We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Varsity Clubs of America
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Mishawaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The Varsity Club was a nice surprise. This didn't seem like a normal option for a hotel since I wasn't familiar with the brand. I decided to give it a chance since it was a great price on Travelocity at $75/night.

The place is a little old-school with Notre Dame themed stuff everywhere. It surprised me at first but I appreciate the vibe and decor. The facility is clean throughout and I got upgraded to a room with a kitchenette. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious and clean.

This will be my first choice for a hotel for anyone that I have visiting South Bend. Especially considering the price, this is a great value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt9687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

We are delighted that you chose to stay at the Varsity Clubs of America at South Bend, and that you enjoyed your stay here – thank you for your review! We hope you’ll get the opportunity to return for another visit, and we look forward to being of service to you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

My husband and i stayed here for our anniversary weekend. There is no resturant which is advertised for on website. That weekend the hotel had many kids staying there for a hockey match and they closed the bar and billards to discourage drinking. Really wanted to enjoy my hotel rather than the bar that was quite a ways down the road. In addition they stated we were to recieve a breakfast if wanted when i inquired we were told we didn' t order in time. I could have dealt with all of this if the front desk had been nice but instead they were very rude. The housekeeping staff was nice though. Our suite had no hot water and the front desk acted as if we couldnt tell whether the water was hot or not. The housekeeping staff informed us that the suites take a little while to heat up. I let it run for fifteen and finally the water was warm. I had no problem adjusting to their lack of preperation but their callousness and rude behaviour was totally unaccceptable.

Room Tip: This hotel caters to kids. If you are going for a kid free weekend like we did make sure all of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie31133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

We are sorry to read you have been disappointed with your recent stay here and that you did not get a chance to experience all the resort has to offer including our Stadium Sports Bar which was closed during your stay. It was very concerning to read that your reception experience, along with the maintenance shortcomings you experienced had a negative impact on your stay. What you described is certainly not an acceptable way for our guests to be treated. We would like to assure you that delivering excellent quality of service and accommodation is the very foundation of our business. Please know that it is not typical that our guests would experience challenges with our front desk team members who are usually complimented for their high quality of attention to clients, and their willingness to be friendly and welcoming. If you would like to give us another chance to make a better impression on you in future; our friendly staffs eagerly awaits to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Our family of four recently stayed at the Varsity Club in Mishawaka when we were in the area for a Notre Dame football game. Someone called us earlier in the week before our arrival to verify we were still coming (most hotels are sold out on home football weekends) and to see if there was anything else we needed. They also verified that we had requested a roll-away. We weren't able to check in until almost 9 p.m., so we were very happy that everything was just as we had requested. Using both the sofa sleeper and the roll-away made the living room a little tight, but no one seemed to mind. It was nice to have the large vanity outside of the shower and toilet area so that more than one person could be getting ready at once. We also appreciated having a refrigerator and microwave in the the unit. The breakfast buffet in the mornings, with made to order omelets, potatoes, bacon, sausage, rolls, fruit, and many other things was very good and replenished frequently. We definitely enjoyed our stay here and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scsagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne L, Director of Sales at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for taking time to write about your great experience at the Varsity Clubs by Diamond Resorts. We strive to make each guest comfortable with a relaxing stay. It is great to hear we provided you with the "excellent service" we strive to give. We appreciate your loyalty. Have a wonderful day and we hope to see you next time.
Sincerely,
Anne Lederer, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We really enjoy staying here when we want to visit Amish/Mennonite locations in the area, when we have a sports event at Notre Dame and when we want a quick getaway to visit museums, theater and restaurants in the South Bend area.
There are hundreds of restaurants and shopping within just a few miles.
The Club is clean, quiet, and comfortable and has amenities like an exercise room and a pool.

Room Tip: Ask for the one bedroom deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melaney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The only reason this isn’t a five is because of a mix up in our reservations when we first arrived and the reason it isn’t a 3 or lower is because of the excellent way they handled the mix up. As everyone knows, it’s not the mistakes that leave an impression, but the way the mistakes are handled – and they handled it very well. We arrived around 9PM and had to wait while rooms were readied, which after 12+ hours on the road was not a very welcome beginning to our stay. It was doubly annoying because I’d called earlier in the week to reconfirm our reservation. After the first night in two separate rooms, the next day we moved to the suite that was originally reserved. We were given some compensation for our inconvenience, everyone was apologetic and helpful, and the rooms were well kept and clean, with all the expected amenities. If I were in the area, I'd give them a second chance since it is a nice facility, location, and the people were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TN-Traveler38017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

We would like to once again apologise for the issue you have encountered o your arrival. We strive to provide excellent service every time and to every guest and we are happy to know that this has not left a lasting bad impression and that the rest of your stay continued undisturbed. We sincerely appreciate your custom and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Rebecca at the desk and on the phone was wonderful and was concerned about my issues when asking about the rooms. The suite was huge. It was great to have dishes in the room and the kitchen. I used the pool which was heated and the hot tub which was clean. They provided huge towels for the pool. I had a great nights sleep. Breakfast cost $6.37 plus tip and that was very reasonable. I used the sauna and it is a one to two person sauna which was adequate for me. Two TVs in the room, one in bedroom and one in living room. Jet tub which I did not use. I used the blow dryer and it worked. They have a small food center open 24/7 which was convenient. I thought the money I spent that night was worth it. Huge space for one person.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmma678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs of America, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments, we will ensure that Rebecca is aware of your appreciation. We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay here with us! Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Property was just a few miles from Notre Dame and anywhere from 20-35 minutes to the various Amish communites ranging from Elkhart to Shipshewana. As part of timeshare trade I found this site to be clean, with our room including a fully equipped limited kitchen. Staff was friendly and efficient. Only served a continental breakfast for an additional charge but eating establishments (fast food and sit-down) were nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mishawaka
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place South Bend/Mishawaka
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Mishawaka South Bend
3.7 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Mishawaka Inn
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn South Bend Mishawaka
0.6 mi away
Courtyard South Bend Mishawaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varsity Clubs of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varsity Clubs of America

Address: 3800 N Main St, Mishawaka, IN 46545-3110
Region: United States > Indiana > Mishawaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mishawaka
Price Range: £67 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Varsity Clubs of America 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varsity Clubs is a beautiful 86 rooms all suite resort decorated with a collection of collegiate memorabilia; Located on Main St. in the heart of shopping/restaurant district. Hotel is 2 miles East of Notre Dame & 3 miles from South Bend. Each newly remodeled suite has a private living area, private bath entrance, a fully stocked kitchenette with Cuisinart appliances, & 2 flat screen TV's. The Varsity Clubs offers: a unique Indoor pool with outdoor view, 20 person spa, sauna, exercise facility, billiard table, golf green, bocce ball court, big screen TV in lobby, Stadium bar open Fri & Sat evenings & 2 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Varsity Clubs of America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varsity Clubs Of America Hotel Mishawaka
Varsity Club Of America
Varsity Hotel Mishawaka
Varsity Clubs Of America Mishawaka, IN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing