We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised!”

Margarita's Authentic Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 23 Restaurants in Middlebury
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Richmond, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Surprised!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

After reading some of the reviews, we were surprised by Margarita's. Our service was good, and the food was delicious. We had already eaten the night before at Essenhaus, so we wanted something different. If you're in Middlebury, this isn't a bad place to go!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JLM47374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    15
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlebury
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistently good food, inconsistent service”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We have gone to Margaritas many times, and the food never disappoints! We love to get the cheese dip to eat with our chips and salsa. I also love their mango margarita. In our experience, the food is always very tasty. However, the service is not quite as consistent. Often, the waiter/waitress is very attentive and eager to please. A few times they have been forgetful and largely absent.
Overall, I would recommend Margaritas to anyone in the mood for something different while in Middlebury.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberry, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“NOT WHAT WE HAD HOPED FOR”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Other's have given this place a decent rating so possibly we were just there on an "off night". It was a Saturday late afternoon. There were 8 of us. Service was SLOW, even getting our drink orders correct was a problem. Out of 8 of us, only 3 received fork, knife in a napkin. The complimentary chips and salsa were served in two bowls for 8 people, however a table next to us had only 3 people and they got 2 bowls! When the waiter finally came to take our orders he didn't have a pen. By the time our food was served, we had to ask for more silverware as none had yet arrived. Our food was lukewarm. My chicken chimi was not even seasoned meat. Hubby's burrito had no cheese. Had to ask for more drinks. If it were not for the fact that this was a family get together with family we rarely see, it would have been a wasted 2 hours. As I said, maybe we just timed it at an off time because we were not satisfied.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I Recently ate at Margaretas, I was satisfied with my meal. I would recommend this restaurant, if you have a taste for Mexican food this is the lace to go,l will definitely eat here again. Yes the atmosphere is lacking, but the food will make up for it, trust me.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hermitspark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A great new restaurant in Middlebury”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The food is tasty and plentiful as is the chips and salsa that they serve as you are seated. The down side of this restaurant is that they get very busy sometimes and the service is not always the greatest.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ConvertibleWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Margarita's Authentic Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Margarita's Authentic Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing