We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room, but very boring getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very clean room. Bathroom was beautiful. Very comfy bed. Excellent view from our room. It was our first time and we walk the whole thing in an hour. Nothing exciting going on, no many things to do, casino does not have many play tables.

Room Tip: Do not go in weekdays, even though is ot crowded there is anything else to do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveleroIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 647 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at The Bluechip on a Monday night. My room in the spa tower was beautiful and clean with views overlooking Lake Michigan. The staff was friendly, the drinks weren't overpriced and the casino wasn't terribly smoky. I would recommend this hotel to my friends. Although we didn't experience the nightlife because it was a Monday, it was still a very fun experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jlphilbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had been to the Blue Chip last year for one night - and played in the casino. I was offered 2 free nights this June - at check in - a lovely lady named Lisa - gave us a corner room on the 18th floor of the Spa Tower. It was beautiful, clean - and a fantastic shower...I hope her manager sees this - because she was just delightful, after a 4 hour drive from Cleveland. The casino was fun - we left a bit of money there - but had a great stay. The only negative in the two days - was the shortage of bartenders - both Monday and Tues night - there was only one at the bar...he was busy, and did his best - but needed help. The floor cocktail servers were all wonderful - hard working, quick and very appreciative of tips. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Spa Tower is very nice...not sure about the older tower - never stayed there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed 1 night no surprises no complaints, king non-smoking room. $79 including Breakfast Buff., food was good plentiful and a good assortment.
Casino dealers and staff all great people willing to assist you in making some extra $$. Casino is lacking some of the normal table games found in most casinos these days.
All in all great stay, if coming from the east stop off at FireKeepers Casino Hotel just off I94 on 96 at Battle Creek ( nice casino ), stayed there approx 3 hours and thoroughly enjo.yed it

Room Tip: make sure morn grub included .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dROG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Received a complimentary night in the older rooms for a short gambling trip. Nice clean rooms, quiet and separate from the casino. Convenient covered parking. Ample dining options at the hotel and many more in town.Close to outlet mall and Lake Michigan harbor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I cannot speak of the non tower section, but spend the extra for the tower. I've never been to a hotel that makes my own home appear noisy, but this place did. Great food and friendly staff. Excellent price for the hotels quality. A nice casino, a great city and nice getaway. Maybe food could cost less, but it is excellent. Room is spotless... It became a game to drop lint on the floor and not see it there the next day. Good coffee. Deli has great bakery items. Meat int he buffet is as good as it gets, anywhere.

Room Tip: Tower..spend the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A friend and I decided to try our luck at the Blue Chip Casino. Decided to stay in the old hotel part. Check in was fast and efficient. It's a lot of walking, so be prepared for that. We "boarded" the elevator to our room on the 6th floor. Immediately, the smell of dirty feet filled our noses. That really turned us off. Not sure why it was like that, as we never did smell it again. Got off the elevator to be welcomed with a blast of hot air. Temps outside were in the high 70s that day, so were expecting to be greeted with cooler air. The whole hallway to our room was very, very hot. Opened our room door, and again, hot air. The air conditioner was not even on, and only the fan was running. We immediately turned the air on as high as it would go. This was at 4:00 PM. It never did cool down to a comfortable temperature. At 10:00 PM, still not cool. The wifi did not work very well at all. It would let you in, but then it would throw you out. The room had a small refrig, so it was nice to have that. The walk in shower was very nice. There is no bathtub, so don't plan on soaking or taking a bubble bath. We found it strange that there was no lamp between the two queen size beds. So, it did lack lighting. The bed was very comfortable. The room didn't give you a good clean feeling. It had an odor about it, and I can't place what it was. Old cigarette smoke? Not sure. All the reviews I have read, most people stayed in the spa tower. If I ever return, I will pay the extra money and stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Michigan City
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
3.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Michigan City
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
3.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Michigan City
Red Roof Inn Michigan City
#10 of 16 in Michigan City
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa

Address: 777 Blue Chip Dr, 777 Blue Chip Drive, Michigan City, IN 46360-2422
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Price Range: £67 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Michigan City, Indiana, we operate northern Indiana's leading regional entertainment destination – Blue Chip Casino, Hotel & Spa. Our latest expansion, completed in January 2009, added 302 upscale hotel rooms; the Stardust Event Center, capable of seating up to 1,200 people for live performances; the 10,000-square-foot spa blu, the only spa located at a Chicagoland casino; and two Las Vegas-themed restaurants, "It's Vegas, Baby!" and "The Game.”" In addition, Blue Chip offers a 65,000-square-foot casino with nearly 2,000 slot machines and 50 table games. Whether you're just coming for the day or looking for a fun weekend getaway, Blue Chip offers a gaming and entertainment experience without rival in the Midwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Chip Hotel Michigan City
Blue Chip Michigan City
Blue Chip Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing