We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Certificate of Excellence
Diamond Bar, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice room”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Needed a stop off in the general area. THis one had a great rate for a room with a jacuzi tub for 2. On vacation and this was just what we needed after driving and stress. As usual with the Hilton properties, everything was neat and clean. Would recommend this property to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
Dear Jim K.

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments are are glad that you had such a good time. If you are ever come to Merrillville again it would be great to have you stay with us again. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Joshua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    152
    62
    30
    23
See reviews for
191
109
30
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

I had a wonderful stay for my birthday weekend. When i first walked in i felt welcome. I had a great breakfast and i was congratulated by the director of catering during my breakfast and she made the stay way better. The servers were also great very polite and kind. The room was clean and I had no complaints.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Crystal c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Dear Crystal C.

It is so great to hear that you had a good experience with us on your birthday. I will definitely make sure our Director of Catering knows how she impacted your stay with us. Thank you again for the feedback. It was a pleasure to have you here with us.

Sincerely,

Joshua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I had no intention of staying here, or even being in Indiana, but when the pre-Christmas "blizzard" cancelled hundreds of flights at O'Hare, I ended up driving home for the holidays, and the snow was just bad enough with the wind to force me to stop for the night here. Am I ever glad I did! Great property, easy access, very quiet. The rooms were spacious and great, bed comfortable, and price competitive. They made a really difficult day end really well. I would recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spade7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Spade7,

Thank you taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am so glad that your day full of cancelled flights and snowy weather ended with a good experience. If you are ever in Merrillville again I hope you take that chance again.

Sincerely,

Joshua S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
154 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This property is currently being renovated but its staff needs zero adjustments... when I travel between Chicago and Indianapolis a late arrival or early departure usually has me spending time here. It's extremely convenient off I-65, has its own full restaurant and bar, plus there's shopping across the street and various restaurants nearby if one needs to go off the property.
I must commend the staff after my most recent visit in early December 2012 - I had recent hand surgery and needed help with suitcases - it was no problem. With renovations in the lobby and first floor, there was an obstacle course to get anywhere but everyone was so helpful - special props to Joshua Sanders, who looked after my every need.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
401 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

This is the second time I stayed here. The first time, no issues. I stayed one night on a Monday night. I was on the first floor. It was very loud. First of all it sounded as if they were building something and wheeled carts kept moving (carpeted halls but was not carpeted in front of the elevator). It was very loud. My room was a connecting room-and there wasn't any sound-proofing. I heard the guy in the room beside me-on the phone, placing something in the microwave, etc.. I put a towel underneath the door to block some sound and opened the bathroom door to block some from the hall. All I can say is bring some earplugs-mine were a life saver. And request an upper level floor-don't stay on the first floor unless you do have some earplugs! Staff were nice, convenient location-lots of restaurants and shopping on the exit. I would stay here again on an upper level.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2012

For the last couple of years, my work requires me to travel to this area. If I don't book early enough, this hotel does not have availability and requires me to stay elsewhere. After having to occassionally endure the other hotels in the area, I now book as soon as I know I will be in the area again.

This hotel's staff, service and cleanliness never dissapoint me. It is close to lots of restaurants but most the time, I just get room service. I would recommend this hotel to all!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cp616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrillville, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2012

If you want a shower or party in one of there banquet room please go somewhere else!!! It was my worst experience ever..it was my baby shower and i was very disappointed in their food and the director of catering Maria [---]. First the number of tables were wrong, no cake table, the microphone didn't even work, (that was an extra charge), it was set up for buffet when we were supposed to have servers bring out the food, the wrong soup was served, and of course Maria wasn't there!!!!! We emailed the GM of the hotel and of course got no response!! Just don't go here; my baby shower was ruined!!

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattRoig, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Michelle CC-

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel, however I am sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory event experience. We pride ourselves on making sure that events go off without a hitch, and I apologize that we were unable to achieve that on your most recent experience. The problems that you encountered are completely unacceptable and will absolutely be addressed. I know that your experience is not indicative of what our hotel is capable of and am certain that many of our processes can be improved because of your feedback. Thank you again for taking the time to give us some insight into your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Merrillville
Hampton Inn Merrillville
#1 of 21 in Merrillville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
#3 of 21 in Merrillville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
#5 of 21 in Merrillville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Merrillville
Residence Inn Merrillville
#6 of 21 in Merrillville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Address: 7775 Mississippi St, Merrillville, IN 46410-5710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville Hotel Merrillville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing