We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Helpful”
Review of Al & Sally's Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Michigan City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Al & Sally's Motel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super Helpful”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Al and Sally's is an old style drive up motor hotel with refurbished clean and comfortable rooms for a bargain price. We were pleased. However, what was really extraordinary was how the owners went out of their way to accommodate our two bicycles and to send me a favorite pair of boots that I left behind. If you want a good night's sleep and charming hosts, please put Al and Sally's on your radar.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Haysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    18
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Soldotna, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Very clean room, obviously recently remodeled, comfy bed. Everything you might need - flat panel TV with cable, refrigerator, coffee maker. The couple managing the motel were friendly and attentive to our needs and questions. And about $50 for the night - what a deal!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

After reading the reviews on trip advisor, I decided to try this motel. There are 6 in my family and luckily this motel had a room to fit all of us (2 queen beds and 2 twin). It beat paying for 2 separate rooms at any other hotel. The motel has a outdoor pool and swingset. The room was nice and comfortable. Bathroom appeared to be newly renovated. Woman at the front desk was extremely nice. Check in/out was quick and painless. The motel is located centrally to the dunes, shopping, and eating. Room comes with refrigerator and coffee pot. There is a commuter train that passes behind property but it is quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilovetoread2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We always stop in Michigan City on our way from St. Louis to Pentwater, MI and spend a day at the Lighthouse Mall. Al and Sally's Motel is perfectly situated for an overnight or longer. It is family owned by a young couple who are totally committed to maintaining the property at highest standards. The rooms are very clean,the bathroom is modern and recently redone,The rooms are a good size and the WIFI was good. the parking area accommodates our car with trailer and it is easy to get to and close to Michigan city. It is on highway 12 which is relatively quite and the property is quite nice with abundant flowers etc. The price is right and we have stayed here for many years.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJKStLouisMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omaha, ne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Clean and everything you need if checking out the Lake Michigan beaches. We liked Indiana Dunes State Park which has the dunes and short hiking trails to the beach. But it looks like other beach access nearby.

Al and Sally's is dated but clean and good value with the swimming pool - refrigerators in room to store the blueberries and other items from the numerous orchards nearby . . .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeOmaha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

This motel is such a great value. Minutes from MI City and Dunes. Our room was completely remodeled and sparkling clean. No frills, but perfect if you want a simple room and shower for the night. Well worth the $50!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Redheadonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JACKSONVILLE
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This is a very dated hotel, but it was still nice and the owners take care of it. There is a little playground, pool and tennis court behind the hotel too. A train does go through several times a night, but it's a commuter train, so it was very quite. We were well pleased.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Camper465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Michigan City hotels
3.6 mi away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#4 of 16 in Michigan City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 16 in Michigan City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al & Sally's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al & Sally's Motel

Property: Al & Sally's Motel
Address: 3221 W Dunes Hwy, Michigan City, IN 46360-6711
Region: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al & Sally's Motel Inc. Is privately owned and operated.The property is located in Michigan City IN. Town of Pines.Located in the Hart of Indiana Dunes State Park, just minutes from Lake Michigan, Light House Premium Outlet Mall, Washington Park Zoo and Marina.We offer variety of rooms, outdoor swimming pool ( seasonal ), barbeque and picnic areas, tennis court, kids play ground ( swing set ). In room amenities : Comcast TV service with free HBO,free WiFi ( where available ), mini fridge with freezer, coffee maker, bathroom with tub and shower or shower only.Summer: window A/C.Winter: radiant heat system.PRICES MAY VERY.We would like to Thank Our Costumers for taking Their time and posting reviews for Al & Sally's Motel Inc.We appreciate Your business,Thank You. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing