We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Not only was the setting beautiful but the rooms were gorgeous. Breakfast was delicious and offered something for everyone. The lovely couple that ran it were super friendly. The only thing I wish is the driveway was a little nicer as it was very muddy, but that is not going to keep us from returning in the future. I highly recommend That Pretty Place!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sensorymom246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    28
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
103
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Breakfast is good. The cabin is beautiful. Great for a group! We hung out downstairs and had meals together. Comfortable and affordable. We have stayed there for many years and have never had a bad experience. The innkeepers are kind and efficient.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valculver, Owner at That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review! Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saranac
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The room was clean, the breakfast was home made and delicious, the price was right and Ray and Rosetta are great hosts. The Pretty Place is a very peaceful setting back off the road in the woods. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Griffith, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My husband I had not been away from the kids in over 4 years. We finally had an opportunity and decided to go to a bed and breakfast for the first time. We were pleasantly surprised when we pulled up to a huge house tucked in the woods. We love Shipshewana so we wanted to be fairly close to town but not right in town. This was perfect and so close to Das Hesenhouse restaurant where we would be dining that evening. Rosetta greeted us and she was so sweet. We had no idea we would be staying in a huge house and have access to the whole thing. There were several other rooms and a couple other people staying, but for the most part, because it was an off time, we had the place to ourselves. It's immaculant!! That evening, no tv which is a plus, my husband and I sat downstairs and played games, just the two of us!! It was great. The grounds are beautiful. Although it was in the winter we can imagine ourselves and even with the kids, coming back and enjoying the fishing pond, and campfire in the evening. We were so pleasantly surprised by the yummy home cooked breakfast in the morning of stuffed French toast made by the Innkeepers themselves, along with a delicious pastry and yogurt cup. We felt like we were at home by the hospitality. We would go back, even with a group or just our kids and of course by ourselves if we get a chance. It is very affordable as well, and just to us nicer than a chain hotel. ....Traci and Dan, Griffith In.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traci50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The Pretty Place was an unexpected surprise! We generally stay at the Essenhaus Hotel but it was full the week-end we choose to visit the area. So instead we stayed at The Pretty Place, only a mile down the road. In fact, it's so close that you can easily walk through a wooded path to the Essenhaus for dinner. Our room was in the Annex ( a newer building) and was large and clean. Plus, there is a large basement in this building with comfortable chairs and coaches just perfect for relaxation and conversation for largeer groups. The staff was friendly and helpful but not intrusive. And we particularly enjoyed the setting which is in a woods on a pond. You could not see any other houses or buildings from the grounds, even though you are close to everything. If you are looing for a quiet place in a gorgeous setting this just may be the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My girlfriend and I spent the weekend at The Pretty Place and had a wonderful experience. We stayed in the room with the whirlpool tub so we could have extra relaxation. The hostess was very kind and friendly. She made us feel right at home. We also asked if we could stay on after checkout to explore the grounds, the pumpkin vine trail and sit by the pond and she of course said YES! Breakfast was home made and delicious. This is a beautiful quiet location to relax, hike and feel at home. We will definitely be going back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at this place several years ago for our wedding night and came back recently for a significant anniversary. Just as before, the whole experience was wonderful! The owners are very hospitable and were even willing to accommodate a gluten free diet for breakfast. Totally worth every penny!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCangel202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
6.7 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
6.9 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
806 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
17.6 mi away
Brook Pointe Inn
Brook Pointe Inn
#2 of 2 in Syracuse
206 reviews
16.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Howe Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast

Property: That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast
Address: 212 US Highway 20, Middlebury, IN 46540-9713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Middlebury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience peaceful lodging in the seclusion of our quiet, country setting. Enjoy our spacious 37-acre grounds, with walking trails through the woods and meadow along the old Pumpkin Vine Nature bike trail, and through the woods. Ourpond is stocked and ready for your fishing pole.Our Bed & Breakfast is perfectly sized for small group events and intimate romantic getaways! We cater to couples on a romantic getaway as well as to corporate retreats, spiritual retreats, church retreats, and golf retreat groups. Our large meeting room is perfect for scrap-booking, reunions, and meetings.We have 9 rooms - 6 of which are honeymoon suites with heart-shaped whirlpool tubs for two! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing