We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Michigan City
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed there only a few weeks ago. Will NEVER come back there again. Old, smelly joint, that hasn't been remodeled since the beginning of times, which ricks of tobacco and urine. Horrible house keeping and front desk services. No hot water!
Avoid it like a plague.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FeelGood2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Manager at Red Roof Inn Michigan City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review. We are very sorry that your experience was less than you expected.

Feedback from our guests is always welcome. Being able to provide our guest with a non-smoking facility has become a big priority as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services and product. Please know that we make guest satisfaction our number one priority and that we appreciate your feedback and look at it as an opportunity to improve.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we do hope to see you again in the future.
Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Fantastic price, friendly staff and its pet friendly. I just wish it would update into the 21 century. But plently of oulets to charge all my electronic thats a plus. Considering its pet friendly its now my go to hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arch c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Manager at Red Roof Inn Michigan City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our pet-friendly services that we were able to provide for you. I will make sure to share your comments with our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome and greatly appreciated.

It is truly a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I am currently still here, and I could not be happier. Everyone is very friendly, and they really go out of their way to make things right. We chose this hotel because it's pet friendly, and also because the weekly rates are reasonable. We plan to stay here for the next 2 or 3 months and I really appreciate that the staff works with me on things like, not needing them in here everyday, so that we can have that "homey" feeling, since this inn is acting as our home. I asked that they only change the sheets every other day, and they respected that. I would tell anyone to stay here. Very nice staff makes us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Manager at Red Roof Inn Michigan City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you are enjoying your stay and the hospitality of our staff.

I will make sure to share your comments with of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome and greatly appreciated.

It is truly a pleasure having you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stopped here for the night on our 1400 mile move, and we only chose it because it was pet friendly. Arriving after dark and not being familiar with the area, it was difficult to tell where the hotel was because the sign on the roadside isn't lit up. There was quite a bit of parking, which helped with our moving truck.

The second we walked into the room, we realized it wasn't an updated Red Roof Inn. The room reeked of cigarette smoke even though the hotel claims to be smoke-free. It was also freezing with the air on high, so we turned it off while we settled in. Not soon after, the room, but mainly the bathroom, smelled as if someone was currently smoking in it. With my allergies and asthma, I was super disgusted and probably would have requested a different room if we didn't have the cat with us. I closed the bathroom door because that seemed to be where the smell was coming from. Well, it's hard to use the bathroom when it smells like someone is smoking on you, so I turned the fan on and closed the door. That seemed to help ventilate the room better, and it also appeared to be why the air is left on high - a hope to cover up the horrendous smell.

Overall, the room was dated and nothing special. The staff was friendly and helpful, for the most part. I wouldn't stay here again with how strong the smoke smell was, though. From the other reviews, it does seem that it's not just one room that reeks of smoke either and something the hotel should look at eliminating because not everyone enjoys smelling cigarette smoke constantly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BARonzone, Manager at Red Roof Inn Michigan City, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review. We are very sorry that your experience was less than you expected.

Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services and product. Please know that we make guest satisfaction our number one priority and that we appreciate your feedback and look at it as an opportunity to improve.

Thank you for your business,
M Ward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Our chief complaint with this room was that they advertised non smoking rooms, they made you sign on a dotted line that you would not smoke in their non smoking room or face a $200 fine and there were signs in the room reminding you that it was non smoking. There was such a strong smoke smell that we had to leave the door open to air it out and turn on the air to get a different smell than smoke. It was terrible. When we complained they said they were not aware of it but did not have us convinced. They also charged you for the room safe even though we did not need it, asked for them to remove it from our bill and still it was there. They did refund me the cost though so check your bill carefully. We were only there for one night and for that purpose it was fine. The room was dated but beds were comfortable and the shower was fine. Would probably try another hotel next time were in the area. Tip - get Travel Saver coupons from the lobby at the Denny's near the hotel and save @$20.

Room Tip: If you want non smoking - check the room first to make sure that is what you will be getting. Trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank springbreakers241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BARonzone, Manager at Red Roof Inn Michigan City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review. We are very sorry that your experience was less than you expected.

Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services and product. Please know that we make guest satisfaction our number one priority and that we appreciate your feedback and look at it as an opportunity to improve.

Thank you for your business,
M. Ward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I have stayed at many Red Roof Inns around the US and must say, this is one of the best. The desk managers are very friendly and always make sure everything is just right. The wifi was a bit slow, but I imagine they will have that fixed by the next time I stay.

Room Tip: I am always able to get a lower level room, as I now have difficulty getting up stairs at times. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BARonzone, Manager at Red Roof Inn Michigan City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the hospitality of our staff.

I will make sure to share your comments with of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome.

It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest.
M. Ward
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

The night clerk checked us in quickly. The room was quiet and comfortable. The bathroom was clean except for the USED towel behind the door. The decor is a little dated. Overall a basic room for a good price.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrgenterprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BARonzone, Manager at Red Roof Inn Michigan City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the service that our staff was able to provide for you. I will make sure to share your comments with our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome.

It is truly a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Thank you for you business,
M. Ward
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Michigan City hotels
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Michigan City
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 16 in Michigan City
95 reviews
3.6 mi away
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
#3 of 16 in Michigan City
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Michigan City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Michigan City

Address: 110 W Kieffer Rd, Michigan City, IN 46360-9276
Region: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Price Range: £41 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Michigan City 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For shopping, gaming, or just enjoying the beautiful beaches, come to Michigan City. Lighthouse Place Outlet Mall, Blue Chip Casino, and Washington Park Beach are all within 5 miles of this hotel, while unique Indiana State Dunes are just 10 miles away. The excitement of Notre Dame University is 40 miles away, so come and enjoy. This Non-Smoking, Newly Renovated Red Roof Inn offers free WiFi and complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. Selected rooms at this Red Roof offer a microwave and refrigerator - a nominal fee may apply, please inquire. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Michigan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Michigan City Hotel Michigan City
Michigan City Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing