We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little taste of Chicago”
Review of Portillo's

Portillo's
Ranked #1 of 154 Restaurants in Merrillville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Home to America's favorite Chicago-style hot dogs, Italian beef, burgers, salads, and chocolate cake.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A little taste of Chicago”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Always eat at Portillo's when I'm in Chicago and now there is one an hour closer to home....whoo hoo. Order one of everything, it's all delish.

Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    117
    30
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Must When Near Chicago!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Upon leaving Chicago I still wanted Portillo's, so we went to this one on the way home. Just as good as any other location! Great Italian Beef sandwich and great Chicago Dog! Love the ambience too. No complaints (except they don't leave mustard out at the condiment stand, if that counts as a complaint).

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LawyerJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeMotte, IN
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Came for the beef loved the salad”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

A local institution Portillos is know for roast beef sandwiches and hot dogs. One of our favorite fast/casual restaurants we end up here at least once every week or two. One day my wife wanted to try a salad and orders a "chopped". From that day on we were hooked. It is a collection of lettuces, pasta, onions, bacon, and lots of other ingredients tossed with a creamy italian dressing. Have tried all of their salads now, most are very good but nothing compares to the chopped version.

If you are a visitor in the area make sure to order your dog Chicago style, classic way to get the Portillo's experience. .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana, USA
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A Favorite of Many”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

A long time favorite in Merrillville, it is always a MUST stop for my husband as we make our way to AND from Chicago. He LOVES the beef & even gets one to bring home. He reports that the beef is always tender, the juice perfect & the combo of peppers along with everything else can't be beat. I'll have to take his word for it as I am not a big beef eater. I ordered the chicken sandwich. It was ok, not extremely juicy & flavorful but ok. The fries were great. The atmosphere can't be beat. Lots of old memorabilia on the walls, hanging from the ceiling, everywhere.....a fun place to sit & look around too. The booths are wonderful & cozy. BTW, the beef heats up nicely after you return home so don't be hesitant to 'get one to go'.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DDDFJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
944 reviews
381 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Fast service and good food”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Can't say enough about their hot dogs - really good tasting. Tried their 3 cheese ravioli which was tasty. Their salads are also very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portillo's also viewed

 
Merrillville, IN
Merrillville, IN
 

Been to Portillo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing