We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another great country inn & suites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Merrillville
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
GreenLeadersBronze level
benton
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“another great country inn & suites”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

My family and I checked into this motel and was very pleased with the staff, Sara who checked us in and out, the night clerk (i'm sorry I didn't get his name) when i asked for plates and forks was very pleasant about it and got them right away, the clerk who gave me extra towels was also very pleasant. When I called down because we didn't have a "do not disturb" sign the clerk (I didn't get her name either) brought one up to my room quickly. The room and bathroom was very clean. We had a very nice stay, we certainly will keep this one on our list when we go back to that area.

Room Tip: If you are able to get a room at the end of the hallway by the back door you will be able to come in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel1usa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Merrillville, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Dear Travel1USA3,

Thank you for taking the time to write a survey, we appreciate you choosing the Country Inn & Suites in Merrillville, IN. Sarah and Pravin were thrilled to be mentioned in the survey. We hope to have you stay as our guest during your future visits. Thank you again and have a wonderful a day.

Stay Awesome,

Vince Rizzo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    65
    46
    59
    75
See reviews for
157
46
18
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Whould recommend to all love this hotel great staff great warm feeling inside and nice clean amenities. Breakfast needs some work but was ok. Had fast check in with Sarah and speedy check out with Dan

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreabigmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Merrillville, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Dear dreabigmac,

Thank you for your review, we rely on you, our guests to let us know how er are doing and we love to see reviews like yours. We are looking forward to your next visit and we will be sure to thank Sarah and Dan for a job well done.

Stay Awesome,

Vince Rizzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We love Country Inns and this one was no different. After many hours on the road, we appreciated the comfort and cleanliness of our room. I love the Country Inn pillows; just wish they would sell them to guests!!!! Our room was clean and in good working order. The breakfast was great, as usual. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jomcc2535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Merrillville, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Thank you for positive comments about your experience with our hotel and we appreciate that you took the time to provide this feedback to us. We are glad that you chose to stay with us. I am happy that you enjoyed our pillows! Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Stay Awesome,

Vince Rizzo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Comfortable rooms with good wifi and a solid breakfast including make your own waffles. The pool and hot tub were nice and the exercise room small but acceptable. Close to the highway and to the mall...we stay here during family holidays and always enjoy it. The staff is friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: stay towards the back of the hotel to avoid interstate noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Merrillville, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your very kind words. We pride ourselves here on our customer service, and we are so happy our staff went above and beyond to make you feel at home. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Stay Awesome,

Vince Rizzo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Avoid this hotel!!!!!
Normally the country inn and suites are a great place to stay. Not this one. Ater checking inn and walking to our room we notices that the walls in this hotel were dirty. Dirty as in thingts spilled on them and not wiped down. Our room smelled. If I had not pricelined this room I would have left this hotel. I went to my car and took my airfreshener from it and put it in our room. The doors all had finger prints on them, or dirt marks or shampoo. I saw that this is a privatley owned country inn. At the rate it going it will be for sale soon.....sorry to say that it lacks management! Another couple called to make sure the whirlpool would be working when they got there. it was but with lukewarm wate. people where shivering in the hot tub. I understand there are problems from time to time. BUT PLEASE don't LIE......save your mone sleep in your car and be happy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vince R, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Merrillville, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
As the new General Manager of the Country Inn & Suites Merrillville I would like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write your review of our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your comments about the guestroom have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Stay Awesome,


Vince Rizzo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merrillville hotels

Oshkosh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Headin home to WI from Gatlinburg TN & called from south of Indianapolis to get a room & was very specific that we wanted to use the hot tub when we got to the hotel & asked what time the pool/hot tub closed. The person at the front desk informed us that it would be open until 10pm. Which according to the GPS would give us about an hour once we got there. Check in went well, we got to our room, quickly changed into our suits & got to the pool area only to be told by a gentleman sitting with only his feet in the water that the water was cold. A woman sitting in it was shivering & said she was getting out. The gentleman told us it was extremely low when he checked in & he notified the front desk person who said they would have to fill it while he went to dinner. My question, why hadn't someone noticed it was so low well before evening or before it got that low. It was below the filter when we went down there & the gentleman said it was a few inches below that level when he first saw it. Since I was specific about using the hot tub we should have been warned. We would have stayed somewhere else had we known.

After we shivered in the hot tub for less than 10 minutes & got back to our room my husband went to use the bathroom, lifted the seat & the lid fell right off, it isn't even attached to the toilet at all. Husband decided to make some coffee quick & the pot doesn't work unless you hold in the on button. Room seems clean so far & of course we will have to wait until morning to see how the breakfast "buffet" goes. Will report back about that & check out after the experience.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LindaKay040575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband and I arrived late at this hotel after a long drive. This hotel was to serve as a stopping point on our way to Chicago. Note to those not familiar with this area, the hotel can be difficult to locate late at night as it is in the middle of a complex of other hotels and businesses.

A strong smell of chlorine and screaming could be heard as soon as we entered the lobby. Apparently, a child's birthday pool party was being held. We were assigned a room on the first floor that was just a few doors down from the room the party was being held. With the door shut, we could still hear children screaming. Thankfully, the noise from the party stopped at around 10:30pm. Then, not sure if it was the same group or not, loud noises came from the room above us. Sounded like children jumping off the beds. The floor would shake. Considering we were just there for one night, I did not call the front desk because we did not want to have to move rooms. Noise stopped before midnight but started back up at 6am. Since this was just about thirty minutes before our alarm was set to go off, we just got up and checked out.

I know as guests we should have reported the issues. However, the front desk is set up in a position that they knew the noise from the downstairs party was loud. The walls being paper thin is not something that could have been resolved at that time of course.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Merrillville
Hampton Inn Merrillville
#2 of 21 in Merrillville
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Merrillville
Comfort Suites Merrillville
#9 of 21 in Merrillville
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Merrillville
Quality Inn Merrillville
#8 of 21 in Merrillville
26 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
#1 of 21 in Merrillville
620 reviews
0.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Merrillville

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Merrillville
Address: 8311 Ohio, Merrillville, IN 46410-6586
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Merrillville 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located right off of i-65 & us30. Fairly new cozy property with 62 units including rooms with 2 beds, Jacuzzis and extended stay suites. We offer beautiful indoor pool, workout facility, free breakfast, has Internet and 24 hours fresh cookies. We are under new management and assure you 100% satisfaction. We are a perfect location for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Merrillville
Merrillville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing