We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally Average In Every Single Way (except cleanliness)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Merrillville
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptionally Average In Every Single Way (except cleanliness)”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We checked in at eleven in the evening with a reservation. The woman who helped us was really pleasant and check in took all of five minutes, if that. The rooms were not luxurious, but wasn't expecting anything but the bare minimum. The rooms were clean in a general sense, but did find some hair folded up in the washcloths (two of which I did not find until I was in the process of drying my face). The shower and shower curtain also needed to be cleaned, but other than that, the room was fine. The premises was secure; there were many exits and entrances, but all were secure and needed keys to access. We stayed in room 141.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockkettbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    12
    18
    8
    11
See reviews for
14
12
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

As of late I have had some difficulty with Motel 6. I have to say I pleasantly surprised. One ice machine was still broken, but the vending machine was well stocked. Room was clean and the staff was knowledgeable. I was parked close to my room, and appreciated many entrances and places to be able to smoke.

Room Tip: First floor in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedeevee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundance Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Room 165 smells like a litter box. Beds ok and otherwise seems clean. Great price and located near restaurants. Front staff very helpful. I would stay here again because of price but I would ask to see the room because of the smell

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merrillville hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My husband & I travel constantly due to his work. What was meant to be a 3 month job turned in a year. Not wanting to rent a home because we were not sure when the job would end, decided to stayed at Motel 6. The staff here really treat you like you are family. This hotel is very safe also, you must have a key to even enter the hallways. That's a huge plus for us. Maintenance & cleaning were always taking place. This motel is right next to a mall & any type of restaurant you could want. Last, but not least, the fact that my sweet Molly(our half lab/half dob) was always greeted with a smile, made our stay just that much more enjoyable. Thank you so much to all the staff at Motel 6 in Merrillville, Indiana!!! :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JSchemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrillville, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Motel 6 Merrillville is an okay place if you don't have the money! I stay for long periods of time. There is never any ice because one of the machines is broke and the other is always empty because the construction guys fill their coolers!! Several of the housekeepers - especially the manager's relative (a minor age kid) - is incapable of cleaning the room. He never vacuums and doesn't do toilets! Have to frequently ask for a second go around!! Then the kid wants a tip! The housekeepers don't have a mop on their carts to do the bathroom so the "vacuum" the tile floor!

Beds are comfortable and clean. The manager tries to keep the property as safe as possible. Very well lit parking lot and halls. Motel is smoke free completely now! Love that! The pool is great but it opened late this year.

Wish that no pets were allowed! Can't stand animals or owners that don't leash! Wish they had efficiency units with stoves! Wish there was a courtyard with chairs that was enclosed and open all year round.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bear_671985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Look...there is no doubt that this is an ECONOMY hotel, but if that's what you need THIS IS YOUR PLACE....especially in this area. We had 3 adults. We looked at others nearby that started much higher and had a substantial charge for EACH of the two additional persons. This place charged $43 / night plus $3 each for our two additional (even cheaper, if you booked for a week! It's no frills, but clean rooms, freshly painted walls, TV, plenty of hot water, (WiFi available, but not free) and reasonably comfortable beds...not plush, but no back ache in the morning (and a bad bed will kill me in an overnight). Merrillville and Gary Indiana are rough places. We read one review of a different economy hotel that said it is the place to stay, if you don't mind having car raided and contents taken. Not so here. They are prepared for the area. Double security entrances. The only slight annoyance was that most every night, we had to have our room card rekeyed... They never said, but that may be an ADDITIONAL security measure!!! If you are staying a while, they even have microwaves and portable 'friges available. We had to be in the area for over a week. Couldn't have asked for better accommodations that didn't break the bank. Even PLENTY of ice in the ice machines.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wyatt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nappanee
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

not expecting fanfare or glitz, just a place to sleep for the night. i don't like paying $20-$40 more to get the same hours of sleep so i was glad to find this bargain. the room was clean, customer service was great, and i would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midnightrosefashions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Merrillville
Red Roof Inn - Merrillville
#10 of 21 in Merrillville
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30
0.6 mi away
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
#6 of 21 in Merrillville
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Merrillville
La Quinta Inn Merrillville
#15 of 21 in Merrillville
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Merrillville
Quality Inn Merrillville
#8 of 21 in Merrillville
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Merrillville

Property: Motel 6 Merrillville
Address: 8290 Louisiana St, I-65 at Exit #253-A, Merrillville, IN 46410-6354
Region: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Merrillville 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Merrillville is a smoke free property off I-65 conveniently located to dining, Southlake Mall, Deep River Waterpark, Lake County Fairgrounds, and Genesis Convention Center. Enjoy modern rooms with WiFi for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Merrillville
Merrillville Motel Six
Merrillville Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing