We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst beds ever.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bridge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Michigan City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bridge Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst beds ever.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We read all the other reviews and thought this place would be cool! It would be, except for the pathetic excuse for a bed. We felt the springs through the thin padding. Our hips were bruised in the morning. Whats the most basic thing you ask of a hotel, but a good nights sleep. Well forget that here. The bed was so bad, we could only laugh at the itty bitty TV and gravel parking lot. For a few bucks less we should have stayed at the Blue Chip. Sorry, but we can not recommend this place at all, unless they replace the beds. Oh, and front desk? there's none here, call the guy on his cell phone. Kinda weird, too.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelS1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete F, Manager at The Bridge Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2015
Bridge Inn has replaced any old mattress, such as the one this guest rightly complained about, with a new premium mattress and foundation. Ours is a property for beach going and recreational guests. The parking lot is gravel and asphalt, not fitting that one would find at a chain hotel off the freeway, but more like you would find in Jamaica. As for my cell phone, I wish this guest would had called it so that I could have offered them another room with a more comfortable mattress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    8
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
18
27
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We've stayed at this place at least once per year for the last 5 years and it's always top notch. Awesome location, awesome rooms, great value, great restaurant. We always stop over at the restaurant for dinner and drinks and it never disappoints. We headed across the bridge to the Blue Chip this time and had a blast. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone traveling to Michigan City.

Room Tip: The pull out couch beds aren't very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elilewandowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I wrote a review about this hotel a few months ago and have stayed there probably 5 or 6 times in the 3 months since. (Traveling for work) This place easily has the cleanest rooms of any Michigan City hotel. The rooms have real bathrooms and separate suites similar to the Embassy Suites style rooms.

The last time I wrote my review they were just getting their patio and outdoor ready for the summer season and I thought that was cool. Now it is awesome. The boats are in the water and the bar and restaurant are rolling. This place sits right on the river with some cool boat traffic cruising past.

The owners keep expanding and developing the property which is cool too. They were putting in new curbs or sidewalks or something this trip. Great place.

Room Tip: Room 8 is the best room but I have stayed in most of them and they all rule.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wal-Dawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Had a group gathering to celebrate my daughter's 40th b'day. She found this place on a previous gambling wk-end at the Blue Chip Casino. There was a great beach nearby (we walked there, then to outlet mall and then shoreline brewery for dinner-great IPA's)! Back to bridge inn, then a night of gambling and multigenerational dancing. When we returned from casino, the bridge bar was still hoppin'. Registration is
different-call to register and get a code to open room door. The best room for a group is 2nd floor overlooking water (don't know number). Hate to share the secret for such a cool place. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

The Bridge Inn was the perfect location for my stay in Michigan City IN. If you're looking for a room with a view. Room #4 has a deck overlooking the marina on the canal. There is also a railroad bridge the blows a siren and then moves into position so the AMTRK can pass by. Neither the bridge nor the train were that disturbing. Fun to watch. The staff is attentive and the rooms were clean. We stayed four nights and it was far better than being stuck on the freeway in some franchise hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PepperMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

I loved this place when I stayed here a few weeks ago but did not write a review because I didn't want anybody to know about the stash spot. :) But that is not fair at all. It really is a cool place that is much more convenient and less smokey than the casino. Owner is a solid dude. He treated me like a king and even came down to check out one of my projects I was working on.

Room Tip: Room 8 is the mack daddy with one awesome private deck but every room has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wal-Dawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

I really like this place. It's not your usual box with a bed. It's in the old Pioneer lumber pier area and has a unique flair of it's on. The rooms are all very nice.
Yes it's next to the railroad tracks and next to a turnstile rail bridge. And the noise of the trains and warning horns may bother some, But I did not find that a problem. A wonderful unique place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thekauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Michigan City hotels
0.4 mi away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#4 of 16 in Michigan City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
3.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Michigan City
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 16 in Michigan City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Inn

Property: The Bridge Inn
Address: 508 E 2nd St, Michigan City, IN 46360-3212
Region: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Michigan City
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing