We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit as great as the first!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middlebury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
McKenzie House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Second visit as great as the first!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Our family visited McKenzie House in July of this year and had a wonderful time (in spite of the heat!). The accommodations and breakfast couldn't have been better. They also suggested a place for dinner in Shipshewana that was outstanding. I was in the area again in November and spent the night alone. What a relaxing time - Sherry and Bruce have it all taken care of! I plan to stay here whenever I am in the area. Many thanks to Sherry & Bruce for taking care of all the "extras."

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    7
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
61
130
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

My husband, 6 year old daughter and I had a wonderful time staying in Michelles suite! It's perfectly designed to accommodate a small family! They have movies games and even a popcorn maker! ;-) The breakfast was absolutely delicious as well and Bruce and Sherri couldn't be any nicer! This was my third visit to this amazing sweet retreat! You will not be disappointed! ;-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Booked this B&B for R&R with lovely wife. No issues with reservations and on arrival our room was ready and waiting. The innkeepers are very accommodating, providing advice on the area and suggestions for outings. We stayed at the main house, however there is another building adjacent with more rooms. Lots of common space. Sitting room, 24 hour coffee and snacks, and a large "play room" in the lower level, with big screen TV/DVD. The place was near or at capacity for the weekend we stayed. Parking is on the property and sufficient for the number of people staying. The proprietors did a great job managing the crowd, with no lack of service or victuals at breakfast. Saying there was plenty to eat is an understatement. Clearly they enjoy preparing the meals and deliver a spread of both different and familier fare. Lots of pleasant conversation as well. Room had a separate sitting space in addition to the bedroom. Bathroom was clean and fully operational. Bed is furnished with high quality sheets which are very comfortable. Our bed, however had a few annoying squeaks. They take pains to cloud the road noise using ambient sound and we were not bothered. The interior is tastefully decorated throughout. The location is well located to visit the area attractions (Shipshewana and Amish countryside). One family staying was attending the ND game. Ate at "Jaywalkers" across the boarder in Mottville, MI and "Venturi" in Goshen, IN. Both good. Overall cost / service ratio is good and room rates are competitive. I recommend this inn for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hobnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

The home was beautiful (and very clean), breakfast was fantastic, and the owners were very pleasant. We also enjoyed the hot tub. Bruce and Sherry go to great efforts to make the stay pleasant for their guests. We would certainly recommend McKenzie House if you are anywhere close to the area.

Room Tip: Being budget conscious, we stayed in Meghan's room in the main house. It was a beautiful room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OccastionalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windfall, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The breakfast was divine and the room was beautiful. The setting is far enough of the road to create a peaceful oasis. We would definitely recommend it to our family and friends. A perfect little getaway for an Anniversary, mini vacation, or if you just want to relax and recharge.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynmoreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrassa, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Me and my fiancée were travelling around Indiana's Amish County without too much knowledge of the area. We got to McKenzie's looking for a tranquil rest in a familiar ambient and what we got was much more than that. Bruce and Sherry had prepared their home as a wonderful place to stay, treating guests as beloved friends, making you feel as comfortable as you were at home. It is clear that they love their occupation and they love having people at home, so they try to make people happy as well as they can and, trust me, they are really good on this.

Not only the room and the incredibly comfortable common spaces, not even an amazing breakfast, what impressed us most was Bruce's and Sherry's attitude towards guests. Absolutely recommendable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aleix B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

My husband and I had never stayed in a bed and breakfast so we were not sure what to expect. We had to suddenly change our original travel plans and found the McKenzie house and figured we would give it a shot. We were celebrating our anniversary and they e mailed me with upgrade options and I chose the romance package for the Courtney Suite. The suite was beautiful! Candles were lit upon arrival with rose petals leading up the stairs to the door and all over the suite! My husband was so shocked! We had the most wonderful time definitely the best we have ever slept away from home. They brought our breakfast to the cottage and all the food was amazing! If we are ever in northern Indiana again we will be staying there again no doubt about it! Bruce and Sherry are wonderful people! Thank you so much for making our anniversary very special!

Room Tip: The Courtney suite with the romance package upgrade is a must for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
6.3 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
6.9 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
7.1 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
13.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Goshen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
5.5 mi away
That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McKenzie House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKenzie House Bed & Breakfast

Property: McKenzie House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 52215 Indiana 13, some GPS it is better to use Highway 13, Middlebury, IN 46540
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Middlebury
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed as a spiritual respite to entice the weary, this deluxe sanctuary offers recreational pleasures to sooth the soul. Suites that offer two-person jacuzzi tubs, pillow-top mattresses, movies & books galore. Outdoor in-ground pool (seasonal) hot tub (open year round). Large gathering room great for meetings, scrapbooking or quilting groups. Enough hot food and fresh baked goods to satisfy any palate--a veritable feast at breakfast. Notre Dame football, Amish Country, and antiques are just a few of the things to add to your enjoyment while at McKenzie House Bed & Breakfast. Great location for family reunion, graduation party or weddings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing