We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manager gave away our reservation”
Review of Lacam Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lacam Lodge
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We had booked one night at Lacam but when we showed up at 6:00pm after ten hours on the road from Murchison Falls, the manager approached our car with a guilty look on his face and told us that he had given away our banda to someone who had arrived earlier. Our tour company made the reservation months in advance. The manager said that he tried to call the number that our tour operator provided but couldn't get through the line. Our driver asked the manager what numbers he dialed and discovered that the manager had dialed the area code incorrectly. We ended up staying at another hotel that night and met another party that also left Lacam because the manager had promised them a banda (our banda!) but then gave the banda to another guest. Now I'm glad that we ended up NOT staying at Lacam.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank Globetrotter8688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2012

My family and I have just spent the most frustrating and disappointing experience at LACAM lodge from 23rd to 26th December 2012, in what is otherwise the most scenic setting for viewing the Sipi Falls. Why?

1. Accommodation: We paid for a Banda as opposed to a dormitory. The following are the amenities we found:

a) No hot water: At an altitude of above 1,700m, it is bound to get very cold and it was very cold. Water was supposed to be available on demand. The reality was that even upon demand, the water was not hot. In addition, although the shower offers a breathtaking view over the valley, the net screen does not protect one from the unkind wind that blows directly through into the shower. We did not and could not take a shower over the 3 days.

b) No electricity or generator: Dim kerosene lamps are provided. As a result, the whole atmosphere is cold, dark and miserable after sunset. It is worse inside the Banda.

c) Toilets facilities: A bucket is provided with sawdust on the side to cover up after use. As a result, there is an unpleasant smell in the Banda. The outside toilets for campers are not any cleaner either.

2. Food: Unappetizing Western food (of just one menu) was always served cold probably due to lack of electricity or the big distance staff has to cover to bring it up to the table (or both.) The kitchen is way down towards the last Banda (#3.) Cold scrambled eggs, bacon or toast are most uninteresting for a breakfast in any weather as is spaghetti or canned soup for dinner. Local food would probably be more appropriate under the dire conditions.

3. Information: The lodge does not display a single map or any kind of information on activities or sites available in the area. One staff offered some oral information on prices for guided tours. As the quoted prices sounded disproportional to the services available – (and we would have to provide transport for the tours ourselves anyway), we decided to support a local community organization instead. The local CO centre is just below the hill. It has information over the area, maps and tariffs posted on its walls and welcoming guides. Regrettably, we learnt upon our departure that Locam staff had exhorted money from the community centre claiming that since we were guests at the “lodge” the centre had no right to take us on guided tours!

4. Bed bugs: The worst experience of discomfort was caused by bed bugs. (Banda #3). Two members of the family were bitten so badly that they had to abandon their beds during the last night of 25th to 26th December, and sat the rest of the night in the open, cold and dark bar area. Three days later, we are all still itching and nursing the bed bug bites.

Conclusion and Recommendation: Lacam should not be advertised as a “lodge” but a “camping site” or a “low-budget hostel.” If you are looking for a minimum of comfort where you can relax, eat reasonably, take a shower and sleep comfortably in the area of the great Sipi Falls, this is not the accommodation you want to spend your money on. However, if you do not mind discomfort or if you are not intimidated by unhygienic conditions and mediocre food you may go ahead and spend your money on Lacam. We definitely will not go back. We spent US $1200 for 3 days through a local tour operator in Kampala. We now know this was a rip off.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Great place, wonderful views, nice staff and good food. The bandas are charmingly set up with hand-made, wooden furniture and quaint petrol lamps (no electricity). The ensuite bathroom does boast a toilet (of sorts) and hot water shower with a view.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fbr62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

What a precious place. I stayed in a banda which had two beds, one double and a single bed. It also has two chairs and a small table for lounging with an incredible view of the valley and mountains. Couldn't see the waterfall from the banda but got an incredible view from the viewpoint at the lodge. The water was always hot and the compost toilets are kinda amazing in that they don't really smell bad and they change them out often. There is a small sink and mirror in the bathroom as well. It is very cold at night so make sure to bring something warm to sleep in and some socks. For the waterfall walks have comfortable shoes for hiking or else some type of sports sandal. Many areas are slippery and steep...but any challenge is definitely worth the breathtaking views. Layering is good for the walks too cause the temperature changes and it sometimes rains. Bring a backpack to carry your things in and make sure to bring your camera! The food at the lodge was also excellent! Martin was our guide. We loved him and his tales of the sabine tribe. Have fun and enjoy every second. :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Although farther away from the rest of the highlight of Uganda, the Sipi falls are definitely worth visiting; and I can recommend the Lacam Lodge. We went with the matatu from Mukono, which goes until the foot of the mountain. After this we went on the back of a truck full of bricks up the mountain to the lodge. The higher you get on the mountain, the better the view gets.
We stayed in banda number 3 which had the best view in our opinion.
The lodge has reasonable prices for the accommodations and the food is nice.

You definitely have to do the waterfall tour. The walk is quite exhausting at some times, but worth all the trouble. When you have some time left you might also want to do a tour to a local coffee farm,

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruno A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stayed at Lakam Logde for two nights with friends. The lodge has a perfect location for hiking in the area and offers amazing views over the valley and the main waterfall.

Two of us stayed in a banda and the other two stayed in a room. Bandas / rooms have no electricity but kerosene lamps are provided. Its a good idea to bring a torch though. The banda was comfortable with its own shower (hot water is provided in the morning and late afternoon) and compost toilet. It was beautifully located just on the edge of the cliff and had the most amazing views of the valley. The room was ok but quite basic with bunk beds (up to four people can share) and you have to share toilet and shower facilities. The banda could have been more clean and the staff forgot (?) to make our beds and empty the compost toilet. But when I asked them to do so they immediately did. All in all both room and banda offer good value for money.

Staff were super friendly and very helpful in arranging guides for hiking. However, a mess up with the bookings meant that the banda was double booked for the second night... Another small hick up occurred when we were leaving and wanted to settle the bill. They have changed their prices but this is not shown on their website and was not communicated when I made the booking. The increase is not huge (10.000 shillings per person per night) but its still an unpleasant surprise.

Prices are full board and we were happy with the meals. Basic but tasty and well-seasoned food (examples from our stay includes beef stew, chicken stew, vegetable soups, mash, rice, boiled vegetables and pancakes) and portions are large. The only set back was that the same dish was served for lunch and dinner on the second day... Drinks are not included but sold at very reasonable prices.

Sipi is a beautiful area and the hiking very rewarding. You don't need to be a professional but it's good to be in a reasonably good shape if you do the longer hikes. Is a great weekend get-away and I would definitely recommend both Sipi and Lakam Lodge.

Room Tip: Banda no 3 has the best location / views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dane-in-Tanzania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Spent 2 nights recently with my family (2 kids) and we loved the place. The view is impressive and the place is very calm. The bandas was simple but clean. There is no electricity but each bandas has lanterns in it wich is fine. The food is good and the staff friendly. We did the treck to see the falls and it was great. It is a nice place to enjoy the nature and relax.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sipi
22.6 mi away
Mount Elgon Hotel
Mount Elgon Hotel
#2 of 4 in Mbale
101 reviews
23.2 mi away
Wash And Wills Hotel
Wash And Wills Hotel
#3 of 4 in Mbale
47 reviews
22.8 mi away
Casa Del Turista
Casa Del Turista
#1 of 18 in Mbale
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Dream Palace Hotel
Dream Palace Hotel
#10 of 18 in Mbale
8 reviews
22.9 mi away
Mbale Travellers Inn
Mbale Travellers Inn
#5 of 18 in Mbale
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lacam Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lacam Lodge

Address: Sipi, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Eastern Region > Sipi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Sipi
Price Range: £16 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Lacam Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing