We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Merrillville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Merrillville
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Residence Inn Merrillville entire staff treated me with the courtesy and attention you expect from a fine hotel. The service and food was excellent and the atmosphere was friendly with all members of staff making me feel very welcome at all times. A special 'Thank you' to Becca, Sarah, Brent, Iris, & Loneia for your true professionalism and great conversation. Please share this note with your management.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynnette t, General Manager at Residence Inn Merrillville, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! Come and see us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    25
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
44
11
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great individuals at the front desk. Great spacious rooms with stove, fridge, micro and more. Good pool and hot tub. Nice having the hot breakfast. Kids loved the basketball hoop; grill worked great.

Have stayed at this property several years now, and will definitely come back when in town again.

A friend of mine wasn't able to check in because they lost his reservation (spelled name incorrectly). Since they were completely booked, he went to a neighboring Courtyard... problem could have been due to Marriott Call Center (not local Residence Inn) inputing his name incorrectly.

Room Tip: Get top floor so you don't hear stomping above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynnette t, General Manager at Residence Inn Merrillville, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This location is easily found off of the highway. Typical Residence Inn, but papers to have been updated recently. The lobby is new and inviting. The pool and hot tub are indoor and can get pretty loud if a lot of kids come in (like tonight!).

The front desk staff was very polite and helpful. Sarah (front desk) greeted us warmly and helped eagerly when we asked for additional sheets for the pull out bed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MocNJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynnette t, General Manager at Residence Inn Merrillville, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you stayed with us and were able to enjoy our hospitality. Thank you for the kind words about Sarah at the front desk. She takes great pride in making sure our guests are happy.

We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the Merrillville area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
174 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just like many others, I was upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite upon checkin....really appreciated that. Room was first floor and did hear some dogs barking around 7 pm but they stopped pretty quickly.

Room was spotless....really super clean. Each bedroom had a queen in it and one had a desk, which I guess made it the master? Pull out couch was fine, linens are in the closet as is the hairdryer. Could not get the temp to change from 67, so we asked for an extra blanket and turned on the fireplace in July.

Fitness room was great....2 very good treadmills, elliptical, weight bench with free weights, overlooking the pool, which is small but has a separate whirlpool. Wifi worked very well.

Breakfast was very good....fluffy scrambled eggs and hard boiled, turkey sausage, potato pancakes and a meat/potato/veggie hash, plus the usual waffle maker, bagels/muffins, cereals, oatmeal, yogurt. Fresh fruit chopped up plus whole fruit as well. Seating area is small but we found a spot at 8:30 on a Friday without a problem.

Location a bit weird...while right off the highway, you have to circle the entire Star Theater to get to it (unless you make a left at Chicago Pizza and go down the one-way road, or perhaps, cut through the theater parking lot, not that I saw anyone doing that.....)

Overall, a good stay.

Beds were comfy

Room Tip: Did hear folks moving around above me, so request a higher floor if that bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashley97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynnette t, General Manager at Residence Inn Merrillville, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for the great review on our hotel. We strive to make your stay with us a great experience and it sounds like you did. Thank you for taking advantage of the ammenities we have to offer and par take in a meal or two. Not everyone is able to do that, so it is nice to see people use them when they are able. Please come back and visit us again. We will be waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphysboro, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed here visiting family over Memorial Day weekend. It wasn't too packed for the holiday. Bed was comfy, sleeper couch was equally fine for the kiddos. Can be a bit smallish when it is extended though. Air handling did its job and the kitchen had the stuff we needed for "snacky dinner" preparation. The pool was smallish and closes early. Also, do know that Sunday is still dry in Indiana. Breakfast was decent, although there is not a TON of seating, so plan accordingly. You do need to take the "long way around" the theater to get to this location...but its not terrible.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynnette t, General Manager at Residence Inn Merrillville, responded to this review, 8 December 2014
Thank you very much for your 4 star rating! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the pool and breakfast! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed at the Residence Inn on business and the room was very spacious and clean. I only stayed 2 nights but it was well equipped for a longer stay. The Staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay again for business or personal.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 777Donna777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynnette t, General Manager at Residence Inn Merrillville, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you very much for your kinds words about the hotel and staff. We work hard to ensure our guests are happy and well taken care of when you visit us at the Residence Inn. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at this Inn on Sunday, March 9, 2014 for business meeting the next day. The room was beautiful and welcoming. The staff was polite and informative. I forgot to bring glasses and popcorn. The room was staffed with both to our surprise and delight.

The breakfast buffet was excellent and well stocked. What a great way to start the day!

The service and the room was outstanding! Thank you for your wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynnette t, General Manager at Residence Inn Merrillville, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Residence Inn and that we were able to meet your needs with the glasses and popcorn! Our breakfast is a great start to the day with so many options to choose from. I thank you for the 5 star rating and will share your review with my staff. They enjoy hearing feedback from our valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Merrillville
Hampton Inn Merrillville
#1 of 21 in Merrillville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
#3 of 21 in Merrillville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
#2 of 21 in Merrillville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites of Merrillville
0.4 mi away
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
#6 of 21 in Merrillville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Merrillville

Property: Residence Inn Merrillville
Address: 8018 Delaware Place, Merrillville, IN 46410
Region: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Merrillville 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly-Renovated! The Residence Inn Merrillville just completed a full renovation and redesign of all lobby and guest room space. This all-suite Merrillville hotel is located at the Intersection of I-65 and US 30 across from the popular Star Plaza Theater, 45 minutes outside of Chicago. Our newly-renovated guest rooms feature fully-equipped kitchens with stainless steel appliances, free WiFi, workstations with natural light and separate living and sleeping areas. Guests appreciate our daily complimentary hot breakfast buffet and evening social hour in lively Gatehouse – even get work done in our brand new lobby media pods with flat screen TV! Nearby businesses include NiSource, Arcelor-Mittal, US Steel, BP, and Direct Buy. Leisure travelers appreciate our proximity to the Indiana Dunes, Lighthouse Premium Outlets, Deep River Water Park and Indiana's casino boats. With an indoor pool, state-of-the-art fitness center and outdoor SportCourt, this Merrillville hotel offers you the value and convenience you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Residence Inn Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merrillville Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing