We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient Location for Traveler - Tourists” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Harrison, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Convenient Location for Traveler - Tourists”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

This facility is just outside the busy part of the Chicago area for the tourists as well as travelers who need a place to stay. The facility is located conveniently near the US Interstate 65. Near this facility, there are shopping areas as well as several restaurants. This place is very clean and odor free although the facility is not a new building. The breakfast lay out has variety of cold breakfast items to steaming hot meals. The people are very friendly.

Room Tip: This facility has the rooms for the handicap customers and the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InSungOLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ffimerrgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    47
    33
    10
    5
See reviews for
47
26
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
109 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

I've been a Marriott member years and continue to stay at their hotels. You can't go wrong even if its an old hotel. The staff is always friendly and eager to accommodate ones needs. The rooms are clean and the King mattress bed was very comfortable and the bed came with 4 pillows. Best sleep I had traveling. I was very impressed with their breakfast which is included with their hotel amenities. Its a full breakfast with sausage, eggs, bagels, donuts, juice, cereal etc. The only draw back I found was, the location. Its difficult to find and its off the beaten path. I had to stop several times for directions. Never the less, I will continue to maintain my membership rewards points and stay at Marriott Hotels. One is never disappointed. Do give it a try. Their prices are great, especially in this town! Tip: I've used my American Express points to stay " free" at Marriott Hotels!

Room Tip: The desk clerk asked, which floor do I prefer. I suggested the first floor because its close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 73Elaine73409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marissa H, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Fairfield Inn and Suites! We take great pride in our service and we are so glad you noticed! Thank you and we will see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is a nice place to stay while in Northwest Indiana. We found the room to be clean and efficent. The bathroom is a bit small for counter space. It has a nice work out room, outdoor pool was closed due to weather. The breakfast is good enough standard breakfast food.
Would return when we are back in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyndi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ffimerrgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I confess to being a fan of Marriott hotels, as the staffs almost always seem to be at the top of their game. THIS property is a favorite of mine and I generally stay here four to six times a year as I pass through on my way to Northern Michigan. The staff is certainly knowledgeable, courteous, friendly, and helpful. They seem to go out of their way to make guests comfortable and use their common sense to do this, when necessary. (eg. allowing me to sit out at the pool after closing hours, so I might enjoy a cigar, even though the pool was officially 'closed') I have never been disappointed at this hotel... well, except for the time a couple of years ago when the hotel guests awoke to no hot water... not really even management's fault as they had repairs made to their water heating system, but the repairs failed AND no one paid for their rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldGrayNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ffimerrgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I was a last-minute reservation at the Fairfield Inn due to a prolonged business trip stay. Anytime I'm in that situation, I'm concerned about what will await me at the hotel, especially since I'm generally looking for a bargain as I'm only interested in a comfortable place to sleep. Fairfield Inn in Merrillville was a pleasant surprise. (1) The reservation was done correctly, the front desk clerk was pleasant, efficient and assured that my reward points were added to my account. (2) The room, always a concern at the last minute, was at the end of the hall near the stairwell. Yet it was quiet, roomy and very, very clean. The bed was comfortable (although I had to settle for a twin bed--the cost of last-minute reservations, I suppose). (3) The hotel is a bit aged with carpet that is a little worn, although very well kept. (4) Breakfast was okay. They advertised "best breakfast buffet in Merrillville"--something I would have to say is not the case. I've had better and, certainly, had much worse. Eggs were institutional, the sausage was decent and the remainder was okay. Perhaps the "most average breakfast buffet in Merrillville" may be a better description. It was good and filling--sufficient.

Overall, it is a good place for a road traveler to enjoy a pleasant evening, close to good restaurants. It is clean, quiet and well-maintained. A very good bargain as it is the least expensive of the mid-priced chain hotels in Merrillville.

Room Tip: End rooms--near the stairwell--are quiet. The stairwells seem to have little traffic. There are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ffimerrgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback and hope to see you back soon!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenton, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Last minute trip to Chicago on Labor Day weekend and not a hotel in sight. We would have taken anything. We totally lucked out not only to find a hotel but an excellent hotel. The entire staff was polite and helpful. Our room was a King Suite on the 3rd floor that I highly recommend. Great price, clean, clean, clean. Only complaint on the room was the sofa was a little firm for my taste. Thumbs up for a Flat Screen TV in each room of the suite.Great Free Breakfast complete with Biscuits and Gravy. Late check out at 12:00 is the norm. Highly recommend staying here if your in the area.

Room Tip: If freeway traffic bothers you ask for a room on the opposite end from the freeway. We stayed in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoelLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ffimerrgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thompsons Station, TN
Level Contributor
204 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here this past weekend while traveling north. The gentleman checking us in we very friendly and gave all the particulars of the hotel including info for the free breakfast the next a.m. The room was nice and appears to be recently remodeled. The free breakfast is an added plus. Although ours was a short stay it was a pleasant experience.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ffimerrgm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Merrillville
Hampton Inn Merrillville
#1 of 21 in Merrillville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
#2 of 21 in Merrillville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites of Merrillville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
#3 of 21 in Merrillville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Merrillville
Residence Inn Merrillville
#5 of 21 in Merrillville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Merrillville
Comfort Suites Merrillville
#7 of 21 in Merrillville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville
Address: 8275 Georgia Street, Merrillville, IN 46410-6226
Region: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly-renovated Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville is ideally located in the heart of Merrillville, IN at the southwest corner of I-65 and US-30. This premier location offers easy access to the area's top destinations including Star Plaza Theater, Indiana Dunes Lakeshore, and Westfield Mall, as well as the offices of NiSource, BP, and Cargill. Guests staying at this Merrillville hotel enjoy starting their day off right at the complimentary breakfast buffet, and unwind after a long day on the road in the pool. Guest rooms are highlighted by flat-screen HD TVs with premium cable, full-sized work desk, free WiFi, and select rooms with mini-fridges and microwaves. Stay at the Fairfield Inn Merrillville and enjoy the premier amenities and an ideal location that make this one of the top Merrillville, IN hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Merrillville
Fairfield Merrillville
Merrillville Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing