We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anyone there?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Michigan City
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anyone there?”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed there. Walked in to eat some dinner. Sat down at the laptop table closest to bathroom there is nothing but cat hair on the table. All Over the sheets. Then we walk into the bathroom there is cat liter EVERYWHERE!! Then we go to turn the heat on and it isnt even working. I find it poorly cleaned and bad service.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Manager at Red Roof Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Ashley H,
I apologize for your experience at our inn. Not only is our goal to provide a nice place for a nice price to all our guests but we strive to achieve a level of safety and cleanliness that exceeds all of our guest’s expectations. We strive to meet all of our guests needs and I feel terrible that we did not leave you with a better overall experience that we hope for. We would love for the chance to show you a great experience the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    36
    34
    29
    23
See reviews for
39
44
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Like in my previous review its pet friendly. Thank you Red Roof Inn for keeping it dog friendly!
But, unfortunately some dog owers are just lazy, stubborn or idiotic. Pick up your Dog Poo!
Any who...Affordable rates, lovely lady at the front desk, just cant seem to recall her name, quiet area close to everything you need store/restaurant wise.
I'll be staying here more in the coming months.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank arch c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Manager at Red Roof Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the hospitality of our staff.

I will make sure to share your comments with of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as well as pets.

It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest. We will look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmaus
Level 6 Contributor
610 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here a few years ago and it was fine. This year the bed was very hard and lumpy, and there was no fridge even though the room was reserved way in advance. The general impression of the desk clerk's attitude was "so what".

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bern666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Manager at Red Roof Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review. We are very sorry that your experience was less than you expected. Please accept our sincerest apologizes.

Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services and product. Please know that we make guest satisfaction our number one priority and that we appreciate your feedback and look at it as an opportunity to improve.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest again and we hope that you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Michigan City hotels

Mundelein, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed there only a few weeks ago. Will NEVER come back there again. Old, smelly joint, that hasn't been remodeled since the beginning of times, which ricks of tobacco and urine. Horrible house keeping and front desk services. No hot water!
Avoid it like a plague.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeelGood2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Manager at Red Roof Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review. We are very sorry that your experience was less than you expected.

Feedback from our guests is always welcome. Being able to provide our guest with a non-smoking facility has become a big priority as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services and product. Please know that we make guest satisfaction our number one priority and that we appreciate your feedback and look at it as an opportunity to improve.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we do hope to see you again in the future.
Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Fantastic price, friendly staff and its pet friendly. I just wish it would update into the 21 century. But plently of oulets to charge all my electronic thats a plus. Considering its pet friendly its now my go to hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arch c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Manager at Red Roof Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our pet-friendly services that we were able to provide for you. I will make sure to share your comments with our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome and greatly appreciated.

It is truly a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyalusing, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I am currently still here, and I could not be happier. Everyone is very friendly, and they really go out of their way to make things right. We chose this hotel because it's pet friendly, and also because the weekly rates are reasonable. We plan to stay here for the next 2 or 3 months and I really appreciate that the staff works with me on things like, not needing them in here everyday, so that we can have that "homey" feeling, since this inn is acting as our home. I asked that they only change the sheets every other day, and they respected that. I would tell anyone to stay here. Very nice staff makes us feel welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Manager at Red Roof Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you are enjoying your stay and the hospitality of our staff.

I will make sure to share your comments with of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome and greatly appreciated.

It is truly a pleasure having you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stopped here for the night on our 1400 mile move, and we only chose it because it was pet friendly. Arriving after dark and not being familiar with the area, it was difficult to tell where the hotel was because the sign on the roadside isn't lit up. There was quite a bit of parking, which helped with our moving truck.

The second we walked into the room, we realized it wasn't an updated Red Roof Inn. The room reeked of cigarette smoke even though the hotel claims to be smoke-free. It was also freezing with the air on high, so we turned it off while we settled in. Not soon after, the room, but mainly the bathroom, smelled as if someone was currently smoking in it. With my allergies and asthma, I was super disgusted and probably would have requested a different room if we didn't have the cat with us. I closed the bathroom door because that seemed to be where the smell was coming from. Well, it's hard to use the bathroom when it smells like someone is smoking on you, so I turned the fan on and closed the door. That seemed to help ventilate the room better, and it also appeared to be why the air is left on high - a hope to cover up the horrendous smell.

Overall, the room was dated and nothing special. The staff was friendly and helpful, for the most part. I wouldn't stay here again with how strong the smoke smell was, though. From the other reviews, it does seem that it's not just one room that reeks of smoke either and something the hotel should look at eliminating because not everyone enjoys smelling cigarette smoke constantly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BARonzone, Manager at Red Roof Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review. We are very sorry that your experience was less than you expected.

Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services and product. Please know that we make guest satisfaction our number one priority and that we appreciate your feedback and look at it as an opportunity to improve.

Thank you for your business,
M Ward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Michigan City hotels
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Michigan City
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 16 in Michigan City
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
3.7 mi away
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
#4 of 16 in Michigan City
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Michigan City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Michigan City

Property: Red Roof Inn Michigan City
Address: 110 W Kieffer Rd, Michigan City, IN 46360-9276
Region: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Michigan City 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For shopping, gaming, or just enjoying the beautiful beaches, come to Michigan City. Lighthouse Place Outlet Mall, Blue Chip Casino, and Washington Park Beach are all within 5 miles of this hotel, while unique Indiana State Dunes are just 10 miles away. The excitement of Notre Dame University is 40 miles away, so come and enjoy. This Non-Smoking, Newly Renovated Red Roof Inn offers free WiFi and complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. Selected rooms at this Red Roof offer a microwave and refrigerator - a nominal fee may apply, please inquire. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Michigan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Michigan City Hotel Michigan City
Michigan City Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing