We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we will return” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Victorian Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middlebury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Country Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Northwest Indiana
1 review
“we will return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2008

This was a very nice get away for my husband and I. The inn keepers, Lori and Arnie, were great! They are very pleasant and sweet. The inn was so clean, and quiet. We will be returning!

  • Liked — very relaxing, inn keepers made you feel welcomed and relaxed at home.
  • Disliked — breakfast a bit fancy, I'm not a breakfast person though.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank michellenuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
76
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shelby Mi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2008

The little touches make a big impression ,
the cleanest stay of any hotel/motel or B&B
the little hand made soaps...
the little treats on the pillow each night ...
but the best of all, in our two night stay
was how we were welcomed and treated like
we were the best of friends from the first moment at
the doorstep.
Thank you Lori and Arnie ...for a wonderfull weekend

  • Liked — clean and neat
  • Disliked — rained all weekend
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kurtD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2008

This was our first experience at a B&B, my husband was a little reluctant but decided he would try it out for my sake. He was absolutely wowed by the whole experience, the house was absolutely gorgeous, the room was exceptional, right down to the gold emblems on the toilet paper. All our needs were met from bottled water to homemade cookies. The breakfast was delicious and we were able to get some Amish history which made it that much better. All in all a memorable experience. Thanks Arnie and Lorie

  • Liked — we felt like we were at home even when we were away
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amishcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2008

Top ten reasons to stay at the Country Victorian
...The wonderful breakfasts
...The comfortable rooms
...Listening to the clip-clop of the buggies going by
...Lori and Arnie are wonderful hosts
...The welcoming atmosphere
...The friendliness of a small town
...Having dinner with an Amish family
...The peacefulness of the home
...The feeling of safety
...The price

  • Liked — The decor
  • Disliked — Everything was great
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaS1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2008

We stayed at the Country Victorian for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms are spotless, the food delicious, and the town is charming. Lori provided us with plenty of information about activities in the Amish communities. One of us is gluten-free, and Lori went to special measures to prepare food that she could enjoy with us. Don't miss taking a side trip to Shipshewana - one day for the small town shops and one day for the flea market (Tuesday and Wednesdays only.)

  • Liked — breakfast!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2008

What a great experience my wife and I had staying one night in June. We went out of our way to get here, knowing that the Indiana hospitality from our experience is always great, and we were right. From the little touches like abundent snacks, coffee and tea whenever we wanted, and even ear plug to block out noise! The highlight was the breakfast and the great conversation. If you are in Northern Indiana I encourage you to visit. Very rarely do you get a great B&B experience, so you wouldn't want to pass this one up.

  • Liked — Great attention to detail
  • Disliked — Can think of anything, except shower did leak
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2008

Mother and Daughter College Graduation Trip
It was our first experience with a bed and breakfast and we really enjoyed the stay. The room was pleasing to the eye, the beds were very comfortable and there were many little touches that made us feel welcome. The hosts were wonderful, very friendly and we felt very much "at home". Breakfast was a treat. Delicious and well made and very filling, it was fun to see what was going to be served.
It was a wonderful place from which to enjoy and learn about the surrounding Amish community.
I recommend Country Victorian Bed and Breakfast to everyone!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank spiderwoman1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
6.4 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
6.4 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
0.8 mi away
That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast
6.6 mi away
Der Ruhe Blatz Motel
Der Ruhe Blatz Motel
#5 of 5 in Shipshewana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Victorian Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Victorian Bed and Breakfast

Property: Country Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Address: 435 S Main St, Middlebury, IN 46540-9767
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Middlebury
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service bed and breakfast in a Queen Ann Victorian style house. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing