We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a getaway..!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middlebury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
McKenzie House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for a getaway..!”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The location was perfect for a getaway. We were the only couple staying there for the weekend, so we got to enjoy extra privacy. Host were very helpful and made us feel at home. The room was very clean and the detailed decor was well thought out by the host. We didn't get to enjoy the patio but it could be a great place to spend time in summer. Overall very good place for a getaway....$ well spent.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    7
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
61
132
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed at the McKenzie House while on a short overnight in the Middlebury area. The McKenzie House experience is what a B&B is meant to be. From the greeting hello to the farewell wishes, Bruce and Sherry are the warmest, endearing innkeepers we've experienced. There are so many beautiful touches and surprises to the B&B I don't want to spoil it by giving details of the house itself. Our room was wonderful. It was beautifullly decorated, comfortable and so relaxing that we nearly forgot we weren't in our own home. Breakfast was absolutely amazing; delicious and creative. McKenzie House is easy to get to,and centrallly located to the Amish Country. We will definetly return to the McKenzie House and highly recommend this for couples, famililes and groups looking for a wonderful experience at a B&B.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jyschip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudsonville, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My husband & I describe the McKenzie House B&B as extraordinaire !

Accomodations were lovely, private ,and pillow top bed was glorious. We used the hot tub and plan to come back when it's warm to use the built - in swimming pool.

Breakfast was scrumptious . More options then we've experienced before.

Sherry and Bruce provided all the extra's ---- beverages, snacks, popcorn, DVDs

The value is second to none.

Definitely a FIVE star rating!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
217 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My husband and I were looking for a place to have a short retreat from our VERY active young children, and the McKenzie House Bed & Breakfast was the perfect choice! On a whim we decided to stay in Amish country because it was one area we'd never explored, and we were looking for a relaxing retreat with privacy, a jacuzzi tub, and enough space that we could just hang around and read all day if we didn't find anything interesting to do. This bed & breakfast met and exceeded our expectations to an unbelievable degree.

We chose the Courtney suite for its large size, balcony with fire pit, and degree of privacy (It's in a separate building from the main house.) There was everything we needed... A mini-kitchen if we wanted to cook (we didn't need to) a sitting area with TV, DVD and video players, and a CD player. One tip for this suite: Be sure that the temperature is set to your satisfaction during the day because the control is in the suite below, and if it's occupied you wouldn't want to disturb the people staying there late at night to change it. Being the top suite, heat rises, so this room can get hot. Another amenity which I loved was the sound machine. I ALWAYS travel with mine, so it was funny to see the same one already in the room! These are wonderful for places like this where unfamiliar sounds can interfere with sleep quality, so I was impressed that there was already one there. Sherry and Bruce have really thought of everything down to the tiniest detail!

After searching the internet and finding nothing in the area to compare with this B&B, we took off for our trip with great expectations. We found that it really IS a gem tucked away in this unusual area. It is a quick drive to all of the attractions in the area. The grounds were surrounded by a beautiful woods, and the main house has a lot of room for fun things if you are staying with family, on a girls' weekend, or on a romantic getaway like we were. There is a home theater, a wii, and exercise equipment in the huge basement along with a popcorn machine and a library with books or DVDs to borrow. There is also an outdoor pool and jacuzzi, and swim towels and robes are provided for you. We stayed for three nights and STILL didn't have enough time to take advantage of everything.

Not only were the grounds and inn itself enchanting, but the breakfasts were amazing! After one of Sherry's breakfasts, there is no need for lunch!

We have stayed at b&bs all over the world, and this ranks up there with the best for what it provides all by itself. In many areas we were choosing where to stay because of location, and rarely have we spent enough time at the inns themselves to get to know the innkeepers well. We really like our privacy, and we could easily have chosen that. However, getting to know Sherry and Bruce was one of the highlights of the trip. We really felt we gained a lot after getting to know them, and our conversations over the breakfast table were like hanging with family the morning after a destination wedding or extended family vacation. They put us so at ease that it's very clear that they are the perfect people to be running a bed and breakfast.

Sherry and Bruce, thank you for our wonderful getaway. You obviously have the gift of hospitality.
Enjoy your beautiful home, and thanks for sharing it with us!
Beth & Jeff

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bweis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My wife & I stayed at the McKenzie House for a late Valentine's Day trip (about a month & a half later). Let me tell you, it was WELL worth the wait! First things first, Bruce & Sherry are AWESOME hosts!! Very hospitable and down to earth. They definitely know what they are doing! As for the 'B&B' itself, here are a few thoughts - 1) The room was beautiful, 2) The late night snack was delicious (best peanut butter cookie EVER), 3) The breakfast was even better! They even packed up the leftovers for us.

There were only two 'negatives' I can think of (though not negative enough to not give it 5 stars) - 1) The entry to the house wasn't clearly marked. We had no idea where to go once we pulled in the driveway, 2) The room was a bit on the hot side. We had to resort to opening windows & doors.

I HIGHLY recommend McKenzie House to anyone wanting a great B&B experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pastorshooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed at the Mckensie's for 1 night and came out wishing we stayed there longer,Bruce and Sherry are naturals when it comes to a perfect host, Sherry your breakfast was easily one of the best BF I had in recent times,
The house is maintained with a lot of taste, Every room overflows with Books and Music,The Movie room was very good, I like the carpet , the quilts and almost everything about the house,
To add to all this , Bruce story about his 4 1/2 month long bike ride across the US will make you come back to this house ,I recommend every body to enjoy atleast couple of days in this house

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SatishKumar U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Churubusco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We really enjoyed hanging out at the Mckenzie house this weekend for girls night out! We had seven girls in 2 rooms. After dinner out we got into our pj's and the provided robes and enjoyed relaxing and playing games in the living room by the fireplace. Then off to the basement for some popcorn, wii, and just hanging out until early in the AM. They have tons of games and movies provided and the popcorn popper was an added bonus! Bruce and Sherry were very welcoming and fun to be with! The breakfast was to die for! Very filling and no need for lunch out! We are looking forward to coming back when it is warmer and the pool is open....and we will bring more of our friends along!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
7.1 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
7.0 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
735 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
13.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Goshen
134 reviews
5.5 mi away
That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McKenzie House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKenzie House Bed & Breakfast

Property: McKenzie House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 52215 Indiana 13, some GPS it is better to use Highway 13, Middlebury, IN 46540
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Middlebury
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed as a spiritual respite to entice the weary, this deluxe sanctuary offers recreational pleasures to sooth the soul. Suites that offer two-person jacuzzi tubs, pillow-top mattresses, movies & books galore. Outdoor in-ground pool (seasonal) hot tub (open year round). Large gathering room great for meetings, scrapbooking or quilting groups. Enough hot food and fresh baked goods to satisfy any palate--a veritable feast at breakfast. Notre Dame football, Amish Country, and antiques are just a few of the things to add to your enjoyment while at McKenzie House Bed & Breakfast. Great location for family reunion, graduation party or weddings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing