We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Inn Michigan City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clarion Inn Michigan City
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Nice, friendly hotel.
Stayed in a suite, the room was very nice - well equiped and in good condition.

Staff were great, very friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome. Really liked the bar and restaurant as well, great Burgers!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timdudal1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    42
    36
    14
    25
See reviews for
47
36
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We wondered at first, arriving without a reservation, when the clerk struggled on her computer to check us in. But the manager intervened, and we were soon fine. A well-furnished, well-maintained facility in a convenient location. The hot breakfast buffet was fine, and the Texas Corral across the street provided a good dinner option.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager5820, General Manager at Clarion Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the Clarion Inn. We appreciate you choosing the Clarion and look forward to accommodating you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

So, yesterday afternoon, I checked into the Clarion, knowing full well that I needed a late check out as a result of a bike race I was in the next day. At first, Stacey and Heavenly (the front desk clerks) said there was no way I could get the late check out. I expressed my dissatisfaction, and mentioned that I would probably not be able to complete the race I was registered for, but took the room, anyway. I freshened up in the room, and made my way through the front lobby to go for dinner. On my way past the front desk, Stacey stopped me and told me she called the hotel manager at home to ask about the late check out. It was granted by the manager. I was amazed, flabbergasted, thrilled and every other positive emotion you can think up. She went above and beyond the norm to make sure that there was a happy hotel customer.

I will be back to the Clarion Inn in Michigan City, and I encourage you to stay there, too.

Room Tip: Stayed near the pool. probably not the best place if you like to go to sleep before 10:00 p.m.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moisheberl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager5820, General Manager at Clarion Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Clarion Inn. We will always do our best to accommodate any guest request. We are glad you had a good stay and hope you enjoyed the race you were in town for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

First stop on our cross-country trip (no reservation in advance) with a cat; beds have platforms, so good in keeping pets from hiding underneath. Restaurant attached to the hotel was tasty (get the house special burger--it was EXCELLENT) and offers a discount to guests, but you have to tell them you're staying there. One star deducted because our A/C unit had a cricket living inside of it (but thankfully it slept while we did). The hot tub was amazing, in a nice indoor courtyard of the hotel. Very well kept, but open until just 10 pm. Free breakfast in the morning was excellent, and the hotel desk will fill your cooler with ice for you when you leave to hit the road. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing outdoors had ambient road noise/possible crickets; indoor rooms facing the pool area wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knxvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager5820, General Manager at Clarion Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the Clarion Inn. We are always happy to hear about exceeding our guests expectations. We are happy to accommodate guests traveling with pets. Crawford's Pub is a great amenity and we are glad you enjoyed their delicious Crawford's burger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creve Coeur, Missouri
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

This property is an older style motel - outside entry on some rooms, inside entry on others that surround the indoor pool area. Small rooms, but everything you would need and expect from this chain. Reasonably priced, clean, decently maintained, and courteous English-speaking staff. Nice indoor pool/Jacuzzi area. I would recommend it....

Room Tip: Has both outside entry rooms and inside entry rooms(around the pool area); both on two levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager5820, General Manager at Clarion Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for choosing the Clarion Inn. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again when you visit Michigan City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Good location, great staff, clean rooms although the clorine smell from the pool area was a bit strong. Overall, not a bad hotel. Beware the door to the patio outside the pool doors lock behind you, had to walk all the way around the building to get back in.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrawfordsPub, Manager at Clarion Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Clarion Inn & Suites. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenville, tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

No air conditioning for 2 1/2 days the automatic doors did not work for 6 days! have you tried to hold open a non-operational automatic door when you are carrying luggage or children? the "pull out couch" was so cramped we couldn't even open it up for use. Mold growing in the bathroom shower stall. Ice machine did not work 90% of the time. 2 out of 3 vending machines did not work for half our visit. Swimming pool smelled like a toilet bowl and we never saw anyone servicing pool or spa. The "hot" breakfast was amongst the worst i have seen. One pitcher of orange juice for 50-60 people eating breakfast and cold pancakes were just a couple of the problems. Poorly managed! our prolonged stay enabled us to see how little the management cares about this hotel...What a shame. This used to be a great place to stay whey it was a holiday inn. I requested the telephone number of the corporate office and was directed the on-site hotel manager and denied the corporate number. The new restaurant doesn't even compare to Damon's which used to be there.

Room Tip: This hotel is a victim of POOR management so I would not recommend this location until they replace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryant c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrawfordsPub, Manager at Clarion Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
We appreciate you taking time to review the Clarion Inn & Suites. We are in the process of repairing the automatic door you referred to. I do understand how inconvenient and frustrating an inoperable door can be. We take great pride in our Oasis pool area. Please know it is cleaned and serviced on a daily basis each morning. I hope you will give the Clarion another opportunity to provide you with an exceptional experience. We look forward to being able to accommodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Michigan City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Michigan City hotels
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 16 in Michigan City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Michigan City
3.6 mi away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#4 of 16 in Michigan City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Michigan City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Michigan City

Property: Clarion Inn Michigan City
Address: 5820 Franklin St, Michigan City, IN 46360-7843
Region: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn Michigan City 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off Interstate 94 and conveniently located on Route 421, The Clarion Inn & Suites provides the full-service facilities, attentive services and social atmosphere that make it easy to connect with work colleagues, friends and family. You’ll find meeting and event space, catering, well-appointed rooms and a casual restaurant and bar. We offer a wide range of supportive amenities as well. Clarion Inn & Suites is five miles from Lake Michigan. Crawford's Pub & Eatery, provides room service and banquet catering. Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore is nearby, offering miles of beaches, sand dunes and woodland forests. This area provides the perfect backdrop for hiking, biking, boating, bird watching, fishing or swimming. Several marinas and golf courses are in the area for you to enjoy. Washington Park Zoo, the Old Lighthouse Museum and Blue Chip Casino are also minutes from the Clarion and offer a great way to spend a day in beautiful LaPorte County, IN. A variety of entertainment venues, shopping centers and specialty stores are close to this Indiana hotel. Spend the day looking for that must-have item at the Lighthouse Place Premium Outlets Mall. After a busy day, come back and relax in our full-service restaurant, Crawford’s Pub & Eatery, or order room service and enjoy a meal from Crawford’s in the comfort of your own room. Our complimentary hot breakfast will help get you started in the morning. The Oasis Pool & Spa area is open daily. We would be glad to help plan your wedding reception, family gathering or corporate meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Inn Michigan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Michigan City Hotel Michigan City
Clarion Michigan City
Holiday Inn Michigan City
Clarion Hotel Michigan City
Michigan City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing