We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great one night stay”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here on our way to Chicago and the hot tub and fitness center were way too hot but everything else was perfect!!!!!!! This was a nice hotel I just wish more restaurants were closer to it!!!! Awesome stay!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    201
    115
    80
    53
See reviews for
99
282
33
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jenison, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed in the blue spa tower(the newer tower) and it was nicer than some of the hotels I have stayed at in Las Vegas. It is completely modern and feels brand new! I will be staying there quite a bit in the future. I ate at The Game twice and both meals were delicious. I also ate the sunday brunch at the buffet and it was not as good. I have defintetly had much better breakfast buffets. If you want snacks for your room you will have to drive to a local gas station to get them as the little gift shop in the casino has a tiny selection(if you can call the small $0.25 bag of chips a selection.) The hotel room itself though was great and the casino host is pretty generious about comping rooms. (or maybe I just gamble too much, idk)

Room Tip: Blue Spa Tower rooms are much nicer and newer than Blue Chip Tower rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank degen97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We arrived and were assigned to a room -- Solara King -- that was supposed to have a view of Lake Michigan -- we got a view of the parking lot and garage. Our room -- on my usual side of the bed -- did not have a plug for my CPAP. The solution from the staff was to learn to sleep on the other side of the bed or drape an industrial extension cord. I spoke with Jack -- the hotel supervisor -- who displayed zero interest in trying to correct these issues. I suggested a room change to no avail. When I told him that we were considering leaving, he said fine, just drop the key cards off at the front desk.

We left and went to St. Louis where we had an absolutely terrific experience at Hotel Lumiere. If you have a choice, then chose anyplace else.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else. I recomend Hotel Lumiere in St. Louis!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cincylawyer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Boyd Gaming Customer Service at Blue Chip Casino and Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to Blue Chip. As Director of Hotel Operations I was very disappointed to read about the condition of your room and the lack of service/empathy given to you by our Front Desk Management team. I would welcome an opportunity to discuss the events in more detail. Feel free to contact me so we may discuss this matter further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Michigan City hotels

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We did not stay in the Spa tower we stayed in the older part of the hotel the blue chip tower. When we got to our room we checked the bed and found a stain on the blanket. They did come to change it. Also, our room had a smell and was not very clean. The pool area was ok when we went down the first time. But, the second time we went down it was dirty and had towels all over and had something floating in one of the hot tubs. The Casino was small and smelled like smoke and the slot machines were not paying out. The food at Vegas baby was just ok for the price we had a pizza. The Deli that they have open all night is high priced for the food. We had the buffet for breakfast and did not enjoy the food. We were glad that the breakfast was included in the room price. We did get an ok price for it being a Thursday night we paid $80.00 for the room. If we paid $30.00 more we could had stayed in the Blue tower the newer part of the Hotel. But, we did not think the hotel was worth the extra money for one night. It is close to Chicago area if you are going for a short trip. I would not stay more then one night and I would stay in the Blue Spa tower the newer part. Maybe if you stay in one of those rooms you will like it better then we did. We do not think this hotel was anything like the web site. The website made it to look and sound better then it was. The one plus is that it is close to the Lighthouse outlet mall if you like to shop.

Room Tip: Stay in the Blue spa Tower the newer part of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Boyd Gaming Customer Service at Blue Chip Casino and Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We apologize that the room cleanliness and the quality of the food at the buffet were not in keeping with our usual high service standards. We make every effort to make each guests stay a delightful one. We continually monitor our guest services and your input is very helpful in improving our products and services. We would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you personally if you would contact our Hotel Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Traveled for our anniversary in October 2013. We upgraded to the "Spa Level" which was worth the extra money - the view would have been amazing if it wasn't for the factories. Hotel was very clean and fresh! The casino portion was a typical casino. The food options were ok - I would go else where for breakfast, I was not impressed for the price paid.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Spa Level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flobberbobber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterville, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights for a work-related conference. I am not a gambler, so the casino was not the reason for my visit. The non-smoking king-bed hotel room on floor 15 of the Blue tower was very nice. I requested a lakeside room, because the view of the lake was more appealing than the view of Michigan City. Even so, the view of the lake included the Northern Indiana electrical power plant and a nuclear reactor. If I squinted, and if it was a clear day, I could see the Chicago skyline across the lower curve of Lake Michigan. The room was clean and very spacious. There was a refrigerator, which is always appreciated in any hotel. The bathroom was very large with a walk-in shower. The bed was comfortable. The wireless worked well. The TV was large plasma flat screen with Chicago channels. Some of the furniture looked worn. The conference center on the main floor was away from the restaurants and casino; therefore we didn't have to endure the smell of cigarette smoke in our meetings. I probably wouldn't stay here again unless I have to attend another conference here, because the only other reason to stay here is to gamble.

Room Tip: Blue Tower is newer; choose a lakeside room because the view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieD55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homewood, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I made my reservations before I read the negative reviews of this property, so I was nervous prior to arrival. Thank goodness, Kimberly maintained a professional and friendly demeanor during check-in. The casino was clean and well-maintained. The Options buffet, however, is in need of better upkeep as far as vacuuming under the dining tables. The food was tasty but not quite as varied as the buffet at Four Winds.
When we entered our room in the Spa Tower, we immediately noticed a few areas which were overlooked by the housekeeper. These areas were re-cleaned immediately after a call to front the desk and a visit by a housekeeping supervisor. Otherwise, the room we had was decent and the property is a compliment to the working class town of Michigan City.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsT907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Michigan City
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
3.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Michigan City
9.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Chip Casino and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Chip Casino and Hotel

Property: Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Address: 777 Blue Chip Dr, 777 Blue Chip Drive, Michigan City, IN 46360
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Chip Casino and Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Chip Casino and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Chip Hotel Michigan City
Blue Chip Michigan City
Blue Chip Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing