We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came for the beef loved the salad”
Review of Portillo's

Portillo's
Ranked #1 of 154 Restaurants in Merrillville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, American, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Home to America's favorite Chicago-style hot dogs, Italian beef, burgers, salads, and chocolate cake.
DeMotte, IN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Came for the beef loved the salad”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

A local institution Portillos is know for roast beef sandwiches and hot dogs. One of our favorite fast/casual restaurants we end up here at least once every week or two. One day my wife wanted to try a salad and orders a "chopped". From that day on we were hooked. It is a collection of lettuces, pasta, onions, bacon, and lots of other ingredients tossed with a creamy italian dressing. Have tried all of their salads now, most are very good but nothing compares to the chopped version.

If you are a visitor in the area make sure to order your dog Chicago style, classic way to get the Portillo's experience. .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    109
    28
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
428 reviews
349 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A Favorite of Many”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

A long time favorite in Merrillville, it is always a MUST stop for my husband as we make our way to AND from Chicago. He LOVES the beef & even gets one to bring home. He reports that the beef is always tender, the juice perfect & the combo of peppers along with everything else can't be beat. I'll have to take his word for it as I am not a big beef eater. I ordered the chicken sandwich. It was ok, not extremely juicy & flavorful but ok. The fries were great. The atmosphere can't be beat. Lots of old memorabilia on the walls, hanging from the ceiling, everywhere.....a fun place to sit & look around too. The booths are wonderful & cozy. BTW, the beef heats up nicely after you return home so don't be hesitant to 'get one to go'.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DDDFJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
946 reviews
381 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Fast service and good food”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Can't say enough about their hot dogs - really good tasting. Tried their 3 cheese ravioli which was tasty. Their salads are also very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Always Good”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

In an attempt to eat healthier, I reluctantly ordered a salad instead of my beloved Jumbo Hot Dog with everything (NO KETCHUP). Had the chopped salad and.....it was great. Much better value that the salad's offered at other restaurants and much better tasting. It filled me up, which was good, otherwise I would have washed it down with a Jumbo Hot Dog. My wife loves their veggie sandwich.

The menu really does have something for everyone. If you don't mind the hustle and bustle you will leave full and happy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steph26139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fun place to meet up with family”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Portillo's has great food - hot dogs, sausage, roast beef sandwiches (you decide what degree of hotness you want for your peppers) & a side pasta restaurant to order from if someone in your party prefers pasta. You walk in and place your order at the counter. Plenty of seating for larger groups and cozy tables of 4. Reallly good food, made fresh and to order.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CheersAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portillo's also viewed

 
Merrillville, IN
Merrillville, IN
 

Been to Portillo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing