We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quaint” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Inn

Village Inn
Ranked #5 of 22 Restaurants in Middlebury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chesterton, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“quaint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

It was pretty good. My friends had the pollock special and said it was extremely good. The rest of our meals were just ok.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JudyStar_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    19
    15
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middlebury, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“friendly staff, okay food for the price, will return for the pie”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I've lived in the are for a number of years, but had never eaten at Village Inn. Tonight my husband and I took our young son to have dinner at Village Inn. It was clean and the service was great. The employees were very friendly. There were probably 10 other families or couples there while we were, so it wasn't packed but there were always people in and out. We enjoyed watching the other customers (some who were regulars that didn't even need menus) as well as the buggies and cars drive by on Main St.

Ordered the Cowboy burger and fries and a personal size pizza with a piece of old fashioned cream pie for dessert. I thought our food came really quickly, so I was happy about that. The pizza had a lot of cheese on it, which was fine with me but bothered my husband. The burger was tasty and the fries were warm and crunchy. However, the bun for the burger and the applesauce we ordered for our son both seemed cheap and not very tasty. It wasn't fantastic food, but the sandwich was good and the pie was delicious.

Their old fashioned cream pie is better than the one at The Blue Gate in Shipshewana.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
152 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very poor food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Slow service in a small town local place can be charming, but if the food is bad, it is not a good experience. The broccoli cheddar soup was bland and watery, the ham on a pretzel bun just OK and the fries limp and cold. Not a place to stop in again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank melange1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
179 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Don't Come for the Soup”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

On our way to Amish country we stopped for a quick lunch. The place was crowded with locals, which is usually a good sign. We wanted to eat light, so both got soup, with an extra order of bread sticks with garlic sauce. I had an extremely bland chili; she had beef vegetable soup with overcooked vegetables and very little beef. The bread sticks were doughy and the garlic sauce was not good. The place highlights its desserts (pies). They may be great, but the soup isn't.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dusty_Archivist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suburb of Indianapolis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best pot roast and mashed potato ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Can't get more real, nice and tasty than this. Sure beats the crowds and impersonality of a big place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank perambulator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Village Inn also viewed

 

Been to Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing