Room walls are thin. Could hear shower and people in room next door. Also, house keeping started knocking in doors at 8:45am on Sunday morning. A little too early I thought. Front desk people were accommodating and helpful. Overall I would only stay here in a pinch. Not as nice as other holiday inn express locations.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fivelittleducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Martinsville, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Fivelittleducks,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered during your stay. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the shower drain as well as the breakfast options have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinsville
0.6 mi away
Best Western Martinsville Inn
Best Western Martinsville Inn
#2 of 3 in Martinsville
135 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington
#4 of 24 in Bloomington
658 reviews
18.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Days Inn Cloverdale Greencastle
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Martinsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Martinsville

Address: 2233 Burton Ln, Martinsville, IN 46151-9405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Martinsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Martinsville
Price Range: £74 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Martinsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Bloomington, IN and Indianapolis, The HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS NORTH BLOOMINGTON/MARTINSVILLE is the choice to get away from the metropolitan environments while enjoying the amenities of two larger cities. Points of interest a short drive from us are INDIANAPOLIS MOTOR SPEEDWAY home of the INDY 500 , RCA DOME, INDIANA UNIVERSITY, ASSEMBLY HALL and LUCAS OIL STADIUM home of the INDIANAPOLIS COLTS. Unwind and explore Lake Monroe and while there, take in the splendor of JOHN MELLENCAMP home, Brown County State Park and more. Businesses near the HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS Martinsville include: COOK Phamica, Baxter, TOA Automotive Parts, Eli Lily and Company, Harman Automotive, Super Wal-Mart, General Electric, Rogers Group, Otis Elevator, and Sunrise Publications. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Martinsville you'll find amenities and services to enhance your stay, including comfortable new beds, free high - speed wired and wireless Internet access, free parking and Complimentary fresh start breakfast. With a team committed to serve and make you feel special, with a convenient location, and elegantly decorated rooms, our friendly staff will make your stay memorable. Come, STAY SMART and explore with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Martinsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Martinsville
Holiday Inn Martinsville
Martinsville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing