We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Don't Judge the Book by the Cover"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Merrillville
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“"Don't Judge the Book by the Cover"”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

If it were not for the LQ sign along the street, you might drive right past this establishment. The entrance is a circuitous journey through non-descript parking lots and demolished restaurant pads. And, the hotel has virtually no curb-appeal. The appearance is more reminiscent of a warehouse than a hotel. All of that said, once you get inside this inn is what you would expect from an economy hotel. In fact, the interior was fairly up-to-date and seemed well-maintained. Front desk staff was friendly, but otherwise unremarkable. And, as always, we appreciated that our dog was welcome without hassle or usurious charges.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BocephusSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    72
    66
    67
    59
See reviews for
133
61
33
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is a two story motel-type facility with inside corridors. Room was clean. Bed was comfortable. The window to the room opened, which is always a plus for me. Plenty of towels and OK amenities. The breakfast is pretty basic but OK: pastries, muffins, cereal, bananas, waffles, bad coffee, juices. Hard boiled eggs also. I was with a group and rented five rooms and did not see the problems mentioned in the other reviews. However the wifi simply would not work with any of our Apple products, despite a long phone call with the La Quinta techie who tried everything he knew how to do.

The location is convenient to I65 and every food franchise known to man, but it is a highway America wilderness where you can't go anywhere without a car. Almost all the nearby restaurants are franchise places. No charming walks here. Just a place to stop on a road trip, at a budget price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wguterbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was a last minute trip to the Chicago area during the holiday weekend to help my Mom who was hospitalized. The conditions at the hotel were filthy at best. There were dirty towels folded and hanging on the towel rack. The room and hallway weren't vacuumed. There was a half inch of dust on top of and on the front of the headboards. the drain reeked of mildew and there were dried urine stains on the toilet. Needless to say my child had an allergic reaction within minutes of us walking into this room. Which caused us to search for another hotel at midnight on Labor Day weekend! The management at this hotel need to fire themselves and start over. We checked out 90 minutes after arriving and received a full refund..thankfully! The staff was incredibly kind. One of the front desk clerks Julia actually came to clean our room. I am only giving this hotel the rating I have because the staff at the front desk were top notch. The rest of the staff/management need to take lessons from Jennifer and Julia.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJsAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merrillville hotels

Laguna Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Because they are pet friendly, we always use La Quinta's when we travel. This was way below and acceptable standard. The room was very poorly vacuumed and smelled awful. The furniture was banged up and in need of replacement.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancing d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkhart, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

The visit started out with some room switching. First room had a broken air-conditioner. They moved us across the hall only to find a unflushed used toilet and a book sitting on the shower ledge. The third room, next door, was acceptable. Even while in line at the front desk to get the rooms switched there was a guy switching rooms because his smelled of smoke. They were very nice at the front desk, but these are issues that should never get to the customer and should be avoided by some quality control by simply checking each room after cleaning. Even though the problems were quickly fixed, it makes you wonder what else that you cannot see is wrong with the room because of improper cleaning and shortcuts by the staff.

The rest of the stay was without issue. The hotel is old but has been recently renovated. Everything appeared clean, the HDTV was nice, and the place was quiet. It has a small exposed pool in the corner, but I never saw anyone using it. The breakfast was continental and had a couple waffle irons, but there was not a lot of places to sit and eat. I did get a good rate by using a discount web site, but I wouldn't suggest anyone paying full price. I wouldn't consider staying here again, mostly for the reasons in the first paragraph.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Now we stopped on the way to Erie PA and had room 106 wasn't very pretty. And the tub scared me but staff was excellent. Was impressed very nice to us. And my folks loved the breakfast. And beds were Cindy so was pillars. On the way back to weeks later we stayed again in room 120. Very very nice. Loved very nice pictures and very clean. Shower was warm and cool but I didn't care cause it felt good after driving 500 miles. And we love the fact they take my baby dog. We will stay here again. Hopefully in same room. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank bravadaofiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Merrillville
Red Roof Inn - Merrillville
#10 of 21 in Merrillville
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Merrillville
Quality Inn Merrillville
#8 of 21 in Merrillville
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Merrillville
Hampton Inn Merrillville
#2 of 21 in Merrillville
382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
#6 of 21 in Merrillville
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Merrillville

Property: La Quinta Inn Merrillville
Address: 8210 Louisiana St, Merrillville, IN 46410-6354
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Merrillville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Merrillville Hotel Merrillville
La Quinta Hotel Merrillville
Merrillville La Quinta
La Quinta Merrillville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing