We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Varsity Clubs of America
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Mishawaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had never stayed there before and found it very inviting, lots of room, desk clerks very friendly!! Everything was very comfortable! We used points with Interval International from our Hyatt Vacation Club timeshare and can report it was every bit the 5 star treatment we have become used to with Hyatt.
Our functional, yet spacious and clean room was top-notch and being on the ground floor with porch facilities was a plus, with nary a noise from outside and surrounding rooms. Loved being able to sit out on the porch relaxing, while watching other guests playing in the Bocci Ball pitch and using the Putting Green, while being just across from the pool, which was not loud even with all the youngsters swimming.
On one day I had to turn away the Housekeeping gal because we had stayed in, due to my Wife experiencing a debilitating Migraine, and only an hour later the Front Desk delivered a lovely miniature Mum planting with a Get Well card, to our room. Such attention to guests would rate a 6 on a scale of 1 to 5 in my book.
We never took advantage of the low cost breakfast offerings, or the bar (which was closed on weekends) but the lovely grounds, jacuzzi, workout facilities and pool were greatly appreciated. The WiFi worked quite well at any hour, except it was definitely lacking in staying power between 8 and 11 pm, possibly due to all the folks retreating indoors and jumping online at those times.
All in all, this was a wonderfully relaxing vacation, split between nearby SB relatives, shopping, dining out and cloistered in this lovely establishment. VCA~Mishawaka, you are first rate!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BRENT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

The room was nice but the bathroom had mold on the ceiling and the shower curtain made me feel very uncomfortable everytime I walked in...At first I thought the service was good until I called down to the front desk to see if my friend needed a parking pass but before I could get all the words out the girl cut me off answered the question and hung up the phone...rude...another thing I wasn't to happy about is they charge tax on snacks and pop like damn are you that broke you have to tax 50 cent peanuts and $1.50 pop.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adarling304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Our aim is to deliver memorable and exceptional service experiences and we are very disappointed to read that on this occasion we have not been successful and that you were not pleased with our level of customer service we offer. We would like to assure you this is not the standard of care we strive to achieve every day and this issue will be addressed. We hope you will give us the opportunity to amend the impression given. We wish you all the best on your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My son attends Notre Dame, so I am a regular traveler to the South Bend area. I have stayed in several of the South Bend hotels, and Varsity Clubs is by far my favorite hotel in the South Bend area. The hotel is conveniently located to the local shopping district and to the Notre Dame campus. The room are spacious and well appointed ... especially when considering the local alternatives. The front desk staff is always helpful and courteous, and more than willing to assist with a great variety of questions and requests. The company's web site is lacking in terms of details and online reservations capabilities. I've found the best rates are via phone directly to the hotel. Football weekends are typically booked months in advance, but I've had very good luck booking the hotel on short notice for both move-in weekend in the fall and move-out weekend in the spring. Finding a room at the Varsity Club for visits on non-football weekends have never been an issue. Strongly recommend the Varsity Club in Mishawaka, IN.

Room Tip: Two bedroom suite is an excellent value if traveling with family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank STP1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Lia and the staff are the best hotel staff I have personally meant. They will help you with any and all questions. They always seem to be so happy to have you and all that I see pass by the check in/out desk. It is nice to know all will be great when we attend the Notre Dame home games. The cleaning staff, food service are also very nice. Stay here if you want a close, clean and very quit place on ND weekends.

Room Tip: Very nice rooms with kitchens and living room area. Larger than a regular hotel room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here. We were very delighted to read how well Lia and the rest of our team members treated you and your party during your stay. Your recommendation and feedback is very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in town for a Notre Dame home football game. Go Irish!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

One of the very few planned comfortable stays on our trip. It was part of an accommodation package, but still, we did appreciate all the little extras that went with the weeks accommodation. Tenting, hostelling and car have kept us on budget throughout the year long trip, but a break in a smart hotel like this is required to 'rest' and 'regain some normality' on a long journey, such as ours. Hence, the pool, spa, hot tub and thick bath towels all combined to give us a break from travel. TV was also an added bonus. Staff were courteous and co-operative and all in all we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you very much for such nice comments, especially about the team. Your relaxation means the world to us and we are really pleased to know that you were satisfied with the standard of our care and accommodation. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you all the best on the rest of your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

What a wonderful little resort!! Our one bedroom deluxe condo was spacious, modern, clean and the staff was sooo helpful and courteous we were made to feel very welcome. Within walking distance to many restaurants and shopping and attractions close by.

Room Tip: Upper units might be a little quieter so you don't get the overhead noise but even with a loud n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chipncheek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We booked a week here through Diamond. We needed to check in on a Friday instead of Sat and offered them 3 days on the end of our trip for one on the front end. Varsity said NO and charged us for the extra night. Interval told us that most places will work with you regarding this type of thing but NOT this place. We paid for the extra night but left our room (it was quite dirty anyway) empty for three days. Not sure who manages this place but they are losing this place $$$ when they won't trade 3 days for 1. They lost because we left the room empty when they could have rented it.
As everyone knows the individual resort can book anyway they want.
This place is totally inflexible.

Room Tip: Our tip is that there are a LOT of other choices in the area that appreciate your business.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alltraveler333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

We regret that you were not satisfied with your room assignment upon arrival at Varsity Clubs of America- South Bend . Unfortunately, we were not able to identify your reservation details from your review; however, based on your feedback, it sounds as if you booked your reservation as an exchange, thru Interval International. When a deeded week reservation is deposited into an exchange program, the exchange program determines the available room types and check in dates for your reservation. This availability is based on owner’s week’s that have been deposited into the exchange program. While we would have been happy to add a rental night to your reservation, changes to an existing exchange must be made through the exchange program. We certainly apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and want to assure you that we are at your service should you require us to help in any way. We hope this has not marred your stay and you will consider us for your future bookings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mishawaka
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place South Bend/Mishawaka
3.7 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Mishawaka South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Mishawaka Inn
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn South Bend Mishawaka
0.6 mi away
Courtyard South Bend Mishawaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varsity Clubs of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varsity Clubs of America

Address: 3800 N Main St, Mishawaka, IN 46545-3110
Region: United States > Indiana > Mishawaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mishawaka
Price Range: £70 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Varsity Clubs of America 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varsity Clubs is a beautiful 86 rooms all suite resort decorated with a collection of collegiate memorabilia; Located on Main St. in the heart of shopping/restaurant district. Hotel is 2 miles East of Notre Dame & 3 miles from South Bend. Each newly remodeled suite has a private living area, private bath entrance, a fully stocked kitchenette with Cuisinart appliances, & 2 flat screen TV's. The Varsity Clubs offers: a unique Indoor pool with outdoor view, 20 person spa, sauna, exercise facility, billiard table, golf green, bocce ball court, big screen TV in lobby, Stadium bar open Fri & Sat evenings & 2 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Varsity Clubs of America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varsity Clubs Of America Hotel Mishawaka
Varsity Club Of America
Varsity Hotel Mishawaka
Varsity Clubs Of America Mishawaka, IN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing