We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice time viewing the lake and light house”
Review of Washington Park

Washington Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fairborn, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Nice time viewing the lake and light house”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We visited this park in order to see Lake Michigan and walk to the lighthouse. It cost $7.00 to park your vehicle there.

We had a very nice day watching the boats enter and leave the marina. The view of Lake Michigan was excellent and benches were plentiful. Access to the lighthouse was excellent; a wide "side walk" pier to lighthouse was excellent. Although at first I was not pleased to be charged a parking fee to enter this area but after visiting I did not mind the fee, it was well worth the cost.

Anyone visiting Michigan City Indiana must visit this location, highly recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Alanc125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    95
    18
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LaPorte,IN
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice beach and park and a lighthouse too!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We live in laporte county and love coming here. Now that the weather is getting nice we can renew our nightly walks to the lighthouse. There is a nice wide concrete walkway to the lighthouse and it is a great spot to fish also. we love to bring chairs and watch the boats come into the breakwater as the sun is going down.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TeresaM1696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan City, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great family park”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Washington Park has a nice beach and the walk out to the Lighthouse is beautiful. It also has plenty of space to bring a picnic for the family plus walking distance to the zoo and the splash park. A nice inexpensive day at the beach and park.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan City, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Local Zoo”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is a great small zoo. They keep it up well and have special attractions from time to time. It is good for small kids because it is not too large.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BEETOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Love this beach and have been coming for years. We live in the suburbs of Chicago and we always come to this beach. Nominal ($7) fee to park in the summer. You park and the beach is right there. No steps/stairs involved. The beach is clean, the water beautiful and the skyline in the evening is gorgeous. One problem I have is the restroom facilities: small, dank, and damp. They need to be updated with chaging rooms as all the stalls are restroom stalls. This makes it very hard to change. Also, they tend to be locked after Labor Day even when the weather is still nice and people are using the beach. They need to stay open. The other suggestion would be to install one of the handicapped walkways that so many Michigan beaches have. They are metal walkways and makes it so much easier for people with disabilities to make it down to the waterfront.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Washington Park also viewed

 

Been to Washington Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing