We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value in Chicagoland Area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Inn in Merrillville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Value in Chicagoland Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Booked this via Priceline - and was impressed by the value.

Pros: Convenient location off of highway, near large mix of restaurants, and in a quaint little park. Friendly and accommodating staff went out of their way to help my daughter by providing a free carton of milk.

Cons: Beds were downright uncomfortable compared to most other Courtyards at which I've stayed.

Room Tip: Request room on first floor - lack of elevator makes getting in and out a pain
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jumpniner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    60
    38
    11
    9
See reviews for
58
29
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Decided to stay in this area for a weekend getaway, spending one day in Chicago and one day at the Dunes State Park. This hotel is convenient to multiple area attractions, one of its few redeeming qualities.
Got a deal on Priceline so I balk at being too critical, but there were some glaring deficiencies here that can't be overlooked, especially on a "supposed" 3 star property.
I'll start out with the positives first:
-convenient location as stated previously. Fairly quick access to interstate, restaurants, shopping, anything you may need during your stay.
-pool was clean and had a neat pass thru feature where you could swim both indoors and out. While the indoors portion was full of wild kids splashing, running, and jumping. I enjoyed the outdoor portion with my kids without being disturbed.
-nice park-like grounds
-ample well-lit parking
-bed was comfortable
-room was clean

and now the negatives:
- check in was smooth enough although the desk staff seemed put off that I had booked the room through Priceline on a bid. Gee, I think they'd be happy they have one less empty room.
- there is no elevator on the property. Discovered this after checking in and asking where the elevator was located. This could be a deal-breaker to anyone physically limited. I dont recall seeing anything about this when requesting the room, but I could be mistaken.
-The door to our room did not close correctly and had to be closed very hard to be able to lock. It was warped or broken and didnt sit correctly in the frame. Another case of the facility needing serious updates.
-hotel decor; other than the nice pool area, the carpeting, wallpaper, trim, is all outdated and in desperate need of an update.
-dinosaur t.v. with terrible reception that was grainy and full of lines. Looked like analog antenna reception, not even basic cable standard.
-limited quantity of towels for pool use were quickly snatched up and not restocked. Not good if you want to keep your carpets dry.
-there is one ice machine for the entire facility. Of course this was located on the opposite wing that we were staying on.
-while the breakfast buffet is pretty good, it is not kept fully stocked. Both mornings, there were hot items not available for the entire time we were there.

So as the basic needs a hotel should provide were met, the negatives quickly left us with a disappointed feeling. Had I paid full price for this place I would have been upset and probably complained. I have honestly stayed in more satisfying Motels. It truly mystifies me how this place could be rated 3 stars and has the hightest rating in Merrillville? That alone convinces me that I will pass through Merrillville and look elsewhere next time I need to stay in this area.

Room Tip: request the second floor, east wing if you dont want to walk forever to an ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDiamondOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oconnorjo, Manager at Clarion Inn in Merrillville, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
I appreciate your comments regarding the Courtyard Merrillville. Since your stay, we have changed management, replaced all TV in the guest rooms with new flat panel units, and upgraded the lobby. I hope you will return.

Regards,

John OConnor
Regional VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merrillville hotels

Terre Haute
Level Contributor
125 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Very difficult to find this hotel. It sits off the road back behind several buildings and is hard to find at night. The mosquitos were extremely heavy and followed you into the hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable and made for a nice stay. No major complaints but nothing out of the ordinary either.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmbakerphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

This hotel was horrible if it wasn't for a family gathering here in the city I would have not stayed here. We stayed for 3 nights and 2 out of the 3 our rooms were not cleaned for that day. The staff asked did we leave signs on our doors "DO NOT DISTURB" and we told them we didn't and they wanted to compliment us with some towels just to shut us up. Please if you can help it do not stay here unless u want to clean your own rooms for a few days.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank butterflies6324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Staff was all very friendly. Very relaxing stay. Only negative comments would be that they didn't have flat screen TV's and the pullout sofa bed was very uncomfortable and so close to the wall when pulled out that it was hard to get to the bathroom. If you dont need the sofabed the room was nice. We had the the larger room with kingbed,( the kingbed was comfortable) microwave and refrigerator, which the standard rooms didn't have. The hot breakfast was also very nice, a nice change from the standard cold cereal, muffins and doughnuts! The property was very well kept with a relaxing pond and waterfall with benches to just sit and enjoy the scenery.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsteve1240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

We stayed here because it's 45 minutes south of Chicago, but with free parking and a room rate the fraction of the big city. The pool was very nice, indoor/outdoor but too cold because of the extremely cold outdoor temperature that day.
The room was very clean and cozy. Staff at check-in and check-out were very friendly. Breakfast was good. VERY VERY comfortable bed for this price point.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luhrs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, il
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

We reserved two rooms here for an overnight stay after seeing Elmo Live at the Star Plaza Theater. Check-in was quick and the lady at the front desk was very nice and informative. One thing we were not happy about was the damp carpet from a very recent cleaning. They did post warnings in our key slots but it was very hard to walk in the bathroom after walking on the damp carpet. My sister almost fell.The rooms were clean and sufficient for our needs overnight. Ours had a refrigerator but my sister's room did not although they were the same type. The only other bad part of our stay was not the hotel's fault. We had very noisy neighbors who slammed doors and was in and out of their rooms most of the night at loud! We did not eat breakfast here, so I cannot comment on that. Overall, we probably would stay again, but will check out other hotels in the area for comparison.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaniteyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Merrillville
Hampton Inn Merrillville
#1 of 21 in Merrillville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
#2 of 21 in Merrillville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites of Merrillville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Merrillville
Comfort Suites Merrillville
#7 of 21 in Merrillville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
#3 of 21 in Merrillville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn in Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn in Merrillville

Property: Clarion Inn in Merrillville
Address: 7850 Rhode Island St, Merrillville, IN 46410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn in Merrillville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn Merrillville offers unique lodge style accommodations in an ideal location just 35 minutes from the bustle of Chicago. Located just off I-65 at Exit 253, this hotel is the perfect place to stay while visiting the area's top attractions such as Star Plaza Theatre, Indiana Dunes, and Deep River Water Park. Business Travelers also appreciate the close proximity to the offices of BP, Ford, US Steel, and NiSource. This Clarion hotel offers unique amenities among Merrillville, IN hotels including an outdoor waterfall and pond, a heated indoor/outdoor pool, and free WiFi. Enjoy a delicious breakfast at the Courtyard Cafe, or get in a work out on the road at the fitness center. Guest Rooms are highlighted by flat-screen TVs with premium cable and a luxurious bedding package. With the Windy City just 40 miles away, this hotel is also convenient for a quick commute to Chicago where you can enjoy Millennium Park, Navy Pier, or Wrigley Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Clarion Inn in Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Merrillville Hotel Merrillville
Courtyard Merrillville
Merrillville Marriott
Merrillville Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing