We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“40th Anniverasary at Tryon Farm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tryon Farm Guest House B&B
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“40th Anniverasary at Tryon Farm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

We Had a wonderful 2 night stay with Claudia at Tryon There was time to read in the shaded hammock, collected eggs for the next AM breakfast and even took a shower in the enclosed, private, outdoor shower. Claudia was most charming. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
33
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Claudia strikes the perfect balance. She is around and helpful as well as being very well informed about the area; she is very subtly respectful of privacy, while being friendly. Being at Tryon Farm was balm for the soul. Food was tailored to our needs and Claudia will accommodate vegetarians. We had 3 generations there at the house, and would love to return.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent. Claudia will describe the different setups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Claudia was kind enough to let us stay when we showed up for our reservation a day too early. The house is charming and comfortable, and the landscape is perfect for a morning stroll. There was a good meal to be had in Michigan City at Sahara, which she recommends, and we also visited the local Farmer's Market.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

We recently stayed at the Tryon Farm Guest house for a weekend getaway with friends. The location is charming and comfortable. The rooms were clean, comfortable, providing a very restful evening. Breakfast was fantastic.

The owner was very accommodating, allowing me to cancel the first evening with no charge. (travel issues...)

I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to the beautiful Lake Michigan beaches.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jiggets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincennes, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

Where to begin... I guess first, when you meet Claudia. She is amazing. We had never been to the area before, and she knows it like the back of her hand. She helped guide us to the best places to eat, best beaches, best things to do. She is the jewel of Michigan City :) Ham cups with perfect eggs (AMAZING)

The Farm house was very nice. Rooms well appointed. Common areas were great. Outdoor shower was an earth shattering experience. If you have never showered outdoors, you owe it to youself to go to the Tryon Farm Guest House... the shower alone is with the price of admission.

You also have to go to look at the Tryon Farm Settlement behind the Farm house.... the eco-living that they are working on is amazing. Houses right out of dwell magazing.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cheapest room, but was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jleewillingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

The guest house is lovely and the setting is lush and beautiful. We spent three nights here and enjoyed the space. The owner/operator was unsmiling, curt, and frankly rude. We hope/assume that she was dealing with a personal issue, as it detracted from an otherwise lovely experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bucarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TryonFarm, Owner at Tryon Farm Guest House B&B, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Personal service at a small lodging property like ours enables us to easily recall our previous guests. We had the pleasure of hosting this guest in July of 2009, almost two years ago. I regret that we didn't fulfill our motto: "People will forget what you said, but they will never forget how you made them feel." We are serious about the business of hospitality and while our pet policy is usually reserved for dogs and an occasional cat, we happily provided typical lodging for two pet rats traveling with this guest. We want visitors to feel accepted, appreciated, and cared for at all times and will continue to strive to meet that objective.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

Everything about the place was wonderful. The breakfasts were 5 star. Absolutely scrumptious. Claudia couldn't have been more welcoming or friendly. We will definitely be back to explore the warmer season amenities. The trails, outdoor bath, labyrinth, the very cozy and romantic attic just to name a few.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathykoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Michigan City
2.6 mi away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#3 of 16 in Michigan City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
4.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
7.5 mi away
Arbor Hill Inn
Arbor Hill Inn
#1 of 3 in LaPorte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
8.3 mi away
Blue Jay Manor
Blue Jay Manor
#4 of 8 in Michigan City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryon Farm Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryon Farm Guest House B&B

Property: Tryon Farm Guest House B&B
Address: 1400 Tryon Road, Michigan City, IN 46360-2264
Region: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Michigan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Tryon Farm Guest House B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Tryon Farm Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing