We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Middlebury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Essenhaus Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Middlebury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This hotel has the nicest staff that I have ever encountered. Always helpful, and with a smile. The entire hotel is beautifully decorated, including the common areas and our individual room. My room had vaulted ceilings, interesting pictures of the Amish countryside, quilts hung on the walls and at the foot of the bed, plus mints each night on the nightstand. My room had a very large window that overlooked the lake, covered bridge, and horse drawn carriages. Very clean! Plus, a breakfast was included in the room fee. I have never had a better or more enjoyable stay, anywhere. I also enocurage everyone to taste the Amish cooking at the restaurant! Scrumptious, homemade pies and comfort food that beats Grandma's cooking! Also, shops on site, walking road, pool, hot tub, and more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new section: great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bsmillerrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2011

I always enjoy staying at this Inn, in the midst of Indiana Amish country. The rooms are comfortable, the staff is friendly, the breakfast is good and it is about 15 minutes away from the Shipshewana Flea Market.

I had room 214 (last time here, I had room 210) and it is the exact same size room - with two high, comfortable queen size beds, Cable TV, mini-fridge (great for your Amish dinner left-overs!) and coffee-maker. There are Crabtree & Evelyn amenities in the super-clean bathroom. Lighting is good, especially for reading in bed at night. Room 214 is part of a suite, but I didn’t see the accompanying room. There is a nice setee in the doorway alcove, which is a great place to set things down while you open the door.

There is one computer in the lobby for public use.

If you like to shop, be sure to ask for a discount card for the Essenhaus Village Shops. It entitles you to 15% off the highest priced item at each of the five Essenhaus Village shops. One of them, Dusty Miller Antiques is across the street and easy to miss. Others are two gift shops, a clothes/costume jewelry shop and a quilt shop. The large Essenhaus restaurant also has gift items.

There is a nice walking trail (gravel) around the property and ponds with bridges around the property and a gazebo and benches to stop and rest. The walking trail takes from 20 min. to 1/2 hour . There is also a pool, hot tub and sauna that looks nice, but I have never used it.

I’d recommend this hotel if you are visiting the Amish Country and especially the huge summer flea market.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

we had a problem with out original room and were quite discuraged but the staff really came thru for us, upgraded our room to I think the best room in the hotel and made my mom's mother's days weekend really something special. I think this is the best hotel in the area and really care about their guests

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

This is a beautiful hotel, iinside and out. Immaculate, stunning and gives you a warm welcome feeling from the moment you walk in the door. The staff does not skimp on cleanliness, so the likelihood of checking in early is slim because they take time to be sure each room is perfect. The pool area is wonderful and huge! Kids pool with security gate, regular pool, game room and Large Hot tub area. There are plants and animal statues all around, lovely patio furniture, large T.V up on the wall, and clean towels for their guests, stacked neatly at all times
The room itself was oversized, carpets were CLEAN, everything was lovely, right down to the decor. I have been here twice, once with a standard room and once with an additional living/kitchen area. Both stays were like this...Pretty all over!
Breakfast was not your average continental...they go above and beyond the norm. Hot biscuits with gravy, breads, fruit, yogurt, juices, cereals...A lot of variety and plenty for everyone, no matter how full the house is and lovely staff to make sure you have everything you need.
I'll never go anywhere else from now on. If it came down to 2 cheap nights in a Comfort Inn or 1 night here.... I will stay here. Treat yourself!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickie623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Had a great weekend away with my sisters. It is like stepping into a different world without the pressures of the big city. Charming rooms and facility, great food and such friendly people. Will be back!

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank iluvthecubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

we asked to stay in the older area, not the new conference side, so only know about that area. it has retained it's newness and is crisp and fresh. so charming and quaint. the atrium on the first floor is cozy and large and has a quality all its own. friendly staff. amish-clean. bed was new and wonderful. night was quiet. we loved this place. have stayed here twice before long ago and was afraid things had changed with the addition of the conference center, but that addition has not interfered w the original part of the hotel. if you stay here, you can get right in to the restaurant next door without a reservation. it's a great restaurant, not to be missed. family style w 2 meats $16.50. only con-the breakfast is very lack-luster for this quality hotel. you should know no alcohol is allowed here on the premises so forget sitting in the atrium having a glass of wine. they have coffee, chocolate, tea available 24/7. highly reccommend!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emptywallet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Took a quick mid-week trip to visit the flea market in Shipshewana - Essenhaus was recommended by a co-worker. FAR exceeded my expections!!! Beautiful country decor in the public rooms, pleasant staff, great FREE breakfast, & nicely appointed rooms (high ceilings, separate dressing area, desk & table). Had an AMAZING meal at the Essenhaus restaurant next door - Family style service Amish cooking!! Would recommend this hotel to anyone visting Northern Indiana Amish Country. Good location - great shops, miniature golf & Amish buggy tours as well!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hhtamu88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
7.2 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
7.3 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
16.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
13.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Elkhart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essenhaus Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essenhaus Inn & Conference Center

Address: 240 US Highway 20, Middlebury, IN 46540-9713 (Formerly Das Dutchman Essenhaus)
Region: United States > Indiana > Middlebury
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Middlebury
Price Range: £53 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests rave about the Essenhaus Inn & Conference Center! In the heart of Amish Country, you'll experience elegance and comfort from the moment you walk in the door. Unique decor reflects the local culture and community and adds to the comfort and hospitality you expect in Northern Indiana Amish Country. With 89 generously-sized guestrooms and all the amenities and conveniences guests have come to expect, our facility is ADA compliant.Following a peaceful night's rest, every guest can take advantage of our complimentary breakfast. With an indoor pool, fitness room and therapeutic hot tub, guests have the option of enjoying a variety of down time activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Das Dutchman Essenhaus Hotel Middlebury
Essenhaus Hotel Middlebury
Country Inn Middlebury
Middlebury Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing