We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Michigan City
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Battle Creek, Michigan, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dirty room”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Smelly room and filthy bath tab - had to use my flip flops taking a shower. Was not worth the $117
I've paid per night. The room was non smoking and smelled like it was a smoking room. The bath was dirty with black stains and toilet smelled bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahuva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BARonzone, Manager at Red Roof Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review. We are very sorry that your experience was less than you expected.

Feedback from our guests is always welcome. Being able to provide our guest with a non-smoking facility has become a big priority as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services and product. Please know that we make guest satisfaction our number one priority and that we appreciate your feedback and look at it as an opportunity to improve.

Thank you for your business,
M. Ward
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    36
    34
    28
    23
See reviews for
39
44
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

a rather tired red roof,,, some exterior construction in the works...... but still a tired old Red Roof. For the $, is OK,,, oh, you wanted a ground floor,,,,, that's an extra 10 dollars...... Went back down, asked where the fridge is hidden in the room... Oh, you wanted a fridge Sir,,, that's an extra 10 dollars...... oh well, watching the hookers get visited next door was mildly entertaining...

Room Tip: try the casino down the road ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaughn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BARonzone, Manager at Red Roof Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review.

Please know that feedback from our guests is always appreciated as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our property and services. Please accept my sincere apology if you were inconvenienced in any way.

We hope that you will give us another try in the future.

Thank you for your business,
M. Ward
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Michigan City hotels

Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just arrived from overseas. We needed a cheap hotel for a couple nights until we could move into the cabin we booked. Red Roof was okay - it was clean, and near restaurants. We were on the ground floor and so we had to keep the curtains closed also during the day. There were just thick black-out curtains, and it would have been nice to have thinner curtains to get some sunlight in. Otherwise, was a fine room for the price in that area. Internet service was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Manager at Red Roof Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our services that we were able to provide for you. I will make sure to share your comments with our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome.

It is truly a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matteson, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This was my first stay at red roof. I was delighted at how helpful and friendly all the employees were, especially Jessica. We needed help getting around in the area, Jessica did not hesitate to recommend a place to eat and shop. Our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The water in the shower was hot and the towels, face cloths. and bedding was clean. I will not hesitate to stay at red roof when I visit again this summer. I would like to personally thank Jessica at property 007 in Michigan City, Indiana, she was very kind and handled everything in a professional manner, she made our weekend exceptionally delightful. "THANK YOU JESSICA"

Room Tip: Don't choose a room near the ice maker, vending machine, near the laundry room, or stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesus36336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Manager at Red Roof Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review.

I am so pleased that Jessica was able to provide excellent customer service for you. At Red Roof Inn, we strive daily to delight each guest that stays with us, and it seems Jessica did a wonderful job. I will make sure to share your comments. Feedback from our guests is always welcome.

It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Iowa, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We knew not to expect to much for the price, but were a little scared because of the other customers we encountered while checking onto our room and throughout our stay. Guests throwing pop rocks at the ground as we walked by their open room and were sitting in the parking lot with their cat and their room was overflowing with trash. No extra blankets were available. The carpet was stained, bathroom floor was dirty, and the ice from the ice machine was visibly dirty. The next door apartments had multiple cop cars show up at once. It was walking distance from a Texas Corral restaurant, which was the only perk. Sad to say, not even worth the price.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for second floor if you stay here! But there was a super 8 right next door that looke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0B0B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Manager at Red Roof Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review. We are very sorry that your experience was less than you expected.

Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services and product. Please know that we make guest satisfaction our number one priority and that we appreciate your feedback and look at it as an opportunity to improve.

Thank you for your business and we hope you will give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahway, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We went to the red roof inn. Our family stayed for 3 days. We had a good time on the trip besides the room mix up in the beginning. After that everything went well and we enjoyed our stay in Red Roof like we always do.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jared_breck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Manager at Red Roof Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the hospitality of our staff.

I will make sure to share your comments with of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome.

It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest and we hope to see you again wherever your future travel plans may take you.

Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Lawn, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I would like to commend Tearm member Jessica at property name 007, Michigan City, IN. Jessica's expertise is customer service was outstanding. She assisted me with quality customer service, by finding out what my needs were, and accommodated me throughout the in-processing and existing process with courtesy, diplomacy, and a delightful personality. Jessica made my stay at your facility very enjoyable and delightful. I would recommend that she provide services to others that I would refer to your facility. I thank you for her services.

Sincerely,

Barbara J. Buckner

Room Tip: Book early during holiday seasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Manager at Red Roof Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the hospitality of our staff.

I will make sure to share your comments with our team and with Jessica. Jessica has been a wonderful employee and I am sure she will appreciate your comments. Feedback from our guests is always welcome.

It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest and we hope to see you again in the future.

Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Michigan City hotels
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Michigan City
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 16 in Michigan City
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
3.7 mi away
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
#4 of 16 in Michigan City
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Michigan City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Michigan City

Property: Red Roof Inn Michigan City
Address: 110 W Kieffer Rd, Michigan City, IN 46360-9276
Region: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Michigan City 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For shopping, gaming, or just enjoying the beautiful beaches, come to Michigan City. Lighthouse Place Outlet Mall, Blue Chip Casino, and Washington Park Beach are all within 5 miles of this hotel, while unique Indiana State Dunes are just 10 miles away. The excitement of Notre Dame University is 40 miles away, so come and enjoy. This Non-Smoking, Newly Renovated Red Roof Inn offers free WiFi and complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. Selected rooms at this Red Roof offer a microwave and refrigerator - a nominal fee may apply, please inquire. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Michigan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Michigan City Hotel Michigan City
Michigan City Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing