We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we stayed longer”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middlebury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
McKenzie House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Wish we stayed longer”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

McKenzie House B & B is like going to a mini resort. Bruce and Sherry are available to aid your party at all hours. Sherry is a fantastic baker, the only problem is deciding which treats will fit your diet. Everyone enjoyed the family style breakfast, including a guest's finicky 3 year old (who cheerfully was served an alternative dish).
Our suite (Mollie) including bedroom, den, kitchen/dining room, bath with 2 person Jacuzzi and back porch with hanging swing. On arrive Sherry made certain we knew where everything was and how to work the electronics. The setup is homey and perfectly clean. The bed allowed a good night sleep.
The guests during our stay had diverse backgrounds and life styles. Bruce and Sherry treat everyone the same exceptional way!
We would gladly stay here again. Just wish we stayed more than two nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    7
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
61
131
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Our recent stay at McKenzie House was just perfect. Bruce and Sherry are wonderful hosts and we felt like part of the family. They go above and beyond to make their guests feel welcome. Their home is beautiful and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and they offered a wide variety of choices, everything from homemade granola and yogurt to ham and omelets. It was hot during our stay and we wished we'd had time to take advantage of their swimming pool. It looked so inviting! I honestly can't think of anything they could do better. We are already looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: We had Michelle's Suite which had a separate sitting room. It was very spacious and worked out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We have been to a number of B&B's, and this was the best one yet! I don't know where to start.

The innkeepers were awesome. The room was outstanding. The breakfast was out of this world!

Not only do I recommend it, but we will definitely make a return trip

Room Tip: Michelle's room was the greatest. It has a seperate living room with a door. Easily could hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorndogCorndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Our stay was unbelievable. From the minute you walked in you felt like you were part of the family. Anything you wanted they had. And I mean anything. The Breakfast was the best breakfast we have ever had and I mean in 54 years. WOW. Stuffed french toast, home made granola and yogurt, homemade rolls, sausage egg casarole and on and on. Very clean and organized. We will be back again and again. Thanks Bruce and Sherry for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: No tips needed. Every where you went was special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Nicest hosts, wonderful grounds, great facilities, and the best breakfasts.
Located in an interesting area (Amish country) with easy interstate access.
Be sure to visit the Menonite/Amish museum in nearby Shipshewana.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfcantlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson Center, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My wife suggested we go to Shipshewana, Indiana to the Flea Market. A mini vacation. She looked at places to stay and immediately she was drawn to the MdKenzie House. We looked at what Sherry and Bruce's Bed and Breakfast had to offer and we called and made reservations to stay at the carriage house. What a beautiful place. A quiet serene Bed and Breakfast hidden behind a row of trees and bushes. As we pulled into their drive, it opened up into a beautiful garden of flowers. Most places we have stayed at had photo's of what to expect and the place was outdated. The photo's they have taken of the Mckenzie House are true to what you will see. Beautiful rooms, names after their children. The rooms were clean, spacious, and well stocked with everything you might need. You didn't have to wait for hot water like some places, You got hot water immediately. The balcony opened up into a view of beautiful trees. The food was fantastic. I can not eat nuts or any food with seeds in it. Bruce and Sherry went out of their way to prepare fruit and pastries I could eat. Thank you so much.
If you leave hungry, it is your own fault. If we needed anything, even at 10:00 p.m. they were there immediately. If you are looking for a place to stay that is within driving distance of everything, stay here. If you are looking for a place you can afford, stay here. If you are looking for a place that is true to their advertisment this is the Bed and Breakfast you will want to stay at. We will be coming back. Thank you Bruce and Sherry for a wonder stay. We have made two new friends we will cherish and remember forever.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The location was perfect for a getaway. We were the only couple staying there for the weekend, so we got to enjoy extra privacy. Host were very helpful and made us feel at home. The room was very clean and the detailed decor was well thought out by the host. We didn't get to enjoy the patio but it could be a great place to spend time in summer. Overall very good place for a getaway....$ well spent.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
6.2 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
7.0 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
7.1 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
13.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Goshen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
5.5 mi away
That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McKenzie House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKenzie House Bed & Breakfast

Property: McKenzie House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 52215 Indiana 13, some GPS it is better to use Highway 13, Middlebury, IN 46540
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Middlebury
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed as a spiritual respite to entice the weary, this deluxe sanctuary offers recreational pleasures to sooth the soul. Suites that offer two-person jacuzzi tubs, pillow-top mattresses, movies & books galore. Outdoor in-ground pool (seasonal) hot tub (open year round). Large gathering room great for meetings, scrapbooking or quilting groups. Enough hot food and fresh baked goods to satisfy any palate--a veritable feast at breakfast. Notre Dame football, Amish Country, and antiques are just a few of the things to add to your enjoyment while at McKenzie House Bed & Breakfast. Great location for family reunion, graduation party or weddings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing