We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Terre Haute
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Very difficult to find this hotel. It sits off the road back behind several buildings and is hard to find at night. The mosquitos were extremely heavy and followed you into the hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable and made for a nice stay. No major complaints but nothing out of the ordinary either.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmbakerphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    61
    41
    12
    9
See reviews for
65
30
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This hotel was horrible if it wasn't for a family gathering here in the city I would have not stayed here. We stayed for 3 nights and 2 out of the 3 our rooms were not cleaned for that day. The staff asked did we leave signs on our doors "DO NOT DISTURB" and we told them we didn't and they wanted to compliment us with some towels just to shut us up. Please if you can help it do not stay here unless u want to clean your own rooms for a few days.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butterflies6324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merrillville hotels

Dayton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Staff was all very friendly. Very relaxing stay. Only negative comments would be that they didn't have flat screen TV's and the pullout sofa bed was very uncomfortable and so close to the wall when pulled out that it was hard to get to the bathroom. If you dont need the sofabed the room was nice. We had the the larger room with kingbed,( the kingbed was comfortable) microwave and refrigerator, which the standard rooms didn't have. The hot breakfast was also very nice, a nice change from the standard cold cereal, muffins and doughnuts! The property was very well kept with a relaxing pond and waterfall with benches to just sit and enjoy the scenery.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsteve1240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We stayed here because it's 45 minutes south of Chicago, but with free parking and a room rate the fraction of the big city. The pool was very nice, indoor/outdoor but too cold because of the extremely cold outdoor temperature that day.
The room was very clean and cozy. Staff at check-in and check-out were very friendly. Breakfast was good. VERY VERY comfortable bed for this price point.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luhrs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, il
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We reserved two rooms here for an overnight stay after seeing Elmo Live at the Star Plaza Theater. Check-in was quick and the lady at the front desk was very nice and informative. One thing we were not happy about was the damp carpet from a very recent cleaning. They did post warnings in our key slots but it was very hard to walk in the bathroom after walking on the damp carpet. My sister almost fell.The rooms were clean and sufficient for our needs overnight. Ours had a refrigerator but my sister's room did not although they were the same type. The only other bad part of our stay was not the hotel's fault. We had very noisy neighbors who slammed doors and was in and out of their rooms most of the night at loud! We did not eat breakfast here, so I cannot comment on that. Overall, we probably would stay again, but will check out other hotels in the area for comparison.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaniteyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

The rooms were nicely appointed and clean. The hotel staff was excellent. I was late to breakfast but the staff still accommodated me. Everyone was very nice. I would stay here again if I am doing business in the area.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svanwass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

This hotel is a little off of the beaten path but is certainly worth a look. Check in was quick and pleasant. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and quiet. I didn't try the indoor pool but it had an opening so you could swim to the outside. Breakfast had the traditional hot foods, scrambled eggs - bacon - sausage - potatoes - biscuits and gravy, as well as cereals and breads. They also served eggs to order if you wanted an omelet.

The only negatives were a squeaky bathroom fan and the room had only 2 cups of coffee in the room. One cup was regular and one decaf. If you have 2 people in the room toss a coin.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fab0720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Merrillville
Hampton Inn Merrillville
#2 of 21 in Merrillville
374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Merrillville
Quality Inn Merrillville
#9 of 21 in Merrillville
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
#1 of 21 in Merrillville
607 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Merrillville
Comfort Suites Merrillville
#8 of 21 in Merrillville
115 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Merrillville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn in Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn in Merrillville

Property: Clarion Inn in Merrillville
Address: 7850 Rhode Island St, Merrillville, IN 46410-5600
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn in Merrillville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn Merrillville offers unique lodge style accommodations in an ideal location just 35 minutes from the bustle of Chicago. Located just off I-65 at Exit 253, this hotel is the perfect place to stay while visiting the area's top attractions such as Star Plaza Theatre, Indiana Dunes, and Deep River Water Park. Business Travelers also appreciate the close proximity to the offices of BP, Ford, US Steel, and NiSource. This Clarion hotel offers unique amenities among Merrillville, IN hotels including an outdoor waterfall and pond, a heated indoor/outdoor pool, and free WiFi. Enjoy a delicious breakfast at the Courtyard Cafe, or get in a work out on the road at the fitness center. Guest Rooms are highlighted by flat-screen TVs with premium cable and a luxurious bedding package. With the Windy City just 40 miles away, this hotel is also convenient for a quick commute to Chicago where you can enjoy Millennium Park, Navy Pier, or Wrigley Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Inn in Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Merrillville Hotel Merrillville
Courtyard Merrillville
Merrillville Courtyard
Merrillville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing